We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standing in the middle”
Review of Bon Appetit

Bon Appetit
Ranked #520 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standing in the middle”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our experience was mixed here. We decided to celebrate my wife's birthday in Brighton's downtown and it was we happened to end up in Bon Appetit.

Well, except for the pizzas which were all cold, other foods were OK, not bad,nor good just OK. The 6.99 GBP "eat as much as you can" buffet is a reasonable price but you need to know about the hidden cost of the drinks.

Mr Esi, the Iranian owner, Saeed the manager and staff are all friendly, though a bit unprofessional at times. We were initially very happy when told the food is Halal but then a bit surprised/suspicious when we saw a pork food and were offered alcoholic drinks.

All in all, a mediocre place. has much room to improve.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffeteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    28
    17
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and tacky, don't eat here there are far better places!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Went out for lunch with my family and wanted to try somewhere different, decided to come here as it was new and seemed good value. How wrong was I it seemed the food was factory and microwaved quality and it was very cold inside the restaurant and no one seemed to care that the front door wasn't being closed properly I can safely say I won't be coming back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful food and disgusting service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We went to this restuarant and tried their buffet . Their food is a cheap quality food and mostly left overs. When we finished one of the owners came over and asked if we liked the food and we said it was ok. And he said over the food buffet it said in a different language do not waste food. Then we said we didn't we ate what we can and then he said don't come here again. As we're leaving another man started waving at us and saying don't come here again and get out. We had 3 children with us and they were shocked at the way that these people were talking. They were so rude and very stingy. Even their food was disgusting and old used food. Their pizzas were undercooked and tasted horrible. My advice never go there

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Raniasava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A respectable buffet”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Much better than feared. The Greek table and salads are really quite good, especially the hummus and stuffed vine leaves. Hot, frequently replenished and colourful with polite attentive staff.

A criticism? The desserts are limited to limp, tasteless fruit slices. Could do better! A good addition to Brighton in times of austerity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kieron_Seth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh food but not enough choice”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Plenty of pizza and international salads, small selection of meat curries and chinese dishes. Not enough vegetarian choice. We were sat at a table for two near the back of the restaurant, could hear noise from the kitchen and the back door was open, which left us sitting in a draught.. Also, the toilet is in the same area so it became congested when staff & customers were trying to navigate the small area, right behind our table. In hindsight, we should have asked to be moved but the restaurant was quite busy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bon Appetit also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bon Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing