We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended unless on a stag or hen night”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We booked this hotel for our anniversay,the location was great walking distance to sea front and shops. The reception area is very shabby, thread bare carpets and needs updating. The receptionist was polite but not friendly or welcoming. We were pleasantly suprised after seeing the reception area with our room, it was clean and had a good view. The room was not finished to a high standard, knobs missing and falling off. The shower was powerful and hot. Breakfast was adequate but there was little service, again the satff were polite but never smiled or even said good morning. The biggest problem we had was being kept awake all evening with people returning back from night clubs, the last arriving home at 2.30am. We asked to be moved to a higher room to avoid this but the manager said this would not make a difference as he had several hen and stage groups booked in that weekend. We asked for a refund for our second night and he did give this. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarejclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

genteel elegance, lovely staff helpful and kind terrific break thank you

Room Tip: room 20 is excellent great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john1138967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Just back from a 2night stay, hotel easily located, good position for seaview and main shops, also, parking good on either underground car park or on ringroad around Regency square itself, remember if you are Pay&Display, park on righthand part of road (disabled badge holders can park there all times for free!) as residents parking on pavement kerbside only. Our Twin room (24) very nice, big bay window, en-suite with walk-in shower, clean and lovely big mirror. Room a little dated with brown furniture, but both beds very comfortable, TV, trouser press, hairdryer also in room. Breakfast, excellent, buffet style, eat what you want, cereal, toast, fried breakfast, tea, coffee, juice, pick what you want-more than enough. Right from the start, Hotel staff very friendly, even getting me a slipmat for the shower when requested. As an Blue badge holder, lift to all floors was lovely and also as breakfast room on ground floor, very suitable for those with mobility problems. One bad point tho', no ramp on entrance stairs-which would be handy. All in all a very enjoyable stay, and at £49 a night for a twin room + breakfast, very good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This hotel was very dated and uncared for. Our room was very dirty. The floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered in weeks. All the surfaces were dirty and paintwork chipped and marked. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillyoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed here with a friend on a trip. Although we chose the hotel based on the affordable rate there I do expect certain standards. We both work for a reputable hotel chain so may notice more than most but to say that this hotel has had a 'recent refurbishment' cannot be true. The carpets are worn and tired, the (many) stairs have chipped bannisters and stained walls. Our room was ok- clean enough but the decor felt very 1980s. The furniture is like something in an old folks home and the twin beds were the most narrow we'd ever seen. The shelf in the bathroom was hanging off and there was no shower. However I did expect a certain 'shabby chic English seaside' feel so not that annoyed- the area where they did let themselves down was the staff. The receptionist was ok although made no small talk to ask how our journey was etc. Breakfast was a shambles- we were ignored by 2 team members and left to suss things out for ourselves. A lady was behind the bar wearing a tatty tabbard and not making eye contact with any guests. She reluctantly put some toast on for us. We saw a man in a shirt and tie who may have been a manager but he too ignored all the guests and did not smile once. All 3 staff seemed to be wearing whatever they wanted to throw on that morning and did not look smart or professional. I really feel that the staff can make up for any negative aspects of a hotel and here they no seem bothered whether you enjoy your stay or not. I can say the location and neighbouring car park are great so if you want a cheap (not really cheerful!) stay by the seafront and dont mind the stairs- or antique shaky lift- go for it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyUKLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We had a really nice time at the Beach Hotel after initially being a bit wary due to some of the reviews and also the price. I wouldn't say it was vheap as nothing is in Brighton but it was the cheapest hotel by miles which didn't require a minimum stay of 2 nights, but as a base it looked good so we booked it. Glad we did! Our room overlooked the sqaure and had a great view of the pier. Some of the fixtures and fittings in the room are a bit shabby, for example knobs falling off drawers, no tv remote etc, and the communal stares are really a bit of a state. That aside though the room was a good size, comfortable bed and our bathroom looked brand new. The water ran out half way through the shower but aside from that no problems. Great choice at breakfast and the staff were really friendly despite seeming to work really long hours. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watfordhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Location
Stayed here for NYE as we were going clubbing at the Honey Club. Beach hotel is situated opposite the West Pier. About a 5 minute walk to the main strip of clubs and about a 10 minute walk to the shops. Parking was available right in the middle of the square at £12.50 for 16 - 24 hours, so not even a minutes walk.

Room
After reading bad reviews we were bracing ourselves for the worse but our room was lovely. We stayed in room 42 which had a sea view room. Very clean, plenty of storage for your clothing as it included chest of draws and a wardrobe with plenty of hangers. Bathroom was spacious - no shower just a bath. TV with basic channels. Only let down was the water system. You never got boiling water, in fact you got so little hot water you couldnt use the shower head as there was not enough pressure (had to put my head under the bath tap to wash my hair) sometimes there was so little pressure I put the hot water on and no water come out the tap. However this is the only negative! And not a problem for people who are okay with baths.

Service
Was excellent, you have to hand you key in when you leave which I think is better anyway as you don't lose it. There is a charge of £160 if you do. It's open 24 hours a day so someone is always there. Has it's own seafood restaurant and room service menu. Breakfast was really good - self service with loads of options hot and cold. Toast available as well pretty much all you can eat, again service was good.

Building
As previously said it's an old building with very narrow stairs and the lift was some what fun... But it's not like you sleep on the stairs so no problem.

Overal we paid £90 for this room on NYE which was a brilliant price compared, check out was 11am and tbh I can barely fault the place. Normally stay in Preimer Inn for a cheap night in Brighton but would 100% go back here instead if cheaper. We also looked in room 41 which was even nicer than ours. Highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxhayley_hxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#25 of 43 in Brighton
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 43 in Brighton
1,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Brighton
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: 1-4 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing