We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced hostel masquerading as b&b”
Review of Strawberry Fields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strawberry Fields
Ranked #28 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Staff friendly but this b&b is the worst we have ever stayed in.
Rooms cramped together so u can hear everything going on in the others, paint dirty and tired, blind lets the light in and the bed was wonky.
Shared bathroom facilities unusable - shower in a cupboard so u can't get ur clothes off, toilet dusty, hook lock only and u go back to ur room to wash ur hands.
Should not b charging b&b prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We are disappointed to receive this review, especially as none of the issues raised were mentioned by the guests during their stay and we have had no response to our email asking for clarification from them.

From time to time there is a mismatch between the type of room booked and the one expected by our guests. We offer detailed descriptions of the rooms 'Small standard double with shared bathroom facilities' or 'Superior sea view double en-suite' and our rates reflect the room chosen.

Recognising that not everyone reads the full description, if space allows we are always happy to upgrade to the next category and charge the rate difference, however this was not possible on this occasion as we were unaware of the problem.

We pride ourselves on our spotless facilities and customer service and regularly carry out a full 'deep clean' of all of the guest house, as this is a crucial part of the customer experience. We appear to have fallen short of this guests expectations this time but we remain hopeful that they will give us another try.

Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

This place is a little gem - it's cheap, so don't expect luxury, but the rooms are reasonably proportioned and nice and clean and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We stayed here for one night on a weekend away. We had a room with a shared bathroom but the place was quiet so it wasn't any problem.

The location is absolutely brilliant. Near seom top notch pubs and restaurants and only 10/15 mins walk from North Laine and the main shopping area. The sea is 1 minute away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BexH468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks Bex - what a lovely review.

You are right - there isn't a better location to enjoy the best of what Brighton has to offer and some fantastic pubs just around the corner - check out St James Tavern for their huge selection of Rums, The Ranelagh for great jazz performances and the SideWinder with a great outdoor dining area and a great Sunday lunch spot - all within 5 minutes walk!

Come back soon
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here on Saturday for a friends hen do.
We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us the key to our room. We booked a twin roon on the 2nd floor which had its own bathroom.
The room was bright and the stawberry theme was a nice little touch through the hotel.
The bathroom was very small but it served what it needed to.
Very good location and would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to the room so if you arent good with them request a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review.

You are quite right - our ensuite bathrooms are pretty bijoux but we hope that the fantastic shower pressure goes some way to make up for the small space. By the way, we also have twin rooms on the ground or first floor so do let us know if you prefer to avoid stairs next time.

See you soon
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Just a few minutes walk (even in heals) to decent restaurants and bars. 2 minute walk to the beach.

Rooms basic, all you need to get your head down and quick cupa! :)

Can't actually believe people people moan about a 'night porter'. If you want that, go down the road and pay £250 a night!

We were even able to check in early - staff here are decent, so are the rooms!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M77XNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Manager at Strawberry Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hoorah, and thank you for your lovely and well balanced review!

Our budget rooms are small, simple and spotless (though still with flat screen TV and free Wi Fi) and we also offer more luxurious rooms with sea views from the bay window and fully en-suite. We aim to offer unbeatable value and service - it seems this time we succeeded!

Just a point of clarification - at the weekends, we have a night porter on call who is available to let guests in if they have returned separately from their group or to occasionally remind late revellers to party away from the guest house and let the remaining guests enjoy their rest.

So, thanks again and see you very soon
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just recently got back from a trip to Brighton with my girlfriend. Stayed at Strawberry Fields Hotel and really enjoyed it: great location and an easy walk back from town, wherever you go, friendly staff and very clean rooms covering all the basics. Staff very friendly and quite a fun vibe about the place on a weekend.

They also do breakfast in bed so you don't have to go down to a main dining room. Not for everyone I imagine but great if you want to work on the hangover for longer...

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which looked over the sea and I would recommend asking for this. Very nice to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Chaz

We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Strawberry Fields. We are glad you enjoyed your 'Brunch in Bed' (a basket of goodies delivered to your room at the time of your choice), just the thing to set you up for a day exploring Brighton and the best way to enjoy the sea view on a sunny morning.

Come back and see us again soon
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I recently visited Brighton as part of a group of ten for a birthday celebration. We were looking for good value accommodation that could squeeze us all in and Strawberry Fields was able to offer us just that. We had two double rooms for couples and the rest of us had two triple rooms on the top floor of the hotel.

The rooms were small but plenty big enough for a weekend away. Hotel very clean and although basic had everything we needed. The only pain was the number of stairs to climb to get to our rooms, but with the amount we ate and drank in Brighton this exercise was probably much needed! Enjoyed the breakfast in bed option and glad to have good tea making facility in the room :) Also as bathrooms were shared the sink in the bedroom was also very much appreciated and meant we could all get ready to go out without fighting for space. Really thought the strawberry theme was very cute and nice touches like strawberry shower gel was appreciated by all of us. Location was also brilliant for going out in Brighton and seeing the sights in the day.

Would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Well located B&B if your interested in Brighton's famous night life. I was not and lots of interesting characters out and about!

The B&B looks as though it was recently refurbished and has been tastefully decorated.

I stayed in a single room, sink and shower in the room were fine. The WC however was a bit of a hike on stairs which were at least 150 years old and slanted at an angle.

Street noise can be a problem as the B&B is in busy area close to many colorful bars and night clubs so be careful at night when coming back to the B&B. On this point, the B&B is not staffed at night. Only an emergency number for out of hours cover .

Overall for a short stay in central Brighton this is adequate accommodation, however. I will probably never return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as it can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#23 of 95 in Brighton
105 reviews
0 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#29 of 95 in Brighton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kemp Townhouse
Kemp Townhouse
#30 of 95 in Brighton
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Fields

Address: 6-7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £40 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strawberry Fields 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy your stay with us here in our warm and friendly Guest-House offering wonderful accommodation in Kemptown, the most vibrant area for B&B in Brighton, our cosmopolitan city by the sea. Strawberry Fields has a fantastic location, sea views from the front and only a couple of minutes walk from The Pier and City Centre with the Conference centre just a short stroll along the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strawberry Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Fields Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing