We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Strawberry Fields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strawberry Fields
Ranked #25 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just enjoyed a really nice weekends stay @ Strawberry Fields. A great location very close to the seafront and (if your room allows) a great view onto the gardens to the front of the building.

All the staff seemed happy, friendly and helpful, particularly the main receptionist.

OK there is no dining/breakfast room, but that is made clear at the time of booking. To be honest having the option to have breakfast in bed is a lovely treat if it's something you don't normally do at home.

The room booked was a top floor double with shared toilet and shower rooms. The room itself was cosy, and the shower room was bit space limited. You might want to consider booking an en-suite if you require more room whilst towelling off.

The room was serviced each of the three days booked, which included a Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
What a lovely review of , thank you for taking the time to write.

Strawberry Fields aims to offer spotless rooms and great service to all of our guests whether they are staying in one the our tiny attic double room - a great value option - or one of our fully en-suite, Sea View Double room (which we hope to temp you back to next time).

We have a great team here, a font of local knowledge and always happy to help and I'm very pleased you enjoyed the experience.

See you next time
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    132
    41
    24
    20
See reviews for
43
115
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked with Laterooms and got a lovely double room ensuite overlooking the rooftops. I am from Brighton so am well versed in the sounds of the seaside, the diversity of the delightful local cafes and the availability of nearby vibrant nightlife. It was just what we wanted, yet the square outside is pleasant, with Regency architecture. Perfectly Brighton. The staff were helpful, and we didn't need breakfast or any dining room (as with many local hotels they provide food on request). You are in the heart of the cafe/pub culture and the famous all night market diner, so go and explore for breakfast, lunch and tea. Close to the pier and beach. Great location. Would stay there again. Good toiletries and very comfortable sleep. Take ear plugs if you don't like seagull cries, for me that's part of the seaside. Highly recommended for being in the heart of things.

Room Tip: Like all Regency houses the house is tall and thin, although it is two houses knocked together. So t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judybarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Judy

Location, Location, Location - you are bang on with your review of Strawberry Fields - we are right in the heart of the city and those pesky gulls wake early!

We count ourselves experts in all the city has to offer so talk to us about those 'hidden gem' shops in the North Laine or where to get the best Cappuccino west of Rome (red Roaster...).

Thank you for your lovely comments
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having booked this hotel which is expensive I was expecting a full breakfast like you normally get in a hotel but on arrival I was told they do not cook any food and have not even got a dining room, I have stayed in hotels all over the world and never before have a found one like this it is a hostel not a hotel .So when you wake up in the morning you got to go to some back street cafe for your breakfast (Joke) basically the greedy owners have got rid of the dining room so they can rent more rooms to unlucky customers.Also my room was at the front and I got no sleep whatsoever as the traffic from the seafront is howling along all night.Do yoursellf a favour and find somewhere else.The staff were friendly but that does not compensate for lack of facilities which the customer needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Smith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mr Smith

I'm so sorry that you were unaware that we offer our rooms on a room only basis to give our guests the choice of ordering 'breakfast in bed' (a basket of bacon baguette or smoked salmon bagels, juice and fruit - at an additional £5) or popping out to one of the 15 local cafe and delicatessen outlets that are within a five minute walk from us.

Clearly this has affected your view of the value we offer and I do hope you will reconsider and return to us in the near future.

Best wishes
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband wasn't feeling well . We wanted to cancel the booking they refused. We wanted to minimise the days . Refused again. Charged all the money at check inn, rooms are not ensuite and me being a frequent traveller booked a double room. Really horrible no sinks in the washroom and good luck trying to take a bath. Did not know it was not ensuite I have never stayed in such a hotel that didnt specify that. This is a hostel but not a place for couple to stay. Sour manger with no sympathy will never stay here again

Room Tip: Don't go for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
As this review is the result of these guests dissatisfaction with LateRooms policy rather than our service and facilities, here at Strawberry Fields, it is therefore a bit disappointing to receive.

This was a prepaid '2nd night half price' offer through LateRooms on one of our budget 'attic' small double rooms with a shared bathroom. When on the day before arrival the guest contacted me to cancel, I explained that as it was a prepaid 'LateRooms' booking the guest must contact them to cancel - as they will still charge their commission fees. As it was inside the cancellation period this was refused by them and the guest stayed with us.

On checking in, as it was clear that they were dismayed to be holding a reservation for a room with shared bathroom, we offered them a complimentary upgrade to the next category or the alternative of a fully en-suite room at a £10 supplement - they viewed all three rooms and chose the complimentary upgraded one.

We provide a full description of all of rooms and are pleased to be able to offer a range of rates to suit all budgets, the room booked, is described on the LateRooms (and our website) as 'Small Double room - Double Bed, Not en-suite - Shared bathroom. Top Floor, Flat screen TV with freeview, WiFi, Tea and Coffee facilities.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We went on a girly trip away for the weekend sharing a 3 bed room called "Strawberry Sorbet" and we loved our stay in this delightful hotel, with gorgeous views and fresh sea breeze to cure the worst of hangovers. The rooms were clean and really nicely presented with nice comfy beds.The bathrooms facilities were oddly placed but very clean and tidy and fab water pressure. If your looking for a cheap welcoming and well located hotel in Brighton this is just great! We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpakkaMakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
What a super review - especially for one of our budget rooms.

As you rightly say, these rooms are perfect for a sightseeing/shopping trip with friends and judging by the number of carrier bags - was a bonanza for the local traders - so on their behalf, and on ours; "Thank you for staying at Strawberry Fields".; Come back soon!

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Extremely clean, nicely presented rooms. This is a basic b&b/ guesthouse. However the staff could not be more helpful. I stayed for the London to Brighton bike ride and booked the small double right on top flooras just needed a bed to rest my head. It was small but extremely clean. Some rooms are not ensuite, and toilet and showers are small but immaculately clean. On the second night Jeremy the owner offered to move me to a bigger room as they had a couple of vacancies. They couldn't do enough for me, kindly storing my bike. For a clean guest house as a base to explore Brighton pretty sure there is no where better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
What a really lovely review - it made our day - THANK YOU!

The title of your review sums up everything we are aiming to offer and we are delighted to have made such a positive impression.

We offer a range of rooms at a range of prices so you always have the choice to decide whether to opt for the larger more luxurious rooms or save your cash for the many tempting retail and foodie outlets just around the corner.

We will look forward to welcoming you back
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Strawberry fields is on a beautiful square (from which you can see the sea), just off a lively street about 15 minutes walk from the absolute centre of Brighton, and a 2 minute walk from the beach. We paid £110 for 2 double rooms, meaning that at £27.50 per person this was cheaper than a number of the hostels we'd looked at! The staff were incredibly friendly and check in and out times were very reasonable. We were given a key, meaning there was no restriction on the time we had to return in the evening, or how early we could go out in the morning. The rooms were very clean and tidy, and the strawberry theme added a nice colourful touch. Ours included tea and coffee making facilities, towels, shower gel and soap, and plenty of plugs. The shared shower was small but functional (although for us the hot water was slightly patchy) and the toilet was extremely clean. The extremely friendly staff added the final element to what was overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
WoW, WoW WoW - what a super review!

We are all thrilled to get your lovely comments and it has really 'made our week' to get such lovely feedback.

You are spot on... we aim to offer great service, great value and great location!

It seems, this time we succeeded...

Thank you so much
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 93 in Brighton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Brighton
844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#13 of 93 in Brighton
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Fields

Property: Strawberry Fields
Address: 6-7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strawberry Fields 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy your stay with us here in our warm and friendly Guest-House offering wonderful accommodation in Kemptown, the most vibrant area for B&B in Brighton, our cosmopolitan city by the sea. Strawberry Fields has a fantastic location, sea views from the front and only a couple of minutes walk from The Pier and City Centre with the Conference centre just a short stroll along the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strawberry Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Fields Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing