We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Guest Accommodation
Ranked #39 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We haven't stayed for a while but pleased to see still under the same ownership. Brian and Tom are friendly and helpful and accommodation and breakfast superb. We will definitely use again in the future as we love the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corfulovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    29
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
94
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hospitality from Brian and his team was excellent. Our dog was welcomed and being first time dog owners I was rather nervous about this but there was no need.

Brian reminded everyone about the need for a parking pass each day which took away any worries about traffic wardens. Parking is £7.50 a day which is added to your bill.

During our stay we used 4 different rooms due to different family members arriving. I did struggle to sleep due to outside noises (sea gulls mostly).

The breakfast in the basement was excellent, nothing was too much trouble and all arrived with a smile and a chat if you wanted it.

Now this is not a high end boutique hotel with power showers. There are nice white cotton sheets and we had some lovely white fluffy towels in one room but not another (they were still white but not as new). Each room has a fridge although the one in room 5 needs attention. The fridge is really handy to have.

The house is around 100 years old I guess, there are creaky bits and there are a few maintenance issues but nothing to spoil your stay. The house did not smell doggy. We had forgotten our dog bowls and two arrived very quickly from downstairs.

I would definitely stay at Avalon again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorHillsPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation. A colleague and I were attending a conference in Brighton and the conference planners suggested multiple lodging choices. I did my homework and decided upon Avalon; it was the right choice (especially after talking with our fellow conference attendees staying elsewhere!).

Brian and Tom were charming, fun, and helpful; George was so ready and willing to help us get any task done--from hauling our carry-on bags to making sure our keys were collected. They gave us great suggestions for sights to see that would fit into our stolen bits of time away from the conference. They offered advice on local restaurants (Terre a Terre was a delight....even my non-vegetarian friends enjoyed it). It was so enjoyable to sit in the breakfast room chatting with them as they bustled in the kitchen preparing us made to order breakfasts (to include veggie sausage for me). Truly, it just felt like home!

If you are looking for ultra-modern accommodation with concierge service, you're not going to get that here. You'll get a friendly atmosphere, a nicely appointed en suite room with a few bumps & cracks that pop up in a home...but our room was clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, and large. With a teddy bear :)...and books...and internet...and a hair dryer...(and more stuff). We were quite happy, as were our other colleagues who chose to stay at the Avalon with us.

It is conveniently located near the beach and the pier. An easy walk to pretty much anything you'd want to see, and right near public transportation. The bed was just a tad firm for me and there were a few minor bumps & bruises in the room, so I didn't give a perfect score on the sleep quality and rooms. But, they even offer ear plugs for those who might be bothered by sea gulls during nesting season. Honestly, I did not hear them and I'm usually a light sleeper.

I would definitely rebook here if I was to return to Brighton! Thank you, gentlemen, for such a lovely stay in your home! An overall excellent score for Avalon....great value, especially for such a great location and fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRDProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our second visit with English bulldog Gene. Lovely room, breakfast very good, nice location ( very close to the seafront and the Pier ) and super hosts. We had a lovely time and already booked again for September.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patten13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff, very nice breakfast too.
Could do with a bit of repair here and there, but hopefully that will be done soon, otherwise a good stay!
Location is very handy for central Brighton and on the eclectic St James Street's doorstep too!
Very near to Queens Park and the Beach, a lively place in summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbobco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Brilliant little B nd B. Brian Tom and George are lovely, welcoming and friendly. It was our second stay and we will be back for more. It is very central, very comfortable and the dog enjoyed the stay as much as us. It is the most dog-friendly place we have ever stayed at, she loved the breakfast sausages! Breakfasts are very good for us humans too! Honestly would not stay anywhere else in Brighton.

Room Tip: Less traffic noise at the rear of the house but the kingsize room at the front is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We found Avalon via a search engine and decided to try it. We were made very welcome and immediately felt at home. The breakfasts were brilliant (not that we had time to concentrate on eating as it was the final couple days of the Olympics and it was great to watch the medals coming in!). Our room was the smaller one but it was cosy and comfortable and contained everything we needed. Will be staying there again this year when we visit Brighton for the Summer Bridge Congress again.

Room Tip: A quiet location - rooms to suit all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Guest House
Four Seasons Guest House
#49 of 93 in Brighton
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 93 in Brighton
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colson House
Colson House
#68 of 93 in Brighton
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#13 of 93 in Brighton
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest Accommodation

Property: Avalon Guest Accommodation
Address: 7 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England (Formerly Avalon Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and welcoming guesthouse. Fairtrade hospitality goods in the rooms. Quality eco-toiletries. Committed to making your stay comfortable and as busy or relaxing as you wish. Committed to sustainability in tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing