We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend stay!”
Review of Alvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alvia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend stay!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My parents and husband and I stayed here on the KGB deal as a chance to try something different. We don't usually venture into Kemptown when in Brighton so it was a chance to explore another area and The Alvia was the perfect base to enable us to do this. A short stroll from a variety of fab pubs and restaurants (we particularly enjoyed the nearby Black Dove for cocktails and Sopar for fantastic Thai food), and a pleasant 10 minute walk into central Brighton, it made a lovely change from our usual central seafront haunts. Our room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed including hairdryer and tea/coffee facilities. We needed to use an ironing board during our stay and the kind owner set it up for us in the dining room to use as and when we needed it.
Breakfast was faultless- a lovely selection of cereals, fruit and yogurts and as much toast as you liked...I went for the full English both mornings as it was so tasty. Not many places get the bacon right, but here it's absolutely delicious.
All in all we had a fantastic weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Alvia to anybody wanting a calm and relaxing haven to return to after hitting the many shops/pubs/clubs of thriving Brighton!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Manager at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    74
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
151
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a stay at the Alvia as part of a KGB deal. Given what we paid, it was certainly value for money within a good location and although the room was tiny (Room 6), it was spotless and Mark was extremely helpful in providing a map and suggestions of various eateries. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and we were promptly attended to. Thank you for making our first stay in Brighton an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My sister and I booked a twin room at the last minute for a weekend stay in Brighton. On arrival, Mark was very welcoming and friendly, and took time to show me the map of Brighton, recommending places to go etc. Part of the hotel was undergoing some renovations so the stairs were covered in plastic sheeting and there was some scaffolding outside our window upon which builders were climbing on Saturday morning (not too early). This didn't really bother us too much- it might have been good to know about it in advance though. The room itself was small (as was the ensuite shower room) with no view to speak of, but it was warm and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast room was large, attractive, bright and sunny and we felt unrushed as we sat there with a pot of tea deciding what to do with our day. The breakfast was fine although some fruit might have been a welcome addition. A small piece of advice would be to come by public transport if you can. The hotel is in a really good location, near the sea and walking distance to everything, and car parking is tricky. I had understood from the hotel's website that car parking could be offered by the hotel, but it turns out that this costs £15 per day, and they prefer you not to move your car once it's there. We changed our travel plans as a result and came by train. Overall this was a really nice stay and we would go there again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Loopsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks and we hope to see you again; we will pick up the tip about fruit at breakfast. Sorry about the sheeting on the stairs - our builder got us in earlier than planned and so we weren't able to give enough notice! Nonetheless we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I stayed her for two nights we received a,very warm welcome,we were offered a larger room at no extra cost,the hotel is in easy walking distance to the sea front.
Our room was very clean,with a big walk-in shower.
Breakfast,was good, service excellent,would highly recommend The Alvia and would we stay again

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineGW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend.room was very clean and the shower was lovely.it was a good location not far from the seafront.breakfast was nice with plenty of choice too. Staff were really helpful and kind.i would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolapig81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed having you to stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We only had one day to explore Brighton and The Alvia was idealy placed for that purpose. It was an easy walk to all the main attractions we wanted to see. I.e The Pavilion, The Pier, Chcckywockydodahs etc. The hotel and service were of a realy good standard and the breakfast was quite substantial. If you are lucky enough to book a car parking space at the rear of the hotel then the worry of street parking is eliminated. We were a late booking so only managed to get a room on the third floor which was quite a hike up the stairs for us oldies. All in all this was a good experience and we would recomend this hotel as a good well priced place to stay.

Room Tip: Try not to get the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again, perhaps in one of the rooms on the first floor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I booked two rooms for this hotel under a KGB deal and when making a reservation I was told that only one standard room was available under the deal but I could upgrade the other room to a Superior room type for an extra £50.

As i wanted that particular weekend as it was my Birthday I thought why not treat myself, a superior room would be a nice treat. We were allocated room 9 and my sister was allocated room 6. to our disappointment room 6 and 9 were basically identical apart from 9 being very marginally bigger (enough to stretch your toes) with the same basic cheap furniture, wafer thin carpet, view of a lovely tower block and shower room. We also had to walk up extra flights of stairs for the privilege!!

When leaving the hotel my girlfriend noticed that room 10's door was a jar so decided to compare the two "superior" rooms. It was clear from the size of room 10 with a real size bed, sea view and decent furniture that this was the real superior room and we had been ripped off with at most the better choice of a very basic standard room, which left us with a feeling of being ripped off.

When arriving home I also noticed that they had charged me an incorrect amount for the upgrade, parking and additional fee for staying at the weekend. By this error we thought that maybe the hotel had made a mistake and placed us in the wrong room type so I contacted them with my freedback. The hotel's response was poor and they claim that the extra two feet of space classifies the room as a superior room. What a joke, we are no strangers to staying at hotels and know the clear difference between a standard and superior room. This was simply a greedy scam to claw an extra £50 back from the reduced price gained from the deal.

Do not be scammed into paying a penny extra for room 9!!!! It's a total rip off and the owners response very poor to the feedback given which is a shame as overall the hotel was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Although we are disappointed that this guest has had cause to complain there are a few salient points which have been omitted and which we feel are worth highlighting.

As the guest said, two rooms were booked under the KGB deal, at the cost of £69 each for two nights - this includes breakfast. Thus the cost of one fully en suite room, with breakfast, was less than £35 per night. We have two rooms in the KGB deal, one of which the guest booked; the other had been taken which was why the upgrade was offered. The cost of the upgrade is £25 per night, along with £10 per night for a weekend stay - making a total, for the room, of slightly under £70 per night, considerably less than the normal rate for the room (at this time of year £95).

When the guest first emailed to point out the overcharge, of £5, he stated that his girlfriend 'noticed' room 10, which is furnished in the Venetian style adopted by the previous owners. It now seems that this was more of an ad hoc inspection than a glance, although no reference is made to the bathroom in 10 - smaller than 9 - and it is worth noting that both 9 and 10 are carpeted with what the guest refers to as 'wafer thin' carpet.

We pointed out that room 9 is larger than room 6 and the bathroom in 9 considerably larger than in 6 - indeed, the bathroom in 9 is the largest in the house and this has been remarked upon favourably by other reviewers.

The £5 overcharge was credited back to the guest's card once the error had been pointed out. This was a foolish error on our part which we rectified once it was drawn to our attention. The guest also stated that he would be posting a review on trip advisor, perhaps in the expectation that we would feel obliged to refund the upgrade, which we do not. We will also point out that this is not a 'scam' and feel that such language is inappropriate; indeed, previous reviewers on this site have remarked upon the 'fantastic value for money'.

Finally, we note that the guest has given us one point for value. To recap, the cost of the room, with breakfast, was less than £70 per night, as opposed to £95 which, we feel, represents considerable value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lanes Hotel
The Lanes Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvia Hotel

Property: Alvia Hotel
Address: 36 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvia is a five storey Victorian town house close to the sea and Queen's Park. It has been sympathetically refurbished and redecorated, and the recently re carpeted rooms, which are fully en suite, include flat screen TVs and tean and coffee making facilities. Our bright and sunny west facing dining room offers a comfortable place in which to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing