We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless service, perfect* (*for me)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alvia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Faultless service, perfect* (*for me)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Mark provided a fantastic service and was friendly and helpful before I'd even checked in. Parking was organised for my trip down and whilst I couldn't check in when I arrived (at 9am, I had driven down to attend a conference) I was told which room would be mine and my bags were ready waiting for me in my room in the afternoon when I returned. In the morning I'd been given a front door key and my room keys were left for me as discussed. The room was clean and comfortable, bijoux but I didn't need a big room to rattle around in. The bed was very comfortable, with extra pillows and bedding available if you needed it. The only improvement I'd make would be to have fans available as the room did get hot and there wasn't much breeze. That said I didn't actually ask for one so maybe a lesson for me there. Breakfast was delicious, prompt but unhurried. Big eaters hoping for a belly buster will be disappointed but good value isn't always about quantity. I'd more than happily visit the Alvia again should I find myself in Brighton again as the service was second to none.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SocialMisfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your kind remarks and I'm pleased your stay here was enjoyable. We normally describe the room you had as 'compact' - perhaps 'bijoux' is a better description! You're right about breakfast - we believe that quality is better than quantity and use only local ingredients. If anyone asks for extras, however, we are happy to provide them.

I hope your journey home wasn't too arduous and that we see you again.

best wishes

Mark & Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    73
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
145
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a wonderful break in Brighton with my missus so she could relive her university days. The hotel was in an excellent location just a short walk for everything. The manager was friendly and efficient. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed was actually more comfortable than the one we have at home! The breakfast was delicious and the service was first class.

Unfortunately we missed the opportunity to meet Fred the dog but hopefully when we return to Brighton and stay here again (we will definitely be using this hotel again) we can meet him then.

If you fancy a quiet drink with friendly staff JW Lennons is a good old fashioned pub just around the corner from the hotel. We also took Marks recommendation and ate at "the Bristol" pub and found it to be excellent.

A great weekend break made that little bit more special by the high quality of the hotel and owners recommendations.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Shut the windows at night because the seagulls really love the sound of their own voices in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Daniel

Thanks very much for your positive feedback; I'm really pleased that you both enjoyed yourselves and that your wife had such a good trip down memory lane. Sorry you didn't get to see Fred - he was on a sleep over with a friend - but I'm sure he'll be pleased to see you next time you come to Brighton. And I'm afraid there's not much we can do about the seagulls!

Take care and I hope we see you again

Mark, Pierre & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here on July 12th for 1 night. Great location, very clean and comfortable, breakfast was lovely and David was a fantastic host. Lots to do in Brighton and an ideal escape from work and children!
Will definitely book again :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for your kind remarks. I'm sorry that we didn't get to meet you but am pleased that David was so helpful - I have forwarded your comments to him. Hope fully we will get to see you when you next come to Brighton.

Best wishes

Mark, Pierre & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely clean, quiet,well decorated b&b well situated close to all of Brightons must see places, Mark, the owner, did everything he could to make our stay as easy and comfortable as possible, with tips and advice to get the most out of our stay. Breakfast was a pleasure to eat, consisting of quality ingredients ,served hot by Mark himself, who can only be described as a gentleman and perfect host.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Wayne

It's really kind of you to be so positive and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you both again soon.

Best wishes,

Mark & Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

nice pleasant affordable b&b close to the pier and beach and 10 minute walk to the shopping centre and the lanes
rooms are nice n comfy and mark the owner was very helpful on suggesting places to eat
would stay again if traveling to brighton

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adilynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi

Thanks for your kind remarks and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you again next time you come to Brighton.

Best wishes

Mark & Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This is a nice quiet affordable B&B close to the pier in Brighton. The owner is friendly and helpful. I had the small double room which is...yes...small, so exactly as advertised. The bed is huge and really comfortable.

Negative...
Can't comfortably watch telly from bed. The angle at which the telly is mounted against the wall is wrong so when you lie down and watch telly the picture is shadowy.

Otherwise...thanks for the good coffee, orange juice and breakfast. I had a lovely stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Melany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just had the weekend at the Alvia what a lovely place. Very clean and the facillities are well thought out. Breakfast was yummy and we looked forward to Freddys visit in the morning, he's definately an asset :). Perfect location within walking distance of everything.

Would definately return next visit to Brighton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Julie

Thanks for your kind remarks. We all enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again.

Best wishes

Mark, Pierre & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#28 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvia Hotel

Property: Alvia Hotel
Address: 36 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvia is a five storey Victorian town house close to the sea and Queen's Park. It has been sympathetically refurbished and redecorated, and the recently re carpeted rooms, which are fully en suite, include flat screen TVs and tean and coffee making facilities. Our bright and sunny west facing dining room offers a comfortable place in which to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing