We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just spent two nights there on a very tight budge so for £27.50 per person for B&B I don't think we could get much cheaper. Public areas of hotel very shabby but our two bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and we were provided with lovely fluffy white twoesl and toileteries . Hair dryer and mini fridges in our rooms. One receptionist very helpful but the other not so although I think the lack of native language may be a reason. Won't go hungry at breakfast with English breakfast but "continental breakfast" a big disappointment. Some reviews say about it being noisy but what do you expect staying near the seafront and from our walk home last night I am sure it would be worse the nearer the centre of town. Having said all that, it was good value for money and if you wan't luxury then pay for it somewhere else. Everything we needed was provided and would stay there again if we needed a bargain break. Ate at the Harvester last night which was great value for money and the Days Chinese Buffet on Thursday night which altough was more expensive there was a wonderful selection of food and if you like puddings and chocolate fountains then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with a side facing view of the sea. Small lift to all floors which was h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our three nights at the Beach Hotel could have been so much better. Agree with Paul Kernan about the really shabby state of the place, the mattresses on our beds were absolutely worn out and flithy, covered in stains and with the springs actually dangerously poking through my friend's bed. (see picture)

No protective covers on the pillows or mattresses, the thought of bed bugs crossed my mind as I tried (in vain) to sleep on our first night. Tatty, worn and hole filled quilt covers did little to make the experience a good one. A faulty lock on the door didn't help matters we had to be let in by the pass key so many times they eventually gave us another room. Needless to say the beds were in as bad condition there and the fun was added to by the slope of the floor in room 14, I spent all night trying not to roll off the bed which was listing toward the door.

No a/c so the heat would be unbearable in summer. The staff were all friendly and helpful though, and the poor girl on reception had to oversee the breakfast service, man reception, answer phone calls all at the same time.

Such a shame that this hotel, in a great location for the city centre and the beach is so run down and shabby. It has great potential to be a fabulous place after a lot of money is spent on doing it up.

I know that the price we paid was low, but there's no way I'd pay the full rate for the rooms we had. The corridors upstairs were really dirty, agree with other reviewer as before, that George IV was on throne when it had its last deep clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel in September 2011 for one night (a saturday). having read some of the previous reviews I was slightly concerned about booking but took a chance.
We were travelling with another couple and booked the last two rooms available (£95 per room inc breakfast). I emailed two days prior to our arrival requesting if we could have rooms near each other and with a shower (I had read that some only have baths). Considering I had booked the last two rooms, i was surprised when they replied the next day advising they had changed a few bookings around so they could give us two rooms on the same floor and both with showers. We had room 35 (2 twin beds and 1 double) and room 33 (double bed which is two twins pushed together). Hotel could do with a lick of paint but the rooms are clean although a bit tired. Tea/coffee facilities and tv. Also towels and shampoo/soap provided. Rooms were on third floor and both look over the square, views of the sea and accessed via stairs or a lift. Both rooms were comfortable. had no problems re any noise etc.
Hotel is easy to find, there is an underground car park available directly opposite, - £12.50 for 24hrs which seems a good price for Brighton. Arrived an hour early and rooms were ready so they let us have the keys. Reception staff were polite and friendly.
Hotel is in a great location - shops and lanes are in walking distance.
Breakfast is 8am to 10am, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast etc. Breakfast room is clean and bright and food is hot. You help yourself to the breakfast so you can eat as much as you like. The staff again were polite and helpful.
There is no bar but there are a couple of restaurants/bars near by and you are just a short walk from the main area.
Yes this hotel does need redecorating, yes the furniture and carpets are old fashioned and I would not choose this hotel if I was going abroad for a weeks holiday as I would want better decor but I really don't think you can go wrong paying £95 per room inc breakfast for a night in Brighton if you are just going for one to three days, room 35 sleeps 4 so that would be £25 each for a group of friends!!! We hardly spent anytime in our rooms, just a place to sleep after a night out but if it is luxury you are looking for then I would suggest you consider paying more and look at the £250 per night hotels!! Personally I would rather save my money and book this hotel and use the difference in the clothes shops!!!!!
Apparently there is a hotel called 'The Brighton Beach Hotel' which has terrible reviews. I didn't see the hotel but it is not this one - this is the Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 35 - third floor (lift available) 2xtwins plus a double. Ensuite with shower. sea views. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holidays-breaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is in a great central location with the advantage of nearby parking (on the square itself from 8pm - 9am is free and the underground NCP is cheaper than many in Brighton).

We stayed in room 15 which has a lovely view over the square and along Kings Road and the beautiful Brighton seafront. We requested a travel cot and this was provided free of charge and set up for us on arrival. The room was a good size and clean but very shabby. The bathroom especially - it looks new but there are cracks over the tiles, the shower hose isn't long enough to go particularly high and there's missing bits here and there.

The heating was on when we arrived (on a nice warm September day!) but the radiators have adjustable thermostats and the huge windows open easily.

Breakfast was basic with a very surly waitress but tasty and as a buffet you can eat you fill. There's also highchairs for little ones.

Overall, you kind of get what you pay for (and at £55 for us for the night its a damn sight cheaper than many, worse places in Brighton)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This budget hotel has a web site that is a triumph of veneer over substance. The hotel is ideally located with great views over the East Pier and promenade but seems to have been cleaned in a former century! The carpets are threadbare, there is no bar, the windows are almost opaque with grime. It has the feeling of a struggling enterprise leased out and offering a minimum service. The Breakfast was generous and satisfactory, a great benefit for budget travellers but all the positives (like a 3 metre balcony window overlooking the sea) was offset by the tired and shabby interiors. A good clean and a lick of paint would be needed, and a little realism on the website prose. Would not recommend but it might suit a low budget visitor.

Room Tip: Try another hotel, there is great value out there at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulKernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Great no frills regency hotel, easy to find and easy check in. We had a super twin room, (number 41) good beds, nice furniture, large comfy chairs and basic tea/coffee facilities (biscuits would have been nice though!) Clean, modern en-suite. Window opened so room was not too hot overnight and not too much noise, other than bin lorries early morning. Breakfast was good quality and some tables have a sea view. A comortable stay overall, and good value at £55 from searching internet for a late deal. No free parking though.

Room Tip: Don't pay full rate, search internet for offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I'am shocked to read the previous review about the ''Assault'' We stayed on the Wednesday and Thursday 10th/11th August. Bearing in mind it was 'Pride' weekend coming up that weekend, It would be hard to say if that had anything to do with the revelers from that, over indulding, or indeed stag party guests if that is what yo can call them !!! I don't know, but it does sound quite terrifying. I personally wouldn't let that put me off as trouble enraged by alcohol can happen anywhere and anytime. Anyhow less of that, I would like to give my opinion of the Beach Hotel.
We found our room more tham adequete for our short stay. The bathroom was brand new, a great en-suite, the shower had more than enough hot water and complimenay toiletries were provided, It was two single beds, but they were fastened together fantastically to pass as a king size. ( We were in room 11 ).I concur with some other reviewers that some of the furniture in the rooms is a little tired. But a quick paint of varnish , or a well placed blind on a corridor would have imporved the upstairs areas, it is not the be all of your holiday, for God's sake you only sleep n wash in the room. The overall cleanliness of the room was more than acceptable and the towels were changed every day.The bed was more than comfy( photo's enlosed). The dining room, well it was reminisant of The dining room in ''Faulty Towers'' old, tired, in need of decorating with thread bare carpets. The breakfast was good however, juices,cereals,fruit and a full cooked offering of bacon,sausage,mushrooms,scrambeled eggs and beans. Tea and coffee and toast and preserves. The 2 female staff gave you what you asked for but it would have been a better customer experience if they have asked ''Would you like tea or coffee, white or brown toast?? But that is a training issue.
The location was fab right on the front. Car parking in Brighton is a nighmare everwhere is on street parking and astonomical, there is a NCP carpark across the road from the Beach Hotel, it cost us £25 , £12.50 per 24 hours it appeared to be camered and our vehicle was OK and that is all I can say, on street parking would have been so much more expensive.
The bombay restaurant around the corner is fantastic, food and servcie second to none. Go out of the hotel and turn right on to the main road, then left and first left there will be evrey type of restaurant you can want. The seagulls can be a bit noisy first thing, if you are a light sleeper. At home we live only 5 minutes from Manchester Airport directly under the flight path, and on a main road so street noise and the like don't bother us but people who live in a quiet location may find this a bit of a nuisance, good earplugs I imagine would solve it!!!. All in all we found 'The Beach' hotel more than adequete for our needs and would definatly rebook if we visited the area again.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great, you could see the sea, it had a new bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caz1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 43 in Brighton
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,656 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Brighton
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 43 in Brighton
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: 1-4 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £50 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing