We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of West Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Loved our stay here! Perfect location and nice rooms. The cafe/bar attached to the hotel wasn't in use while we stayed there so I wonder what those will be like in the future but we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel was poorly managed, room absolutely unacceptable, my dog has better comfort and luxury staying at the kennels.
To start we were welcomed with having to give over credit card details to cover the cost if we damaged anything or the room, felt a bit embarrassed, as there as a family with four year old daughter not on stag do.
Got into room, only two positives the view which was directly on seafront and cbeebies channel worked. Now for the negatives there was gaps in the floor boards and the Walls where the building is showing a poor state of repair. The cracks are metres long on Walls. One of windows was cracked/slightly shattered. One window didn't have safety catch not acceptable. One window was 15 cm full of water like a fish tank. The bathroom was full of mould.The carpets were threadbare and as thin as paper with numerous stains. Then there was the cheap Argos style childrens beds. All three single beds metal framed. Damaged and all bowing with the springs poking out from all angles. Possibly the worst night sleep ever. If I could have changed hotel I would of. On leaving I made the receptionist check the room for any damage which was a joke and made them give my details back.

Such a shame this hotel has so much potential and yet it is run the way it is.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

hotel not the best but the staff can be VERY friendly...esp one Russian ( i think ) lady who cleans the rooms in the mornings...if you get my drift...she is worth the bill for any top hotel...stunning....

Room Tip: sleeep in and wait for the cleaner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have rarely stayed in a more tired and dirty hotel. The curtains were hanging off.The bathroom was dirty. the carpet was beyond stained. The beds did not match ( not important) however the bed I got had been used that much the subframe had sunk which forced the mattress to sink in the middle. The temperature valve on the radiators were broken and we set to beyond hot.The hot tap in the bathroom would not turn off fully. If I could have found another hotel at a reasonable price I'd have been out of there!
And the irony. When we booked in they advised if we broke anything they would charge us ! I should have charged them for staying

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed in 3 bed room for 2 nights - good, clean room. Good price, £158 so basically £50 each. Comfy beds.. Had good sleep.. I don't care if the curtains don't match.. Bathroom seems new had fridge and sink too.. Only thing on the downside was the fire alarm going off for what seemed like no reason.. But really can't understand what these people are moaning about with the bad reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quotchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

stayed here for my mates stag do,booked 3 triple rooms.the hotel could be better but for £85 (£28 each) you get what you pay for.perfect for stag/hen dos or mates on a weekend out.
the rooms were clean enough and spacey even though it was a triple room

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Boss little hotel. Me and the lads came down last March for Brighton Vs. Tranmere.
Had a triple room, they let the rest of the lads come back at about 3 a.m for a drink before they went to their accomodation.

Beds are o.k, Andy managed to keep his tenticles in the bed. Got a decent nights kip, all of three hours of it.

Tea making facilities are pretty good. Paul made us a nice brew, follwed by another six. He ran out of sugar on his fifth brew and the reception staff helped him find some more.

They even let our friend Skidmark Pete in the hotel room, without calling pest / vermin control.

Curtains arent the best,but the bed sheets make good nappies as Martin found out when making one for Pete.

Overall great lil hotel for the price and ideal place for a night out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,675 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#31 of 43 in Brighton
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#38 of 43 in Brighton
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Hotel

Address: 135 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £32 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Brighton
Hotel West Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing