We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”
Review of Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Five Hotel
Ranked #41 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently booked in to this hotel for a weekend. Upon arrival we received a lovely friendly welcome from the the hotel owner who showed us to our room and took the time to tell us about the area and how to get around. This hotel is in a great location right across the road from the beach and the peer.

Our room was on the top floor which involved many flights of stairs which was fine for us but may not suit everyone. The room itself was very quaint, TV and DVD player, and tea and coffee making facilities. We could have done with air conditioning or a fan in the room as it was really warm and stuffy at night even with the window open but this was probably due to the very warm weather.

The ensuite bathroom was tiny, smallest bathroom I have ever been in. The shower was also tiny and the water temparture kept changing from scaulding to cold which was a bit annoying. However, given how much time anyone spends in a bathroom this did not really have much of a negative impact on our stay.

Breakfast was brought to the room each morning in a little hamper. As with a lot of the reviews this for me was the highlight. The hamper contained fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast, muffins, crossaints. It was just perfect. I'd stay in this hotel again based on the breakfast alone.

Overall, great stay! Really friendly staff, great location, suberb breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are not the fittest person I would recommend requesting a room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharw1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea. Lovely room with fresh sheets daily, tea & coffee in the room. The room was clean and the bed was comfy with a quality quilt. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, served in a basket continental style served with fresh orange juice/apple juice and milk.
Really really friendly staff and we would definitely stay again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights over the May bank holiday. Great friendly welcome and excellent service throughout. Stayed in the coach house bedroom, small but cosy. Luckily I am fairly short as anyone taller would have really struggled in the tiny shower and bathroom.
Seems a lot of people on this site have raved about the hamper breakfasts delivered to your door. Yes these are a novelty, croissants, toast, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt, but I was left craving a good old English fry up instead of a muffin!
Perfect location but think twice if you want a traditional breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SambobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This B&B is situated in an ideal location in Brighton, close to the beach , the pier and the town centre. The staff made us feel really welcome. The breakfast was excellent. The B&B was clean throughout.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had an unexpected trip to Brighton and I was warmly welcomed by Caroline who showed me to my single room which was just the ticket...a small single which was just right. The breakfast basket was fresh, quirky with a copious amount of a variety of loveliness. Shame I couldn't manage it all. On my departure Caroline made sure the travelling to my next destination was as easy as possible with welcome advice and accurate information...Such a perfect host...
Thank-You Caroline . P.S The price was great !!!
Patricia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location was great and I managed to park the car next to the hotel. The wifi worked well - and the bed was great. The higher up in the hotel the smaller the rooms get - we were 3 friends traveling together and got rooms above each others. There is no elevator, so beware if you are not able to walk the narrow stairs or you are bringing lot of luggage. The toilet in my room didn't flush as expected and my friend on the top floor didn't manage to make the shower work and mine was not the best as well. Breakfast is so so and served in the room. You have to make your own coffee or tea. The hotel is really cozy - no doubt about that but some parts like their bathrooms needs an upgrade.

Room Tip: Stay as low as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have just stayed at Five Hotel in Brighton and cannot recommend it highly enough.
Cleanliness is always the most important thing for us when we stay in a hotel and Five hotel is spotless throughout. The location is amazing, right by the beach and only a few minutes walk to the center of town with all its shops bars and restaurants.
Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is delivered to your room and was delicious. No rushing to get downstairs by a certain time!
We will definitely stay at Five again and would highly recommend it to anyone planning to visit Brighton.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Guest House
Four Seasons Guest House
#40 of 95 in Brighton
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#22 of 95 in Brighton
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#45 of 95 in Brighton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 95 in Brighton
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 95 in Brighton
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamptons Brighton
Hamptons Brighton
#48 of 95 in Brighton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Hotel

Address: 5 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This period townhouse overlooking a classic regency square offers beautiful panoramic sea views of the famous Brighton Palace Pier and Seafront. Five Hotel provides the perfect location for business visitors weekenders or holiday makers. We are also close to Brighton Marina and walking distance from The Brighton Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing