We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel with lovely patrons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leona House

Leona House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leona House
Ranked #81 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with lovely patrons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Just stayed here for a 3 day Easter break and found Hazel and her husband excellent patrons - they were very freidndly and accomodating and I must say the coked breakfast was excellent - so often the breakfast in B&B's are made with cheap products but here at the Leona the quality of the breakfast was excellent. We had a slight problem that our shower leaked but they did everything they could to try and recifty it but being Easter it was difficult to get a plumber in over the BH. The rooms are of a high quality sort of boutique style and we had no problem with noise as we were in the room at the top of the hotel. If I had one minor gripe it would be that the inside of the cupboards hadn't been dusted and therefore my clean clothes got covered in dust. But this was a very minor fact and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leetaylor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    6
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
23
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

First the good news: Staff was friendly, the location is excellent and the breakfast is very good. The bad news is that the area can be quite noisy. On one of the four nights there was very loud club music until about 3:30am. Additionally the bathrooms need updating.

The biggest annoyance however arose from the fact that the hotel was classed as child friendly which later was explained as "We accept children in this hotel". The hotel certainly is not suitable for smaller children. It was very difficult to get into the B&B with the buggy and there was no other facilities for children such as children's cot or high chair. The fact that there was no cot was only brought to our attention 3-4 days prior to our stay which had been booked several month earlier - clearly to late to find another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Unfortunately our stay at Leona house was let down by the noise from the street, which had us awake at 3am each of the 3 nights we stayed there for the Bank holiday weekend.
The B&B is surrounded by bars and clubs to the side and opposite - we even resorted to turning the bathroom extractor fan on to at least have a constant hum rather than the crowds in the street. That said it is perfectly possible that if your room doesn't face onto the street you could have had a pleasant stay.
The website certainly oversells it and I agree with some of the comments on here about the landlord being scruffy and not particularly friendly. We were also charged payment upfront and parts of the breakfast fry up were clearly microwaved!
At least the room was nice enough, the location was very central and it didn't spoil our stay, but not one I can recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodders08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

This Hotel is perfect for a romantic Brighton getaway. The room was beautiful and the breakfast was out of this world!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

I am writting this from my daughters computer as i do not think the reviews this B an B has got are fair or true!
me and my son stayed here overnight when we had to pick up my daughter from the airport when coming back from her honeymoon!
i think leona house a was clean with fantasti owners and you ven got a lovely dressing gown to wear!
also the breakfast was amazing and even filled my 6ft 8 son up!
so do not listen to the bad reviews and pay Leona a trip !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemrShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We were in Brighton for a conference and have just spent 3 days in this guest house. The location and the room was great.
Our hosts Paul and Hazel are lovely people and were very friendly. Good breakfasts each day. would recommend Leona House

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baby1watford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jokkkk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

first of all i was greeted by a scruffy hotel owner that simply grunted at me, he then made me pay on spot (in a demanding way) she was also very threatening, his hole attitude was as if he couldnt be bothered which is not what u expect from a small b and b, he gave me key to room and i was asked to pick wat time for breakfast, my room was located on the middle floor without a en suit it was quite chilly and the smell was very dank, the toilet for the room was just down a few stairs, this had a broken window and the door did not close (same with bathroom) i love how it states in their advert aromatherapy products and bath robe where??????? the breakfast was complete kak and ended up going to a cafe after. the money per room is way over priced for the service they provide PLEASE DONT RUIN YOUR STAY OF BRIGHTONN BY STAYING HERE

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkklllooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leona House

Property: Leona House
Address: 74 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Hotel Class:4 star — Leona House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Leona House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing