We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and welcoming hotel and staff!”
Review of Hotel Una

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Una
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous and welcoming hotel and staff!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family of four stayed here 2 nights in April. The rooms were clean, refreshingly modern and comfortable, and the staff could not have been more welcoming and available. Breakfast in the pleasant dining area was a choice of made to order full meals. The hotel is close to everything, with a view of the sea. We recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    167
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
688
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were really looking forward to our first stay here as it the most recommended place to stay in Brighton and visit Brighton frequently. The staff were excellent, the cocktails exceptional and the bar man really knew his stuff. Breakfast was also excellent and nothing was too much trouble. In fact some bigger hotels locally could benefit from taking note of the customer service at Una
. The location is good, everything within walking distance and a secure but expensive car park very close by.

Negatives. We stayed in Gaula for 2 nights and it is a case of style over practicality, a shelf under the sink in the bathroom would be really useful as we all have bathroom stuff ( the little shelf above the sink needs to be fixed properly into place). The bath could do with being re enameled as it was badly chipped and discoloured, which for the cost of the room I would not expect, this was mentioned in a previous review too. We could not get the TV in the bathroom to work , we did mention this to a member of staff at breakfast after the first night, who said she would look into it but no joy. Previous reviews mention the noise from the floorboards and creaky stairs ( our room is next to the stairs) which was a problem and woke us up several times. Our own floorboards were also very creaky.

We would definitely stay again but not in this room.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the creaky stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curiosity9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic weekend at the Una, just spent 3 days at the Una for Biddy's birthday weekend and as normal the owners and staff made it feel like home from home, had a great time in Brighton just mins from the sea, shops and the pie. Thank you and see you again soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel Una made a fantastic night out for us to celebrate a combined birthday/ engagement weekend. We had the "Lossie" room which was super clean and although front facing was not at all noisy due to the location of the hotel. We also enjoyed having the bathtub in the room, and there were several little touches we weren't aware of which made it better: complimentary water, bathrobes, collection of DVDs to borrow, option for breakfast in bed...only small things but they all combine to make a stay more special.
When we arrived the owner was standing on the doorstep which gave it a very homely feel and the service we received from start to finish was 5 star.
Also, the cocktails in the bar were all unique to the hotel as they had been devised by the hotel's bartender and they were great!
We didn't want to leave! Will definitely be back. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this hotel by accident, but what a great find. This is a quirky hotel tucked away in Regency Square. There's no getting away from the high end price, but, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. We took a suite that had a sauna and jacuzzi, took full advantage of both, and they were fabulous. The lighting of both the hotel and the suite was conducive to relax, with lots of nice dėcor. The staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, and they enhanced the whole experience. Food was excellent, both breakfast and Tapas, though the latter is only available Fri/Sat evenings. Lovely cocktail bar, good well stocked bar. Although the hotel has no parking, there's a car park under Regency Square that couldn't be any closer, and is very secure. Cost us £30 to park there over the course of our two night stay. The only slight criticism was that some features were a little impractical: the kettle was hard to fill as it would fit under the tap, and the tea/coffee making facilities were only accessible by climbing on and over the leather sofa! However, these minor gripes didn't detract from our enjoyment. Would happily stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coulsdon, surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in Berlize suite. Jacuzzi, sauna, smart TV, fantastic bed linen,expresso machine, (I love my coffees), a truly great relaxing stay. Friendly owners, there if you want or need them. Best cooked breakfast we've ever had (have tried and stayed in a fair few hotels). Gorgeous cocktails ended our perfect evening, (a new trial one I called Sicilian bite, sharp, tasty, lemony, just perfect, considering I'm not a fan of cocktails, so he asked what my likes/dislikes were and made this spot on one)
No idea how much it is to stay, as room paid for by our son as birthday treat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank needed-a-holiday-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Right from browsing their website, through phoning to make a booking and reluctantly leaving today, this hotel is excellent. A lovely Georgian building overlooking Regency Square, The Una is cool and quirky. But only quirky in a great way. We stayed in the Eden room - super-king bed, comfy sofas, whacky bath and lovely views. The hotel had already emailed us a list of suggested restaurants, and having returned after dinner, we hit the cocktail bar. This is fun and actually, good value. Breakfast is sublime. Croissants still warm, freshly squeezed orange juice, strong coffee and the best quality ingredients for a full English breakfast.
All of the staff are kind, helpful, attentive and fun. We had such a lovely time.

Room Tip: every room is a different character. Do use the website to see what you might like. Those facing Reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Una

Property: Hotel Una
Address: 55-56 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brighton
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Una 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly, elegant and fashionable, obsessive with detail. Classy Boutique hotel with the unique combination of contrasting textures, natural woods and contemporary artwork. Situated in Regency Square, with a great view of the West Pier, this chic and exclusive hotel offers you a selection of 20 individually designed en suite rooms including two luxury suites with private Sauna & Jacuzzi, an intimate bar, and an option of massages from a specialist physiotherapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Una reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing