We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b in Brighton”
Review of Grey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grey's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely b&b in Brighton”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights.
Our room was at the top of the house with a lot of stairs (do check if you find stairs difficult!) but very clean and comfortable. Very powerful shower - much better than my one at home! Coffee machine and good quality toiletries a bonus.
Well located within walking distance of the town centre and major sites.
Lovely freshly cooked breakfast with a good cold buffet with cereals, fruits and pastries too.
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Will definitely stay here again if we ever come to Brighton again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarendonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    50
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
285
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay here and were graciously greeted and made feel very welcome. Our accommodations were spacious. On the east side of town it is a bit of a walk from the train station but less than one block to the beach. Perfect! Breakfast was truly exceptional!!!!!! Crisp clean linens and towels, along with robes were provided. Only suggestion for improvement is to remove carpet as it is getting a little tired. Would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Not value for money. Rooms too small; too noisy and cramped. Windows not double glazed so can hear loud seagulls etc outside. Doors slamming frequently. No choice of coffees. The manner of service was also over-familiar to an uncomfortable extent.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelreviewer10167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greyshotel, Owner at Grey's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
This is actually the worst review we have had in the 7 years we have been open, and is contrary to almost every review that has gone before.

I did discover who wrote this and contacted his partner who had booked the visit. She assured me that she had had a lovely stay and had no complaints at all, but advised me that her partner has difficulty relating to people. This seems to be borne out by the fact he has reviewed 5 other hotels and has only ever given them one or two stars. I was very puzzled that he should interpret friendly as ‘over-familiar’. We find that friendliness is why our guests come, preferring it to the anonymity of corporate hotels.

Our standard double rooms are on the small side, but they are the same size as every other Georgian house B&B in Brighton. We go to a great deal of effort to make guests aware of the rooms they are booking by showing photos AND A FLOOR PLAN of every room on our website. Our Superior rooms on the other hand are amongst the largest and most luxurious in Brighton.

It is worth noting that a no point during his stay did this guest register any dissatisfaction with his accommodation, so it seems very churlish to make such disparaging remarks under the cloak of anonymity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely place, lovely details, super clean and one of the best breakfast rooms , and breafast ,ever
The owner and the staff are very kind and one feels really well looked after.
Un bed and breakfast stiloso, pulitissimo, con una colazione ed una sala colazione stupende, proprietario e personale gentilissimi...esperienza da ripetere

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The second time I've stayed at Grey's and had a fantastic 2 night stay over the weekend. Lovely, clean rooms with a wonderful breakfast! Even wheat free food for my Mum. Terry & Jamie are so welcoming & can't wait to return next month with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13JP-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, the room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. Only a short walk into the main shopping area and situated in the Kemp Town. There are plenty of places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk.
I would highly recommend this hotel, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just 10 mins walk into the main shopping area and situated in the bohemian area of Kemp Town makes for a very interesting stay in a part of Brighton I hadn't visited before. Great places to eat and drink are literally on the doorstep. Great hosts and amazing breakfast. Rooms are small but very clean and serve the purpose. Great that the hosts had parking permits for sale which allows 24 hours parking for £9, which if you've ever tried parking in Brighton, will appreciate is a great deal. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you cant handle stairs you need a room on a lower floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey's Hotel

Property: Grey's Hotel
Address: 11 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grey's is situated in the heart of Brighton, offering luxury accommodation and excellent service at affordable prices. Our rooms are all individually designed and boast flat-screen TVs, Senseo coffee/tea makers, White Company toiletries and white Egyptian cotton bed linen. We are located just 6-7 minutes walk away from the centre and its many restaurants and shops, and a stone's throw from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing