We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, budget room and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strawberry Fields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strawberry Fields
Ranked #27 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, budget room and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

A great option if you're looking for cheap accommodation in Brighton. The room was basic but clean and had plenty of tea/coffee.

I really liked the strawberry theme that ran throughout and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Would recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hey_Jude337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
'Hey Jude'

What a nice surprise to get your opinion which pin points exactly what we are aiming to deliver.

Spotless, affordable accommodation in an unrivalled location - with sea views to boot...

Thank you for taking the trouble to write.

Until next time
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    128
    38
    24
    19
See reviews for
41
110
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is not a bed and breakfast as you dont get breakfast. It is more like a hostel. If you want somewhere to crash after drinking vast quantities of alcohol you will fit in just fine. Not suitable for couples unless you fit into the previous statement. The bed was the most uncomfortable I had ever slept in. The worst part of our stay was being kept awake by the other residents coming in drunk at all hours of the night and the two people who had very loud conversations under our window while they were being sick. It was a clean room and bathroom though. Will not return.

Room Tip: I am not sure there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here with us. As we have a very central location and are walking distance from the areas night clubs and bars, sometimes some of our guests at the weekend are out late and are inconsiderate on their return. We employ a 'night porter' to ensure that these guests behaviour does not impact on others staying and it is a great shame that you were disturbed by people outside the building on this occasion.
This weekend was a very busy one in Brighton with many young people attending a tattoo convention and is not a 'typical' weekend.
We have very recently bought new beds and have been getting very good feedback about them and we hope we may persuade you to return as our guest and give us another opportunity to improve your view of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to the Brighton tattoo convention and didn't have much money for places to stay.
We stayed in the budget room which is literally a double bed and a sink. The room was very clean with tea making facilities, fresh bedding, free-view TV and the window opens enough for you to stick your head out of and look at sea (room 22). It was a great place to stay and we stayed for 2 nights. There was a shared toilet& shower room which was very clean. Staff were polite and were flexible with our check-in time. Location is great, would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Jade
What a super review and a refreshing view of our very competitive budget rooms.
They are spotless , and though tiny they come with Flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi and a peek at the sea - the perfect weekend at wallet friendly rate!
See you back here soon.
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here over the weekend in Nov/Dec and had a great stay. The room was brilliant; it was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and fantastic shower. The staff were friendly and very helpful in recommending places to eat and go for drink. The location is beautiful and very convenient and is great reason to stay here. It's a stone's throw from the sea-front and really close to all the bars and restaurants and it is situated on a pleasant little public park. Will defintely go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrIanDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for for very kind endorsement of Strawberry Fields.
We are very proud of our location and my team (especially Anna), pride themselves in offering the friendliest service in town.
We often get complimented on the shower pressure, just what you need as a 'wake up' call before exploring all that Brighton has to offer.
With free Wi-Fi, spotless rooms, great location and competitive rates - Strawberry Fields aims to offer outstanding value.
Can we tempt you back for the festival in May - it's a great time to be in town?
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in February and had a great time. Really welcoming and helpful service, upgrading us to a bigger room when we arrived. Seemed quite pricy for you get but I think this might just be Brighton.

Room Tip: No where to park near by but you can park at the marina and then walk or get the bus back to the B&a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are so pleased that you commented on the great service you enjoyed while you were here with us, it is something that we take pride in - we want every guest to feel special and to make the most of their stay here at Strawberry Fields.

Sometimes, when we are able to offer a 'one night' stay on a Saturday (tricky to find at Valentines) there is a small premium which can make it appear pricier than rates for a two night stay. That said, I'm glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and we hope it made your stay special.

Parking in central Brighton can be difficult and thank you for your your tip to guests to head off to the Marina. You might also be pleased to know that as a result of a campaign I waged against the increased charges, these have now been halved for the pay and display bays just outside our door.

See you soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a great weekend stay over at Strawberry Fields - lovely friendly staff (Anna - thank you!), easy 24hour parking nearby and the room was spotlessly clean, heating was on, feisty little shower ensuite. Beds & pillows were clean and comfy. We had Room 12 - 2nd floor off the main stairwell and didn't have any noise disturbance (apart from the severe weather but then we did fall asleep with windows open!), and were glad for the tea/coffee supplies in the morning. Fab little cafes all around for breakfast, loved the nearby nightlife, and just a few minutes walking distance from the town. Would stay again no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynenssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Wow - what a lovely review!

Thank you, we were quite 'blown away' (excuse the pun) by your comments. What a blustery Autumn and Winter it has been, lets all look forward to a sunshiny Spring!

Come back and see us again soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed twice at strawberry fields over the past week and it was excellent on both trips, with friendly service even before arrival. Staff were really accommodating to my arrival times and helpful at all times thereafter. The rooms (one twin and one single) were clean and well provided with tea/coffee and shower gel etc plus good free wifi! The single bedroom had a shower and sink but the toilets were further up the stairs - this was no problem at all as there was never a queue and they were kept pristine! Strawberry fields is in a great location with 3/4 supermarkets nearby and so many cafes to have breakfast in. It is also close to the pier, wheel and a £5 taxi journey from the station. Thank you Strawberry fields, I'll be back when i next visit Brighton!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edinburghdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Danielle

There can be no greater compliment that you staying with us twice and I'm so pleased that we met your expectations.

Do come back again soon - Next spring we will have upgraded beds and Wi-Fi is free throughout the building!

Thanks you
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#18 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#39 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Fields

Property: Strawberry Fields
Address: 6-7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strawberry Fields 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy your stay with us here in our warm and friendly Guest-House offering wonderful accommodation in Kemptown, the most vibrant area for B&B in Brighton, our cosmopolitan city by the sea. Strawberry Fields has a fantastic location, sea views from the front and only a couple of minutes walk from The Pier and City Centre with the Conference centre just a short stroll along the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Strawberry Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Fields Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing