We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff in lovely b&b.”
Review of Strawberry Fields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strawberry Fields
Ranked #25 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely staff in lovely b&b.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Extremely clean, nicely presented rooms. This is a basic b&b/ guesthouse. However the staff could not be more helpful. I stayed for the London to Brighton bike ride and booked the small double right on top flooras just needed a bed to rest my head. It was small but extremely clean. Some rooms are not ensuite, and toilet and showers are small but immaculately clean. On the second night Jeremy the owner offered to move me to a bigger room as they had a couple of vacancies. They couldn't do enough for me, kindly storing my bike. For a clean guest house as a base to explore Brighton pretty sure there is no where better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
What a really lovely review - it made our day - THANK YOU!

The title of your review sums up everything we are aiming to offer and we are delighted to have made such a positive impression.

We offer a range of rooms at a range of prices so you always have the choice to decide whether to opt for the larger more luxurious rooms or save your cash for the many tempting retail and foodie outlets just around the corner.

We will look forward to welcoming you back
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    132
    41
    24
    20
See reviews for
43
115
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Strawberry fields is on a beautiful square (from which you can see the sea), just off a lively street about 15 minutes walk from the absolute centre of Brighton, and a 2 minute walk from the beach. We paid £110 for 2 double rooms, meaning that at £27.50 per person this was cheaper than a number of the hostels we'd looked at! The staff were incredibly friendly and check in and out times were very reasonable. We were given a key, meaning there was no restriction on the time we had to return in the evening, or how early we could go out in the morning. The rooms were very clean and tidy, and the strawberry theme added a nice colourful touch. Ours included tea and coffee making facilities, towels, shower gel and soap, and plenty of plugs. The shared shower was small but functional (although for us the hot water was slightly patchy) and the toilet was extremely clean. The extremely friendly staff added the final element to what was overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
WoW, WoW WoW - what a super review!

We are all thrilled to get your lovely comments and it has really 'made our week' to get such lovely feedback.

You are spot on... we aim to offer great service, great value and great location!

It seems, this time we succeeded...

Thank you so much
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Staff friendly but this b&b is the worst we have ever stayed in.
Rooms cramped together so u can hear everything going on in the others, paint dirty and tired, blind lets the light in and the bed was wonky.
Shared bathroom facilities unusable - shower in a cupboard so u can't get ur clothes off, toilet dusty, hook lock only and u go back to ur room to wash ur hands.
Should not b charging b&b prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are disappointed to receive this review, especially as none of the issues raised were mentioned by the guests during their stay and we have had no response to our email asking for clarification from them.

From time to time there is a mismatch between the type of room booked and the one expected by our guests. We offer detailed descriptions of the rooms 'Small standard double with shared bathroom facilities' or 'Superior sea view double en-suite' and our rates reflect the room chosen.

Recognising that not everyone reads the full description, if space allows we are always happy to upgrade to the next category and charge the rate difference, however this was not possible on this occasion as we were unaware of the problem.

We pride ourselves on our spotless facilities and customer service and regularly carry out a full 'deep clean' of all of the guest house, as this is a crucial part of the customer experience. We appear to have fallen short of this guests expectations this time but we remain hopeful that they will give us another try.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This place is a little gem - it's cheap, so don't expect luxury, but the rooms are reasonably proportioned and nice and clean and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We stayed here for one night on a weekend away. We had a room with a shared bathroom but the place was quiet so it wasn't any problem.

The location is absolutely brilliant. Near seom top notch pubs and restaurants and only 10/15 mins walk from North Laine and the main shopping area. The sea is 1 minute away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BexH468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks Bex - what a lovely review.

You are right - there isn't a better location to enjoy the best of what Brighton has to offer and some fantastic pubs just around the corner - check out St James Tavern for their huge selection of Rums, The Ranelagh for great jazz performances and the SideWinder with a great outdoor dining area and a great Sunday lunch spot - all within 5 minutes walk!

Come back soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here on Saturday for a friends hen do.
We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us the key to our room. We booked a twin roon on the 2nd floor which had its own bathroom.
The room was bright and the stawberry theme was a nice little touch through the hotel.
The bathroom was very small but it served what it needed to.
Very good location and would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to the room so if you arent good with them request a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review.

You are quite right - our ensuite bathrooms are pretty bijoux but we hope that the fantastic shower pressure goes some way to make up for the small space. By the way, we also have twin rooms on the ground or first floor so do let us know if you prefer to avoid stairs next time.

See you soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Just a few minutes walk (even in heals) to decent restaurants and bars. 2 minute walk to the beach.

Rooms basic, all you need to get your head down and quick cupa! :)

Can't actually believe people people moan about a 'night porter'. If you want that, go down the road and pay £250 a night!

We were even able to check in early - staff here are decent, so are the rooms!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M77XNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Manager at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hoorah, and thank you for your lovely and well balanced review!

Our budget rooms are small, simple and spotless (though still with flat screen TV and free Wi Fi) and we also offer more luxurious rooms with sea views from the bay window and fully en-suite. We aim to offer unbeatable value and service - it seems this time we succeeded!

Just a point of clarification - at the weekends, we have a night porter on call who is available to let guests in if they have returned separately from their group or to occasionally remind late revellers to party away from the guest house and let the remaining guests enjoy their rest.

So, thanks again and see you very soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just recently got back from a trip to Brighton with my girlfriend. Stayed at Strawberry Fields Hotel and really enjoyed it: great location and an easy walk back from town, wherever you go, friendly staff and very clean rooms covering all the basics. Staff very friendly and quite a fun vibe about the place on a weekend.

They also do breakfast in bed so you don't have to go down to a main dining room. Not for everyone I imagine but great if you want to work on the hangover for longer...

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which looked over the sea and I would recommend asking for this. Very nice to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Chaz

We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Strawberry Fields. We are glad you enjoyed your 'Brunch in Bed' (a basket of goodies delivered to your room at the time of your choice), just the thing to set you up for a day exploring Brighton and the best way to enjoy the sea view on a sunny morning.

Come back and see us again soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 93 in Brighton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Brighton
844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#13 of 93 in Brighton
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Fields

Property: Strawberry Fields
Address: 6-7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strawberry Fields 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy your stay with us here in our warm and friendly Guest-House offering wonderful accommodation in Kemptown, the most vibrant area for B&B in Brighton, our cosmopolitan city by the sea. Strawberry Fields has a fantastic location, sea views from the front and only a couple of minutes walk from The Pier and City Centre with the Conference centre just a short stroll along the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strawberry Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Fields Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing