We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place that could settle for doing a lot less, but chooses not to”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grey's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place that could settle for doing a lot less, but chooses not to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My friend and I decided to go to Brighton last weekend and having between us tried, and been disappointed with, a variety of chain hotels in the town over the years, I was very pleased when she suggested trying an individual, boutique hotel that she had found.

I certainly wasn’t disappointed. We arrived at lunchtime, parking permits were swiftly provided and there was no problem finding a parking space on a street nearby. The room was ready for us and was as nice as other reviewers have already described - deep velvet carpets, amazingly comfortable beds, tasteful décor, flat screen TV, White Company toiletries and more little touches than you get in many a 5 star establishment.

Wanting to venture out into Brighton Jamie couldn’t have been more helpful in providing us ideas of where to go and shop and where to go and eat and drink, all carefully marked on a map by him as we discussed the kind of things that we were interested in. He was great throughout the weekend and seemed genuinely keen to hear what we had thought of the places we had been to make sure any future recommendations were up to date.

Breakfast was also fantastic. The breakfast room is lovely and the touches in there were again indicative of how this place goes the extra mile - pressed white tablecloths and napkins, muted colours, immaculate china and cutlery, flowers, soft music and a delicious array of hot and cold choices expertly cooked by Steve.

I will definitely be back. It was great to find somewhere that could settle for doing a lot less, but chooses not to.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    50
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
282
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

What a delightful place, I felt genuinely welcomed and nothing was too much trouble throughout my stay. The rooms are stylish and spotless and the free DVD's are a lovely touch. As for the breakfast the quality of the produce is evident and the service personal and relaxed. Can't wait for an excuse to stay there again.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMostyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

The hotel is situated near to the sea front with a 10 min walk to the pier. Close to the shopping area, restaurants and bars. We were welcomed by friendly staff who wanted to make sure we made the most of our weekend in Brighton. Jamie provided us with maps and advice on where to go at night for two ladies. The dining area is perfect and the palm tree is a nice touch. Breakfast was very nice, with a wide range of choice e.g eggs benedict and smoked haddock. The hotel was ideal for our first visit to Brighton. Would definately stay there again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We enjoyed a very plesant two night stay.The owner and staff go the extra mile to make sure everything is perfect.Our room was clean and comfortable.
The breakfasts were the best i have ever had in a hotel.The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were delicious, all served on modern white china.
The atmosphere had an air of tranquilty,lovely to come back to after the hustle and bustle of Brighton.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckinghamshirehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

I booked this after reading the reviews here, & was so impressed. My Sister & I stayed in the single rooms and found them to be spotless & comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic, with real quality food. Jamie was so friendly & helpful,asking if we needed to know anything about Brighton. The location of the B&B was great because it is away from the clubs near the pier, so we slept well. Parking was no problem with the £6per day permit that they provide on request. I would definately recommend this place to anyone, & will stay again, fantastic b&b !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orange12Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Grey's is a wonderful place to stay whilst visiting Brighton. From fresh flowers sending a beautiful scent as you ascend the stairs to the perfect cleanliness of the hotel we couldn't fault anything. We stayed in Room 9 which is at the top of the building and is perfectly done up. The room is modern, light and spacious with plenty of room to relax. The small touches were those that mattered - good lighting, spacious storage and sufficient seating along with a small fridge with bottled water and kit kats provided (which was very welcome at the end of a long, hot day of shopping). Being able to access the internet easily by wi-fi makes a nice change from many hotels where wi-fi access is severely limited.

Breakfast was delicious with a good variety whatever your preference. The breakfast room was light, bright and fresh.

The on street parking was easy to access and you can get a parking permit from the hotel so is reasonably priced for Brighton. It's a perfect distance from town and a lovely walk down to the beach and along the seafront.

We received excellent service from Terry and Jamie at all times. Jamie was really helpful recommending places to go to (thanks for the tip about Bill's - it was wonderful).

The only issue we had was something the hotel couldn't control - with sash windows opened all weekend due to the gorgeous weather the seagulls woke us numerous times in the night. I'd forgotten how loud they are! But even that couldn't reduce our blissfully relaxed state when we left.

Overall I would highly recommend Grey's and will certainly be back next time I'm in Brighton.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

When we were looking at places to stay for a weekend in Brighton, we were trying to play safe by looking at some of the branded hotels on the seafront (have childhood memories of grotty B&B's!!) but I'm so glad that in the end we stayed here, it was friendly, inviting, clean and was decorated to a very high standard. The breakfast was really good, full selection of fruit, cereals and pastries and a variety of cooked breakfasts. They also gave some really good recommendations of places to go and eat etc., Wish we could have stayed longer. The only complaint I would have is that they have coffee machines in the room but unfortunately the water didn't get hot enough for tea.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Oakham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey's Hotel

Property: Grey's Hotel
Address: 11 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grey's is situated in the heart of Brighton, offering luxury accommodation and excellent service at affordable prices. Our rooms are all individually designed and boast flat-screen TVs, Senseo coffee/tea makers, White Company toiletries and white Egyptian cotton bed linen. We are located just 6-7 minutes walk away from the centre and its many restaurants and shops, and a stone's throw from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing