We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Library open to visitors”

University of Sussex
Ranked #44 of 163 things to do in Brighton
Attraction details
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Library open to visitors”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I am not a member of Uni of Sussex, but used the library while visiting Brighton. I found the library welcoming to visitors and was able to easily sign up for a guest pass. Library staff were helpful. It was during the student holidays, so there was plenty of space to work. It made a great difference for me having somewhere else to go to work (during 6 months of thesis writing) for a change of environment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to get a degree”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

You have the best of education in this great campus with great facilities and beautiful architecture in a very green environment and nice parks. And you can enjoy your weekend in brighton with all it's city and beach attractions which also serve the best fish & chips in england. London is only an hour away by train. Put Sussex top of your list to pursue your tertiary education.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nkchan2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't expect to sleep, jackhammers at 2am...”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I'm staying in swanborough with the open university and for the second night in a row they have started Jack hammers and drills late at night (all day as well mind you!) That go on until the small hours. It's gone 2 now and I'm up. Furious.
The campus is nice, the food a little limited but standard catering fayre. But how we are expected to study with no sleep I really don't know.
If you want sleep, stay somewhere else for the summer of 2013!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank traceyrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A beautiful site set on the edge of the South Downs. This campus has an array of pubs, bar and shops along with it's own Co op. Buses run directly into the university and take you to Brighton centre in half an hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lf106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great learning & social opportunities”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Got my 1st class honours degree here! Wonderful views, lots of amenities including a post office, cafe, bank & other shops. A great library.Tutors & staff very welcoming & friendly. Two student bars with very cheap drinks & lots of social stuff going on everywhere!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredsGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Sussex also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to University of Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing