We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Stay in Prime Location”
Review of West Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is prime location for everything Brighton has to offer being right on the seafront, close to places to eat & drink.

Yes the hotel needs some tlc, some plastering in places & seems a littler tired.

However, this is a budget hotel. A triple room on a Saturday night for just £30 each. No other hotel can come close to that price.

This hotel is not one for a romantic retreat but if you're looking for somewhere to crash for the night at remarkably affordable prices then look no further.

Our triple room was clean, comfy beds, modern bathroom & were able to bake the short walk to the Komedia Comedy Club.

We were looking for a cheap hotel in a great location for somewhere to crash at the end of my stag night. This hotel provided that.

It's not spectacular nor does it pretend to be. My experience was not that of the totally negative reviews I had read. I agree the hotel needs work but it's a 2 star budget hotel so expectations cannot be too high.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merse-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Not only was my daughter ripped off, the room was filthy and even though I have written two letters to the hotel asking them to explain themselves, I am yet to receive a reply. I am totally disgusted by them and upset for my daughter who was just naive to book this awful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The only good thing about this stay was the bathroom, which appeared to have been refurbished recently. Apart from that, nothing else was good. Grossly overpriced at £95. Worth £30.
Poor standard of bedroom, dated, worn out, old, tatty. Windows that do not close properly. Poorly cleaned - dirty cups, dirty floor, dirty bed linen. Poor internet service - even for a free connection. Nice to see the housekeeping team leave their cleaning materials rested on a hot radiator in the corridor - really safe!
This is not a hotel, it is a hostel with a few hotel style bedrooms. More for the travelling student.

Room Tip: To get a good room, go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulyk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the standard triple room for 2 nights.
Upon arrival thought great location right on seafront, short walk up to the pier along the sea front.
Got in to lift which stunk of god knows what.. Yuk!

Room was fantastically situated (or so we thought) with fantastic view of beach and sea front.
Other than the great views there is little else positive i can say about are stay.
Room was on a serious slant, bathroom was grimy, very grotty!
Noise at night was terrible woke all three of us up both nights, windows aren't double glassed so may as well of put bed on the beach!!
Staff weren't very friendly, when asked for some clean towels ( had to use half of the others to soak up water from shower) response was very blunt and quite rude.

Brighton is beautiful and this hotel could be fab,, i can deal with basic but this was unclean and grotty!!

No value for money available at this hotel :-(

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed one night with a disabled friend lift out of order had to carry wheelchair up two lots of stairs wall paper hanging off walls carpets disgusting furniture knackered floors sloped badly and floorboards in some parts of room were dangerous very loud music playing till 5.30am so at 7am we got dressed and left would never stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samuelsmum05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Perfectly located facing the Brighton beach and close to the city centre, this newly refurbished hotel has spacious rooms, good bathrooms, a great restaurant on the groundfloor and caring staff. I'd definitely choose it again when in Brighton.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This hotel could do with a lick of paint and a bit of DIY but overall it was pleasant. The floorboards were creaky but the bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and warm. Also the staff were very pleasant and helpful. This is a good place to stay for a night or two, but wouldnt suggest it for a holiday

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#23 of 43 in Brighton
1,302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Hotel

Address: 135 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £38 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Brighton
Hotel West Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing