We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OVERPRICED FOR WHAT WE GOT” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Study Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Study Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED FOR WHAT WE GOT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived on Friday afternoon nice staff we went to our room they have automatic lighting so when there's movement it should come on it was a bit slow.
The room was basic but very clean no air conditioning available room was very hot & stuffy and then there was the view from our room it was a Building site what a mess but they still choose to charge the full price for our room.
Continental breakfast was in our room in the fridge in a box what a waste and it was the same on both days flavour wise we would rather of paid less and not had a breakfast it wasn't worth it.
It was in a good location near shops beach etc but over priced for a couple of nights away.
It was also full of students it needs to be one or the other students and cheap rooms or giving the extra room facilities for the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    109
    49
    12
    11
See reviews for
14
121
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Blink and you'd miss it, but despite initial mis-givings at the time it was booked when I, and colleagues, got there they were all dispelled.
Staying in the superior rooms, I had a nice big room with a reasonable sized bathroom and, to be fair, a big comfortable bed.
The view from my window was rubbish (but who cares!) and I never did get the hang of getting the hot water 'just so' on the shower every morning but these niggles were more than offset by the extraordinary friendly and helpful staff (who kindly printed my speeches for conference) plus unlimited free Wi-Fi.
There's no dining or breakfast facilities, but there are more then plenty of places to eat out in Brighton so don't let that put you off!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel, spacious and fresh rooms. Good sized shower!
Brilliant location, in the centre of everything. 5 minutes from the beach and about 2 to the centre of shopping. The only issue was the drilling outside our window, which started at around half 7am and went on for three hours. We were not warned about this, however upon speaking to the reception, who were friendly and professional, we were moved to another room.
I would definitely recommend this hotel! Especially to younger people, as it has quite a student vibe to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, Wales. UK.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good value, but rather basic student accommodation and not helped by the Mitre House building programme. This entails pneumatic drilling from 0800 and a view of a pile of scaffolding poles. There is no Bar nor Restaurant, and the breakfast in a box comprises (1) a small bottle of Orange juice (2) a blueberry muffin (3) a couple of biscuits (4) a bag of currents and sultanas and (5) a tub of strawberry yoghurt plus spoon. This is to be found in the fridge in the wardrobe, but to activate it, (or indeed any thing electrical in the room), it is necessary to place one's Key card in a slot by the door, so if you fancy returning to a chilled bottle of something you need an extra card to leave behind in the slot. Good location and very handy for Hove restaurants,( and family I was visiting). An interesting idea, but you should know what to expect in order to decide if it's for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petew00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Our welcome was nice. Very friendly staff. We booked a superior room but as soon as we walked into the room, we saw that the bed was small (we expected a bigger size) but everything was clean. Nice shower, but our flusher didn't work properly. We told the reception. And there were builders working outside (not for the hotel) who made it very noisy. We told the reception, because we think you must tell this to your guests. They serve breakfast in a box, i tried but i didn't like it. Which depends on yourseld of course. Coffee and tea facilities in the room (super!) and clean. Anddd good place, everything is nearby. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JennNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great hotel in a great location, within walking distance of the station. We arrived late on the day of our arrival and was greeted by the lovey receptionist Tamara, signed us in and was very helpful, the room was lovely and comfortable. The 3 members of staff we dealt with Tamara, Javier and Chelsia who were all extremely friendly and helpful :) I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights again looking for somewhere cheap to stay I was a little apprehensive about the study part but when we entered we had a lovely receptionist called meg who was so helpful and lovely beds are comfy and ive paid more for alot worse!!! The only tiny fault is that we came back for a nap before we hit the town and there was persistent drilling that drove me mad! room is a little stuffy too But overall thank you meg and thankyou for a for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotteriaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Study Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Study Hotel

Property: Britannia Study Hotel
Address: 150 Western Road, Brighton BN1 2DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Study Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Study Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing