We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and sophistication”
Review of Hotel Una

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Una
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm and sophistication”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I am a regular visitor to Brighton and stayed at the Hotel Una following a recommendation from a friend and her husband who had stayed there the previous year. Una stands out in Regency Square as a hotel which cares about its well-deserved ranking. Inside, the traditional is mixed with the modern but in a very tasteful way, with wooden floors, comfy bar/lounge seating, striking artwork and even the breakfast room natural wood furniture was beautiful. As for the breakfast, it is clear they use top quality ingredients, cooked well and servings are very generous together with choices to suit all requirements. The service received from the staff was excellent, they were attentive, knowledgeable, friendly and made my stay a pleasure! The location was perfect for getting into town for shopping and seconds from the sea front, and for car drivers directly opposite Regency Square car park an added bonus!

Room Tip: I stayed within the Kidori room which is for single occupancy. It overlooked the green lawns and sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATS_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    168
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
691
37
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I can highly recommend the Una in Regency Square. We stayed there on Saturday night in the Danube room, this room has a small balcony which we spent the afternoon on sitting in the glorious sunshine with a sea view. The staff were excellent, especially Ben, who made the most gorgeous cocktails (try the Brass Monkey!!) the Danube room was amazing with a floor bed, shower and separate toilet. We also had a large leather sofa in the room. Plus a huge TV. Sunday morning we had a delicious breakfast. Overall this hotel is one to checkout if you're planning a trip to Brighton.

Room Tip: Danube room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Trying to find a hotel with character gets more difficult as the chains take over - a bit like coffee shops really. Hotel Una, however, has all the hallmarks of an independent; great staff and service and just a bit 'different' in a really good way.

From the well appointed room to the classy breakfast, attention to detail shone through. The high point? Ben's great cocktails (and what a great guy too). No low points to mention. Oh, and Parking, usually a nightmare in Brighton, was right on the doorstep (paid, but just deal with it rather that then obsess with finding a hotel that has it). We will definitely be back...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked one night in the Eden room.
Hotel is ideally located 1 minute walk from the beach and 10minutes walk from the station.

The barman is always keen on giving tips and recommendations and even made us sample some good liquors. Really friendly staff.

Room was beautiful, airy, spacious and really clean. Breakfast in bed was delicious.
No wonder it ranks number one on Trip Advisor for hotels in Brighton. A real gem.

Advice if your first time in Brighton. Go get a fish & chips at Bardsley's. The best fish and chips shop in Brighton!

Room Tip: Pick the Eden room. It has a balcony, beautiful bath and high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duplessisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here with 2 other friends for a girls weekend in Brighton. We stayed in Patea (or something like that) which has two interconnecting rooms - would also be ideal for families. It was a great experience. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful - recommending places to eat, booking taxis etc. There is a lovely bar area and we were served amazing cocktails by their cocktail waitress. She made me and my friend (who are pregnant) the best mocktails we've ever tasted - it was an unexpected but welcome surprise. The breakfast was lovely. On top of this the hotel was well located, tastefully decorated and clean. I'd highly recommend Hotel Una.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtaschler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in the Danube Room for our anniversary and loved it. It's a great boutique hotel, beautifully decorated, quirky and modern but unique. Our room overlooked the square with sea views.

We had a full breakfast delivered to our room which was scrumptious.

The location is perfect for the bars, restaurants and the lanes with a secure car park opposite, reasonably priced for Brighton.

It's a little pricey but would most definitely recommend this hotel for that special occasion. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne77Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from a weekend in Brighton staying at the hotel Una. We stayed in the room Flores, the fact that each of the rooms is very individual was a real draw and ultimately what makes this hotel well worth staying at. The room was at the back of the hotel so there was no road noise which is one of my main criteria for a good hotel room. If you are staying in this room the doorway is very narrow and you might mistake it for an airing cupboard. However, once you get inside it is like the tardis and there is plenty of room. The bathroom is an experience in a good way, although I never actually got to try to the jacuzzi bath, maybe next time. The staff were excellent although there did seem to be an awful lot of them for a boutique hotel. The bar was nice for a night cap and always quiet, the only reason I mention this is that Flores is located directly above the bar but this did not cause us any problems as we were usually the last to go to bed.
Breakfast was very nice but I felt a bit limited although the option to have it delivered to the room was lovely.
I found the lift a bit of a challenge as it is very small and felt a bit like being in a coffin to me! As we were on the first floor the stairs worked fine for me.
The room did have one draw back for me and that was the window dressing. There were shutters on the window which worked well but there was rather a large opening at the bottom of the shutters which let a lot of light in, personally I love a really dark room when I'm sleeping so it resulted in early starts which I would have preferred to do without.
From a location perspective I thought that it was close enough to all the major areas of Brighton. It was about a 10 minute walk to the laines and 2 minutes to the seafront.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely.
Why? The staff, the boutique style and the bathroom products
Would I change anything? Shutters in Flores, more selection for breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Una

Property: Hotel Una
Address: 55-56 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#1 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Una 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly, elegant and fashionable, obsessive with detail. Classy Boutique hotel with the unique combination of contrasting textures, natural woods and contemporary artwork. Situated in Regency Square, with a great view of the West Pier, this chic and exclusive hotel offers you a selection of 20 individually designed en suite rooms including two luxury suites with private Sauna & Jacuzzi, an intimate bar, and an option of massages from a specialist physiotherapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Una reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing