We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel we have found”
Review of Grey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grey's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle ex pat
1 review
“The best hotel we have found”
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My partner and I have stayed at Grey’s Hotel three times now, twice for long weekends and most recently for a full five days. As long term visitors to Brighton, this little hotel is a real find. Without a doubt, the best and most comfortable that we have found. The owner Terry has always been the most genial of hosts whilst at the same time allowing the space that weekenders need (sadly lacking in many guest houses). For our third visit we treated ourselves to the Superior Double room with four poster bed and bay window with arm chairs looking down to the sea. It was real luxury and we recommend it to everybody. The rooms and communal areas were absolutely spotless and the breakfasts superb. To top off the quality of the breakfasts, they are served until 10am allowing plenty of time for a lie in. Great stuff.
In our opinion, Grey’s is a fantastic place to stay and we intend to return every year if we can. One additional recommendation would be that you book early. On our second visit we almost couldn’t get a room but Terry, remembering us from the year before and accommodating as always, managed to find us a space.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDNewcastleexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    50
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
285
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

This was our first trip to Brighton and we stayed for a weekend. Grey's Hotel is in a fantastic location in Kemp Town, which is very vibrant, as well as being close to the beach.

We received a warm welcome and our room was brilliant - stylish, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was amazing and it was so generous we didn't need lunch! The owners are very friendly and gave us fantastic advice about good local restaurants. We had a great time and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyAnneNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My partner took me here for my 30th. It is a fantastic hotel, really clean with nice touches -like White stuff shampoo and white bath robes. Located in Kemp Town near lots of great pubs and places to eat - good and cheap Thai food just down the road. The owner was really friendly and had good recommendations about stuff to do in Brighton. Good breakfasts and lots of choice with veggie options.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JA_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I stayed at Greys for three days for a conference in Brighton. The booking was made by my office so I had no idea what to expect. All I can say is that this is no B&B! This is a five-star hotel with a big heart. Comfortable, even luxurious, warm and friendly, with the most amazing breakfasts you can imagine. The guys who run Greys are great, with loads of advice on places to visit and eat. I hope to return soon - who minds working away when you can come home to this.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukiestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Having searched for hours looking for an ideal place to take my girlfriend for our three year anniversary, i came across Greys hotel. It was well priced and the location seemed ideal as it was a 30 second walk to the seafront.

When arriving we were greeted by the owner of the hotel who was very friendly and provided us with a map of Brighton to help us find our way around, this was very helpful as we had never visited Brighton before. The rooms were clean and very spacious and designed in a modern way unlike most b&b's these days. The breakfast was also really tasty and set myself and girlfriend up for a great day exploring Brighton.

When i come back to Brighton i will 100% be staying at Greys and I have already referred a number of friends who are planning trips to brighton in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

My Partner & I recently took a trip to brighton for the weekend, upon arrival our rooms were in immaculte condition, the service was fantastic with a great breakfast each morning. The location of Greys was ideal for what we had planned for the weekend. Literrally a stones throw away from the beach / pier & extremely close to all the hot spots, bars & resturants. To sum up the hotel offers great value for money in terms of beautiful rooms & ideal location.
Although we were only there for the weekend, Brighton has so much to offer & I would definatley go back to Greys Hotel the next time I'm in town!.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2009

I had a wonderful time whilst staying at Greys. It is in a central location situated inbetween the centre of town and the Marina, both 10 minutes walking distance away from the hotel. The room was extremely clean and tidy, and the large rooms boast a four post bed. The breakfast was beautiful with a choice of cereals, cooked breakfast and the offer of a continental breakfast. The staff were very polite and pleasant and could not have been more helpful. Terry was an excellent host and was quick to help us with anything that we needed. All in all the hotel added to our great stay in Brighton and we will most definately be returning!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey's Hotel

Property: Grey's Hotel
Address: 11 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grey's is situated in the heart of Brighton, offering luxury accommodation and excellent service at affordable prices. Our rooms are all individually designed and boast flat-screen TVs, Senseo coffee/tea makers, White Company toiletries and white Egyptian cotton bed linen. We are located just 6-7 minutes walk away from the centre and its many restaurants and shops, and a stone's throw from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing