We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, fun and friendly stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colson House

Colson House
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Colson House
Ranked #65 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant, fun and friendly stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Audrey Hepburn room for my birthday weekend and we enjoyed our time there. The room was clean and tidy on arrival and the owners were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The B&B is very close to the seafront and the centre of Brighton with many shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, which was very handy. The breakfast itself was fine, although the portion sizes could have been bigger. The owners allowed us to leave our baggage in the B&B on our last day after we had checked out and the B&B felt very secure as both doors were locked throughout the day and night. The only real fault would be with the staircase in the Audrey Hepburn room. Although i liked that the bathroom was up a staircase, it did not feel very safe after a couple of glasses of wine!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cj922012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    28
    9
    0
    7
See reviews for
4
63
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

A very nice B&B! Rooms very clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and welcoming. What more do you need?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Despite the not so nice English summer, my friends and I decided to treat ourselves to three days in Brighton, and Colson House was our chosen B&B, and what a great choice!

The owners Mark and Eamon could not have been better, they were welcoming, extremely friendly and very entertaining. They offered such great advice on the local attractions, and even recommended a wonderful pub in which to enjoy a nice drink and good company.

The place was spotlessly clean (one of the most vital things for us), and the breakfast was scrumptious, keeping us full until way past lunchtime.

I could not recommend Colson House enough, clean, friendly, great location and wonderful hosts. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

On the day we were due to stay here my husband and I rang to to enquire what time we needed to check in and the man that answered the phone informed us that our reservation had been cancelled and that we were not welcome. When I asked why this was he became defensive and aggressive. I tried to reason with him and explain this was a romantic weekend for us and he swore at me and hung up. My husband rang back and the man continued to be obnoxious. My husband asked for a refund and he refused. It ruined our whole weekend and it later materialised that he had tried to take money for the other 2 days without our permission with the card I booked with even though we weren't welcome to stay there. Please take my advice and never set foot in this hotel. They are total cowboys and it is the single most awful experience I have had with a hotel in my life.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HannahHipgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We had a christening in Brighton so needed somewhere to stay for one night and didn't want to pay much so we booked here. We booked the James Dean room and were advised it was the cheapest as it was the smallest.

The day before we arrived we got a very friendly phone call from the owner, making sure we knew where to go and advising us the best route to take. This was a nice touch.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a young man who was lovely. He pulled out a map and talked us through where to go in brighton, what to see, and even advised of a chocolate festival that was going on that day. Very friendly.

Our room was at the top, and was very small, but had everything we needed. It was clean, had kettle and tea, TV etc and lovely big pillows. Very peaceful night with no noise.

In the morning we came down for breakfast and had a full english. The older man that cooked and served us breakfast was hilarious! Very funny man who made the whole breakfast room laugh - and the food was good too.

Very nice friendly please, would highly recommend to anyone who just needs somewhere nice and clean to stay.

Room Tip: James Dean room is cheaper and smaller (very small) but has everything you need so if on a budger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Thanks to Eamon and Mark and the team at Colson House. What a great location. We stayed in the Audrey Hepburn room. Lovely breakfast and they were very helpful. The room was very clean and stocked up with towels, and tea and coffee, milk. Would well recommend this hotel. Good value for money.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ThanksWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for Valentines weekend with my girlfriend. We had the Clark Gable room. No complaints at all - very nice, clean room with a large shower room. The breakfasts were lovely (if perhaps a little small) and the two guys who run the place are very friendly. I'd definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The Clark Gable room is very nice, though the mattress was a little too hard for my liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Guest Accommodation
Avalon Guest Accommodation
#40 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#28 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#43 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#10 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#20 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colson House

Property: Colson House
Address: 17 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colson House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colson House is a beautiful regency building with eight ensuite double bedrooms, each one themed around a 20th Century movie icon... so you can choose from Audrey Hepburn, Bette Davis, James Dean and others. The Guest House is located close to the city's heart, so whether you are coming for business, conference, or pleasure, it's a great choice. All bars, restaurants, attractions and clubs are an easy walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colson House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing