We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway”
Review of Grey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I returned to this lovely boutique b and b for one last couple's holiday whilst expecting our first baby. It was just as wonderful as the first time we went there 3 years ago when we were dating. Jamie and Terry were excellent hosts and you were made to feel as though you were catching up with old acquaintances. Both times we stayed, they went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. Situated close to the pier and walking distance to the Pavilion and funky little shops in an area called "The Lanes". If you're stuck on a rainy day, the Sea-Life centre is just walking distance minutes away. Breakfast was sumptuous and you had a varied choice from the menu. Croissants were always warm from the oven. We had the pleasure of being there on Easter Sunday and were treated to gorgeous chocolate Lindt bunnies decorating the breakfast table. What a lovely and thoughtful touch! Their palm tree set in the middle of the dining room adds so much character and is rightly suggestive of an oasis of rest and relaxation in a plethora of other b and b's in Brighton. Bekhs and Dave, London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bekkylizzydilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    50
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
289
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

booked this hotel for a weekend in brighton and to see sarah millican at the Dome.
first impression certainly last and the minute we arrived we were made very welcome by the two owners. we were upgraded to the larger double room which was a four poster bed and the room was fantastic.
breakfast was a nice selection of buffet or cooked with ample portions most of all the location was a stone throw from the beach and pier location and very quiet we slept with the windows open and didnt hear a thing.
will be our first port of call when we return to Brighton.

Room Tip: book the four poster for loads more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for just one night last week whilst visiting my daughter who works in Brighton. The welcome was warm,the room spotless, the bed extremely comfortable and the breakfast delicious!!This hotel is in a perfect situation and I had a lovely walk along the seafront to the North Lanes(my favourite place with all the unusual shops and interesting people!) which only took 10-15 minutes. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: I slept in Room 3 which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaffronBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Greys for 2 nights over the Brighton marathon weekend in April. Terry and Jamie were both very friendly and welcoming. Greys is in a quiet street near the main seafront and within walking distance of most of the attractions including the Pier, Pavilion, Museum and The Lanes shopping area. Our standard room with en-suite shower was compact which we expected, very clean throughout and quiet for a good nights sleep. The breakfasts were excellent and food quality was very high, and an earlier breakfast was organised for the runners on the morning of the marathon. If we return to Brighton in the future we would definitely like to stay at Greys again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon-Travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My fiancé booked this hotel for a 2 night stay from 11-13th April. We arrived slightly later than expected, however were greeted with a friendly host who upgraded us to a superior room. Our host gave us a map and highlighted the main hotspots to find restaurants and cafes in.

Our room was superb; we could see the sea from our window, there was a plush carpet, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, bathrobes, mini-fridge, water, complimentary biscuits and my favourite part - a coffee machine which I really appreciated!!

The hotel is located in a peaceful street, just a short distance from the seafront and a cheap taxi ride to the popular pubs in the city (we walked this with no bother through the day- however I was wearing heels in the evening).

Breakfast was served in beautifully decorated room with lots of nice natural light flowing through. A great selection of pastries, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices were available, as well as a great selection of hot breakfast items such as omelettes, eggs benedict, full English breakfast.

If we were to return to Brighton, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMcK3589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We returned to Brighton for our yearly trip, and didn't even try to find another hotel. Grey's has always been our top choice of hotels in Brighton, and we only wish we could bring it along to other cities around the world. We arrived very late on a monday night and was greeted by the owner at the front door. Terry is the perfect host, and together with Jamie they are the main reason we always return to Grey's. We could also mention the superb more-than-full English breakfast, the gorgeous rooms with spotless bathrooms, or the general luxurious feeling to the place. But above all, it is the staff who is the one ingredient which makes one feel at home away from home. How wonderful to experience a staff that takes nothing for granted, and gives you, year after year, not only the highest value for money, but simply the highest value!

Room Tip: Choose one of the large rooms at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We had a long weekend planned in Brighton and stayed for three nights here. First thing was the welcome; a relaxed check in and then we were led to our room which had been upgraded from what we booked. Good start. Lovely rooms too, clean with contemporary furniture and up to date facilities. Staff were helpful and engaging without being overly familiar or nosey. Guy that showed us to our room carefully and diplomatically guided us away from one restaurant we mentioned we had booked and recommended another - we picked up on the hint and had a brilliant meal where he recommended. Breakfast here is a treat. Freshly cooked to order full English with local produce, smoked salmon and bagels with eggs, warm croissants, it was all great and I am pretty fussy when it comes to good breakfasts. Ideal place in terms of location with loads of places to eat and all of Brighton in walking distance. When we return to Brighton we will be coming back to Grey's for sure.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MattB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Snooze
Snooze
#9 of 94 in Brighton
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey's Hotel

Property: Grey's Hotel
Address: 11 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grey's is situated in the heart of Brighton, offering luxury accommodation and excellent service at affordable prices. Our rooms are all individually designed and boast flat-screen TVs, Senseo coffee/tea makers, White Company toiletries and white Egyptian cotton bed linen. We are located just 6-7 minutes walk away from the centre and its many restaurants and shops, and a stone's throw from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing