We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand experience via KGB!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alvia Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A grand experience via KGB!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights (wish it could have been more) at this delightful private hotel, courtesy of Mark and Pierre. They are to be congratulated on an interesting decor, neither too highbrow or too lowbrow, but just right for our comfort and enjoyment. It was a bargain experience which we may not have afforded had it not been for the KGB offer. Our hosts were accommodating in a friendly but unobtrusive way. We appreciated a bright and comfortable room, restful sleep overs and very nice breakfasts. All in all a high standard of cleanliness and comfort. And, conveniently placed for the seafront and the Centre
We can confidently recommend the Alvia to any prospective customers. And, even if there are no particular offers in future, we may well return at the usual price!

Room Tip: Discuss it, first, with Mark or Pierre, before booking. Found it most helpful, myself, when checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RichardO610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi

Thank you for your kind remarks, especially about the decor. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you enjoyed your trip and look forward to the possibility of meeting you again.

Best wishes,

Mark, Pierre & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    73
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
147
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left I have found nothing to be negative about.

This is the best place I have stayed in, in Brighton. The standards are high, the host (Mark) welcoming and very helpful, the room was clean, really clean, the bed comfy, the pillows amazing. It is all modern in decor, and the bathroom all up together with a good powerful shower.

The breakfasts , fresh, hot and very tasty. The toast was hot , lovely orange juice and you could have as much as you wanted and we were always asked if we wanted more - very attentive service

I must mention 'Fred' the dog - a delightful little thing, very friendly so do ask to meet him if you stay here as he is very well behaved.

Having stayed in a few other places in Brighton The Alvia is way above some of the others in the area in cleanliness and value for money -

I would recommend staying here to all, perfect location for a Brighton mini break

Thank you Mark

Room Tip: we always travel with ear plugs as we like to sleep with the windows open and this is on a main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrish76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Wow! Thanks for such a great review; I'm really pleased that you had such a good time and that everything was to your satisfaction.

I hope we see you next time you're in Brighton.

Best wishes

Mark, Pierre & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for two nights and highly recommend this hotel.

There's a warm welcome on arrival, bags carried to rooms whilst we enjoyed a cuppa.

Our room was a twin and was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel, and had everything we required. Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

Thanks to Mark, Pierre and Freddie for making our stay really enjoyable.

We will be staying again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi

It was our pleasure to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay; I hope we see you again soon.

Best wishes

Mark, Pierre & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We has a 2 night stay in Brighton and had a great time, the warm welcome and friendliness of Mark and Pierre made for a great stay. The room was lovely and very clean and the breakfasts were excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi

Thanks for your positive review. It was good to meet you and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes

Mark & Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights this week and had a fabulous time, the warm welcome and friendly smiles made for a great stay. The room was lovely and very shaby chic and the breakfasts were excellent. Both Mark and Pierre went out of their way to make sure we had a fab time, would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi

Thanks for your kind remarks. It was our pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again. Enjoy your next trip!

Best wishes,

Mark & Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The Other Half and I booked this Hotel Through a Groupon Deal.
And as with most Groupon Deals you don't expect very much. But this Hotel was excellent, very warm and Friendly. We arrived in the pouring Rain, and was immediately greeted by Mark one of the owners. Very pleasant and informative Chap. Offered us a coffee and gave us some top tips and a map of Brighton and what to see and what to avoid.
Brilliant help :)
On arriving up to room, room was very spacious, I had read reviews saying rooms are small and cramped so we weren't expecting very much. But to our surprise the room was more than ample and was well kited out with modern furniture. Fairly new bathroom tiled suit too and shower was good also. So could not complain about room in any way. We were also up in room 10 which was right at the top so although its two flights up its very quiet and a good view.
Breakfast in morning was also tasty, I opted for Bacon on toast with a sausage, this wasn't on menu as such but Mark said no problem. I got what I wanted. The dining room is warm and inviting and very clean, tables are small intimate and some unusual square type crockery is used which is quirky. We liked it.
We also got to Meet "Fred" the dog :) a very adorable friendly Doggy. He appeared into the dining room while we had breakfast, Mark asked us if we wanted him away but as we are dog lovers it was fine with us. If we hadn't been dog lovers I'm not to sure if some "older" people would have liked the idea of a dog in the dining room or not, but I think Mark was a good judge of character and if in doubt wouldn't have let Fred through. However was a pleasure to be greeted by friendly Fred :-D

Location of hotel is also excellent, very close to shops and Bars, but far enough to be quieter and not in the hustle bustle.
For the Gay nightlife then your pretty much near it all, the Bulldog, Legends, Charles Street Bar, all the best ones are to hand. Few good restaurants near to hand too.
About a 10 minute walk to the Lanes shops too and main drag. Everything at hand close by. Brighton's main Pier is not far as well.
Plenty to do in and around Brighton also, open top hop on hop off bus is worth doing to get a grasp of Brighton. We went for 3 days I could have probably done with an extra day just to chill out more. Seemed to be non stop.
All in all this is a great little B&B and you won't regret staying here. Prices also seemed reasonable if you don't get a Groupon deal. We would certainly stay here again. Also on departure Mark mentioned to us that if we wish to stay in the future, let him know and he's sort out a special discounted price. Nice little gesture.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyFinnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi

Thanks so much for your kind remarks and positive response. It was our pleasure to meet you and we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

You're right about Fred: we make sure that everyone is happy for him to be in the dining room and don't let him go in if it's busy. Having said that sometimes he sneaks in when we're not looking...

I hope we see you again.

Best wishes

Mark, Daniel & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was our first visit to Brighton, the city centre was great. Nice shops, bars, restaurants and the Pier was nice to see. 1 night probably wasn't enough to appreciate it all.

We stayed in Brighton as we were watching a show in the Brighton Dome. The Alvia is just a short walk from the Dome but the area around the Alvia doesn't look the safest.

Parking is a problem, street spaces are limited so I had to park a street away and carry my bags around.

Mark was very informative about the area, where to go etc and provided us with maps. He recommended the Cote restaurant which was really good. It is right opposite the Dome and i thoroughly recommend anyone visiting Brighton to eat there.

The room was a bit small especially the bathroom. So much so I had to turn to the side slightly when sat on the toilet due to lack of space. The room was clean apart from the shower basin, which was a bit grubby and discoloured.

Breakfast was nice and quickly served to the table after our order was taken, only complaint is It could have done with some beans.

Enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit Brighton again, not sure if I would stay in The Alvia again though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADR1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review, and I'm sorry that you have had cause to complain about the shower tray; we will be having this deep cleaned shortly. The room you were in is one of our standard rooms and so is a bit smaller - this is reflected in the charge for the room. I'm sorry that you won't be coming to see us again but can assure you that the area round here is quite safe: we have an excellent PCSO locally who patrols regularly.

Best wishes

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,877 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvia Hotel

Property: Alvia Hotel
Address: 36 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvia is a five storey Victorian town house close to the sea and Queen's Park. It has been sympathetically refurbished and redecorated, and the recently re carpeted rooms, which are fully en suite, include flat screen TVs and tean and coffee making facilities. Our bright and sunny west facing dining room offers a comfortable place in which to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing