We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on a picturesque square at the seafront”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Una

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Una
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel on a picturesque square at the seafront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here with 2 other friends for a girls weekend in Brighton. We stayed in Patea (or something like that) which has two interconnecting rooms - would also be ideal for families. It was a great experience. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful - recommending places to eat, booking taxis etc. There is a lovely bar area and we were served amazing cocktails by their cocktail waitress. She made me and my friend (who are pregnant) the best mocktails we've ever tasted - it was an unexpected but welcome surprise. The breakfast was lovely. On top of this the hotel was well located, tastefully decorated and clean. I'd highly recommend Hotel Una.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtaschler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    167
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
687
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in the Danube Room for our anniversary and loved it. It's a great boutique hotel, beautifully decorated, quirky and modern but unique. Our room overlooked the square with sea views.

We had a full breakfast delivered to our room which was scrumptious.

The location is perfect for the bars, restaurants and the lanes with a secure car park opposite, reasonably priced for Brighton.

It's a little pricey but would most definitely recommend this hotel for that special occasion. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne77Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from a weekend in Brighton staying at the hotel Una. We stayed in the room Flores, the fact that each of the rooms is very individual was a real draw and ultimately what makes this hotel well worth staying at. The room was at the back of the hotel so there was no road noise which is one of my main criteria for a good hotel room. If you are staying in this room the doorway is very narrow and you might mistake it for an airing cupboard. However, once you get inside it is like the tardis and there is plenty of room. The bathroom is an experience in a good way, although I never actually got to try to the jacuzzi bath, maybe next time. The staff were excellent although there did seem to be an awful lot of them for a boutique hotel. The bar was nice for a night cap and always quiet, the only reason I mention this is that Flores is located directly above the bar but this did not cause us any problems as we were usually the last to go to bed.
Breakfast was very nice but I felt a bit limited although the option to have it delivered to the room was lovely.
I found the lift a bit of a challenge as it is very small and felt a bit like being in a coffin to me! As we were on the first floor the stairs worked fine for me.
The room did have one draw back for me and that was the window dressing. There were shutters on the window which worked well but there was rather a large opening at the bottom of the shutters which let a lot of light in, personally I love a really dark room when I'm sleeping so it resulted in early starts which I would have preferred to do without.
From a location perspective I thought that it was close enough to all the major areas of Brighton. It was about a 10 minute walk to the laines and 2 minutes to the seafront.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely.
Why? The staff, the boutique style and the bathroom products
Would I change anything? Shutters in Flores, more selection for breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family of four stayed here 2 nights in April. The rooms were clean, refreshingly modern and comfortable, and the staff could not have been more welcoming and available. Breakfast in the pleasant dining area was a choice of made to order full meals. The hotel is close to everything, with a view of the sea. We recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were really looking forward to our first stay here as it the most recommended place to stay in Brighton and visit Brighton frequently. The staff were excellent, the cocktails exceptional and the bar man really knew his stuff. Breakfast was also excellent and nothing was too much trouble. In fact some bigger hotels locally could benefit from taking note of the customer service at Una
. The location is good, everything within walking distance and a secure but expensive car park very close by.

Negatives. We stayed in Gaula for 2 nights and it is a case of style over practicality, a shelf under the sink in the bathroom would be really useful as we all have bathroom stuff ( the little shelf above the sink needs to be fixed properly into place). The bath could do with being re enameled as it was badly chipped and discoloured, which for the cost of the room I would not expect, this was mentioned in a previous review too. We could not get the TV in the bathroom to work , we did mention this to a member of staff at breakfast after the first night, who said she would look into it but no joy. Previous reviews mention the noise from the floorboards and creaky stairs ( our room is next to the stairs) which was a problem and woke us up several times. Our own floorboards were also very creaky.

We would definitely stay again but not in this room.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the creaky stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curiosity9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic weekend at the Una, just spent 3 days at the Una for Biddy's birthday weekend and as normal the owners and staff made it feel like home from home, had a great time in Brighton just mins from the sea, shops and the pie. Thank you and see you again soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel Una made a fantastic night out for us to celebrate a combined birthday/ engagement weekend. We had the "Lossie" room which was super clean and although front facing was not at all noisy due to the location of the hotel. We also enjoyed having the bathtub in the room, and there were several little touches we weren't aware of which made it better: complimentary water, bathrobes, collection of DVDs to borrow, option for breakfast in bed...only small things but they all combine to make a stay more special.
When we arrived the owner was standing on the doorstep which gave it a very homely feel and the service we received from start to finish was 5 star.
Also, the cocktails in the bar were all unique to the hotel as they had been devised by the hotel's bartender and they were great!
We didn't want to leave! Will definitely be back. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Una

Property: Hotel Una
Address: 55-56 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#1 Family Hotel in Brighton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Una 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly, elegant and fashionable, obsessive with detail. Classy Boutique hotel with the unique combination of contrasting textures, natural woods and contemporary artwork. Situated in Regency Square, with a great view of the West Pier, this chic and exclusive hotel offers you a selection of 20 individually designed en suite rooms including two luxury suites with private Sauna & Jacuzzi, an intimate bar, and an option of massages from a specialist physiotherapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Una reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing