We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with only one flaw”
Review of Hotel Una

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Una
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. I have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the best. It's more of a boutique bed and breakfast really but simply the most wonderful place to stay.
I stayed in Aragon which has its own sauna and whirlpool. The room is very stylish, perhaps a little too much style over substance for some but I really liked it. The bed was huge and comfortable even if it was very low. A shower and toilet up stairs with the sauna, whirlpool and toilet downstairs.
When we first arrived the fuse had blown on the sauna and the hairdryer was missing but one phone call and 5 minutes later and all was fixed.
There is a large HD television with a blueray DVD player so bring your films. If you forget then no matter as Hotel Una has a huge supply that you can lend.
The sauna is excellent and the whirlpool is good with plenty of hot water.
The only flaw I could find was the breakfast. It wasn't very good which is a shame as everything about this Hotel is wonderful. For me this made it a 4 not a 5 star recommendation.
The Hotel is in a Regency Square which had a bad reputation for parking but the car park has been revamped and is now secure.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
I will certainly visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pick a room from the website. They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisB7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Have just returned from another fab stay at hotel una , i cant reccomend this place enough it really is the best in brighton . New cocktail menu in the bar was lovley and a little different old cocktails with a twist briiliant thanks paul and all the team for another great stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Biddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on New Year's Eve 2013 when attending a friend's party in Hove. The hotel is located in Regency Square which is directly opposite the west pier and the buildings look very grand. Upon arrival the welcome was warm and friendly and our booking was exactly as we had arranged. We were shown to our room and shown around and everything was as per the website with a mixture of traditional and contemporary features and furnishings which was all very tasteful. The roll top bath in the middle of the room was a great addition and the walk-in wet room was very funky. We had a drink in the bar before leaving for our party and the service was extremely friendly, efficient and also very informative offering a complex cocktail list. Breakfast the following morning was very good offering a wide choice from full English to basic cerials and fruit juice. It wasn't cheap (£275 for one night) but given the time of year that is understandable and also the room we had was huge! A couple of minor negatives - no real parking available but we were able to leave our car at our friend's house and jump in a cab. Second - the bed was rather strange in that the rectangular mattress sat on top of a large circular plinth which was very easy to trip over as we did on a few occasions (and that was before we went out!). It might be trendy looking but I am not sure what it adds from a practical point of view? Still a great hotel and bar and would thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: We had the Danube room (all rooms are named after rivers as is the hotel) which was very impressive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Easy to concur with all the other good reviews - this hotel has a very relaxing and friendly atmosphere - with 2 perfect rooms (Lossie / Kodori) with a lockable outer door we felt right at home with 2 children in tow. Paul and his team were on hand with suggestions for parking, restaurants, directions and made us feel very welcome. Couldn't resist a sneaky cocktail each night - all were so original and delicious, and the breakfasts were perfect. 2 nights weren't long enough - we will have to return! Thank you to all the wonderful staff at this hotel - you make it very special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busymum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. Stayed in the Flores room which photos cannot do justice too it's stunning. The Jacuzzi tub is a swimming pool you could fit an army in it! The amazing mixologist at the bar was unbelievably knowledgeable and the cocktails were to die for especially all their homemade bits. Breakfast in bed was delicious had a cooked breakfast and eggs Benedict. Being so close to a street of great restaurants we were spoilt for choice but went with the hotels Italian recommendation which was delicious. The room was impeccable, spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished I really didn't want to leave. It's perfect for a couples weekend away definitely not a place for kids!

The staff were delightful I can't wait to go back would be tough to chose which room next!

Room Tip: The Flores room is fabulous with a raised mezzanine for breakfast and a bathroom bigger than my flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alanna1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having visited a number of Brighton’s boutique hotels/B&Bs for over ten years, this is without doubt one of the best.

We took advantage of an out of season off-peak deal, which enabled us to enjoy one of the luxury rooms ‘Danube’, which was absolutely stunning. On the first floor, it has an eclectic style making the most of the gorgeous period features with beautiful large windows overlooking Regency Square.

A freestanding bath in the bedroom and the circular bed platform added to the relaxed & romantic feel, but the biggest draw of all was the sheer size of the room, which always comes at a premium in Brighton!

The staff has a friendly & laid back style with just the right level of helpfulness without being in your face.

The location is excellent as this is a nice quiet end of town, close to Hove but an easy walk to the Lanes and a pleasant 15-minute stroll down the beach to the pier.

The breakfast was very tasty and the fry up was healthy (as it can be!) with good quality ingredients.

Hotel Una offers all the elements you expect from a good Brighton B&B and does it all very well indeed.

Room Tip: Go off peak if you can to get a better room for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DandLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel having made a very last second decision to take a few days off and spend some time in Brighton. I can't fault the staff for anything, despite calling to make the booking for the next day being at around 11pm it was sorted in seconds. Stayed in the Gaula room and as rooms go it was fairly unique (but the same can be said of the entire hotel) and liked it a lot. Very quiet and the bed is very very relaxing slept better than at home with lovely wood floors, bathroom has a bath with a shower. Eggs florentine for breakfast is something I could get used to but I'm not sure I could make as good a job as they did of it. There is an extensive cocktail list and on our first night there were some non residents who had made the short walk up the hill to try some.

Very convenient location in Regency Square and it is just minutes to the beach or shopping, or a restaurant. There is a giant television in the room and it is connected to the wifi so you can watch things on youtube and iPlayer. There is also nice and fast wifi and a television in the bathroom but here there is a problem. The tv is a great idea (and something I'm keen on) except that it is behind you when sitting in the bath, you can't sit the other way as the taps are in the way. I solved the problem with a travel mirror on the side of the bath but hopefuly someone will read this and solve the problem permenantly. There's also a lift!

Visited the old pier (looked at the rusting shell out to sea) and the new one, won a few things in the arcade too. If you're a vegetarian then don't miss Terre à Terre which is simply divine and a welcome change from chips. When it was time to check out they offered to the store bags for the day to allow more sightseeing. Someone asked me if there were plans to go back and stay there and the answer is a big fat yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,959 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#5 of 43 in Brighton
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Una

Address: 55-56 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#1 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £103 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Una 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly, elegant and fashionable, obsessive with detail. Classy Boutique hotel with the unique combination of contrasting textures, natural woods and contemporary artwork. Situated in Regency Square, with a great view of the West Pier, this chic and exclusive hotel offers you a selection of 20 individually designed en suite rooms including two luxury suites with private Sauna & Jacuzzi, an intimate bar, and an option of massages from a specialist physiotherapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Una reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing