We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of West Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Beach Hotel
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I booked in for 1 night. Everything was good - room clean, comfortable, quiet and teas n coffee in the room. Ensuite bathroom very clean and towels also(but fan in bathroom did not work). Its a good hotel for the price, close to all Brighton attractions and theatres etc and on the seafront. Slight downside - cafe/bar in hotel was closed but there is plently of choice to eat and drink within 2 min walk so not a major problem. I would stay again definately

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2clife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    83
    90
    46
    83
See reviews for
50
110
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Let's see....arrived at 1550 for a 1430 check in and got told that our room wasn't ready. Nowhere to sit and wait so had to wait on the beach. Luckily it was a nice day. The room was horrible. Thankfully the bedsheets were clean. No head board on the bed (I find this strange?!), weird looking stains in the toilet, curtains that were too small for the windows so the Brighton public could see our every move. For £80 a night I was expecting something better. This hotel was very disappointing. What angered me the most was that the room wasn't ready for us. We had to be ready to meet friends in the centre and this made us late. We did complain but it fell on deaf ears all we got from staff in reply was "you need to pay your £80 now" and shoved a bill in our faces. Don't stay here you'd be better off in a tent for the night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Resounding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Loved our stay here! Perfect location and nice rooms. The cafe/bar attached to the hotel wasn't in use while we stayed there so I wonder what those will be like in the future but we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel was poorly managed, room absolutely unacceptable, my dog has better comfort and luxury staying at the kennels.
To start we were welcomed with having to give over credit card details to cover the cost if we damaged anything or the room, felt a bit embarrassed, as there as a family with four year old daughter not on stag do.
Got into room, only two positives the view which was directly on seafront and cbeebies channel worked. Now for the negatives there was gaps in the floor boards and the Walls where the building is showing a poor state of repair. The cracks are metres long on Walls. One of windows was cracked/slightly shattered. One window didn't have safety catch not acceptable. One window was 15 cm full of water like a fish tank. The bathroom was full of mould.The carpets were threadbare and as thin as paper with numerous stains. Then there was the cheap Argos style childrens beds. All three single beds metal framed. Damaged and all bowing with the springs poking out from all angles. Possibly the worst night sleep ever. If I could have changed hotel I would of. On leaving I made the receptionist check the room for any damage which was a joke and made them give my details back.

Such a shame this hotel has so much potential and yet it is run the way it is.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

hotel not the best but the staff can be VERY friendly...esp one Russian ( i think ) lady who cleans the rooms in the mornings...if you get my drift...she is worth the bill for any top hotel...stunning....

Room Tip: sleeep in and wait for the cleaner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have rarely stayed in a more tired and dirty hotel. The curtains were hanging off.The bathroom was dirty. the carpet was beyond stained. The beds did not match ( not important) however the bed I got had been used that much the subframe had sunk which forced the mattress to sink in the middle. The temperature valve on the radiators were broken and we set to beyond hot.The hot tap in the bathroom would not turn off fully. If I could have found another hotel at a reasonable price I'd have been out of there!
And the irony. When we booked in they advised if we broke anything they would charge us ! I should have charged them for staying

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed in 3 bed room for 2 nights - good, clean room. Good price, £158 so basically £50 each. Comfy beds.. Had good sleep.. I don't care if the curtains don't match.. Bathroom seems new had fridge and sink too.. Only thing on the downside was the fire alarm going off for what seemed like no reason.. But really can't understand what these people are moaning about with the bad reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quotchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Hotel

Property: West Beach Hotel
Address: 135 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Brighton
Hotel West Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing