We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made you want to 'stay in'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Una

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Una
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Made you want to 'stay in'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

It was a pleasure to be in the room - and actually it was so lovely that it made going out seem like the wrong thing to do. Quirky and unique rooms, and all of the ones I saw were charming. Attentive service too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PTJukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    167
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
687
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

We spent last night in Hotel Una last night. From the moment we booked the staff were fantastic, even helped me out with an error I made in the booking. The room was stylish, clean and spacious. The bed was so comfortable, one of the best we have. The bathroom was clean and a good size, and we had lovely views over the park and out to the sea. The staff, from the lovely Czech lady who checked us in to Paul, and Coco in the bar, were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. All of the staff provided details on where to visit, good walks to go on, bike riding paths, and great restaurants. I can not recommend Hotel Una more highly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cocowithspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stay in Brighton fairly often, and have done DuVin, Drakes, Thistle and a variety of Kemp Town "boutique" hotels. Money isnt our main issue when we go, more we are interested in the hotel, location, quality of finish, and overall experience as well as value.
We stayed at Una on a Monday, so fairly quiet. The room was great (Quail)We had our own Cinema Room with really good stock of blurays in case we got bored! Our own bar and kitchen area, and seperate lounge. Bath in bedroom, and aircon. Just fab.
It was our wedding anniversary and Koko the Bar man made us ocktails which were great, and advised on Restaurants. Again, after already trying many, his recomendation of "The Coal Shed" was very good. Regency Square has parking underground close to the hotel, and is 5 mins from the shops and 2 mins seafront. We will return next time to this gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blond_e005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
223 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I was really pleased to find the Hotel Una in a town that seems to have a lot of rather bad but still expensive hotels. It certainly merits its top rating. All the staff at Una are totally charming and efficient. The room was as described and very comfortable with a good walk in shower. Cleaning and maintenance seem very good. The decor is quirky and interesting. The location is very convenient - any easy walk to the Lanes or station, right by the sea but away from the crowds on beautiful Regency Square.
They have kept the high ceilings and wooden floors of the attractive old building. The staff are knowledgeable about the many nearby restaurants. The barman makes great cocktails in the rather nice bar overlooking the square. Good breakfast. I was particularly grateful that they managed to accommodate my teenage son who unexpectedly came to join me when the hotel was full. This very much confirmed all my previous positive thoughts - they have a positive and can do attitude. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, they do have two small single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from our first wedding anniversary. The hotel didn't disappoint with a really nice room (Floris). The staff were brilliant, providing recommendations for places to eat, things to go and see and just being really friendly. Breakfasts were really nice with a selection of cooked items as long with a buffet.
Quick tip, have a cocktail from the stylish bar. He mojito's are some of the best I've ever drank!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel Una is an expensive boutique hotel set in one of the lovely Regency squares just off the seafront in Brighton.
It is perfectly placed for a short walk into the town centre, shopping or eating in the Lanes or a trip to the pier! We stayed as it is very close to the Brighton Centre and we were visiting for a concert there.
Having said that it is expensive (there's no getting away from it !) everything from the welcome you receive to the outstanding bedrooms and ambience is worth the price in my book. We stayed in Eden and it was our second visit - we did think about staying in one of the other rooms but had such a lovely stay on or first trip that we booked it again. The hotel website gives an excellent description of each individually designed bedroom and Eden lives up to the description and more. It is much more than just a bedroom because the room height and the sheer size of the room make it feel more like a suite with it's large corner sofa, huge tv and big corner bath shielded by a wooden screen from the room. It has a beautiful full length bay window through which you can climb out onto the tiny balcony and from which you can see the sea.
The only drawback in this room is the tiny ensuite with a toilet and basin which could do with a little more shelving to keep toiletries etc on. but the room is well designed to fit in with the original building. Regency Square has a convenient underground car park which is useful, if costly (£12.50 for 24 hours) but it does mean you can always park right by the hotel which we liked the convenience of.
Breakfast is included and you can have it in your room at no extra cost.
What tops this place off for us, is that the staff are genuinely lovely and welcoming hosts. Nothing is ever too much trouble and they keep a stock of many restaurant menus and are always ready with a recommendation - and they havent let us down yet! They will make you a delicious cocktail or welcome you in the bar for a pre-dinner drink or provide you with one of their 100's of DVD's to watch in your room if you fancy a movie!
We love it here - I have stayed in many lovely hotels over the years and Una is probably my favourite because of the room size, decor, ambience, service and views. Will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Don't do meals other than breakfast at the moment but will give recommendations for whatever typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HackersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I booked this hotel for a one-night break in mid-May for my boyfriend and I to celebrate his birthday. I chose this hotel as wanted something a bit different for a special occasion and was the no. 1 rated hotel on Trip Advisor.
The hotel staff were faultless from enquiry to departure. We were shown to our room door on arrival, given magazines about events going on in Brighton and when asking for restaurant recommendation were provided with a map with places highlighted based on what we wanted. Service was excellent.
Hotel is a converted terraced house on a square on the front. They have successfully managed to retain the character and features of the era whist also incorporating modern furniture, lighting and artwork. Breakfast area was also very nice and relaxing - a nice place to start the day.
All of the rooms are unique and I would suggest visiting their website as there are photos of each room on there to help you choose. I chose Usk which had a separate living area with sofas, tv, dvd player and i pod dock. This area also had a huge free-standing bath and shower cubical with rainforest shower. This was very quirky and bath was lovely but would not be suitable if was sharing with someone other than your partner as no privacy! Downside to this was that the toilet was in a very small room which was quite claustrophobic but was adequate and clean,
Again, bedroom seemed quite small due to large bed but the bed was very comfortable.
Only real criticism I would have is the cleanliness around the bath area. I knocked a shower gel off the back and when I went to pick it up it was disgusting! If I hadn't knocked the bottle off I would never had known as rest of the room was very clean but the bits you don't look at first hand were nowhere near same standard. I found this disappointing as everything else was good.
Location was great for seafront and the shopping areas in the lanes were easily walkable. We used the underground car park under the square which is on the doorstep. Was £12.50 for 24 hours which is very good as parking is limited and expensive in the area.
Breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and delicious.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for something special away from the usual big chains with their standard rooms and service.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the building for a nice view over the garden in the square and views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreakAwayFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Una

Property: Hotel Una
Address: 55-56 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#1 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Una 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly, elegant and fashionable, obsessive with detail. Classy Boutique hotel with the unique combination of contrasting textures, natural woods and contemporary artwork. Situated in Regency Square, with a great view of the West Pier, this chic and exclusive hotel offers you a selection of 20 individually designed en suite rooms including two luxury suites with private Sauna & Jacuzzi, an intimate bar, and an option of massages from a specialist physiotherapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Una reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing