We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our week here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarium Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aquarium Guest House
Ranked #33 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved our week here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Superb room & en-suite, all decorated to a very high specification. We were her for the Labour Conference 2013 and were in easy walking distance of just about everything in the centre of Brighton. The light breakfast bowl in the room suited us as we could eat when we wanted - ideal for the conference and days we stayed on to enjoy the food, shops and attractions. The owner's are really friendly and we will definitely be staying here again next time we are in Brighton. Put it this way, if I ever run a guest house, this is one I would want to emulate.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but smaller.The Thai up the road is superb, as is the Italian restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    29
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
99
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was a great find. We usually stay in hotels, but when we saw the rooms online, we thought we would give this guest house a try. Our room was clean, comfortable, and warm. This place is well located, without being noisy, so had a great nights sleep, while still being central.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Letitia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough; it is spotlessly clean and is central to everything you could want on a trip to Brighton yet quiet enough to ensure a good night's sleep. It is about a fifteen minute walk from the train station, two minutes from the beach and there are pubs, cafes and a Tesco all within the immediate vicinity. The rooms are spacious yet cosy with good quality towels and bedding making it all the more comfortable.We had a very warm welcome from the owners on arrival and a good supply of food and drinks were provided in the room.

Probably the nicest (most definitely the cleanest) small hotel I have ever stayed in and I will stay here on all future trips to Brighton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenbo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good-sized rooms, new, clean and right in the city centre. Complementary breakfast, towels, sheets changed every 2 days.Good heating. No noise.

The owners were very nice and friendly. We arrived quite late at night and they were waiting for us.

Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMG1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Clean, cosy, next to the beach, super market just around the corner, everything perfect!!!!! The owner is super friendly and helpfull with instructions on the whereabouts. Really looking forward on returning here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The guest house was a great place to stop for our first trip to Brighton.

A brilliant central location with easy access to the city centre or the beach, which we were lucky to make use of due to the fab weather we had on our stay.

We stayed for four nights and found the room extremely comfortable, with modern clean decoration. The en-suite was clean and everything was in good working order. The breakfast basket was a really nice touch.

The owners, Helen and Scott, were really friendly and attentive, telling us about the local area.

We would highly recommend this guest house

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Me and my sister stopped here for a two night weekend and were very pleased with the guest house. The Location is excellent, about 3mins away from the sea front and 10mins away from the coach station. Which was convenient as we travelled by coach, so it meant not having to travel too far with our bags.The guest house also gives you the option to store your bags when checking out. Once arrived we were greeted by the owner, who was friendly and came across approachable and welcoming. He showed us to our room and offered to help with bags. The room was upgraded free of charge (which was a nice surprise). The room was a spacious size, fresh and clean, with a table and chair by the window. The view from the window was nice, the Brighton wheel and sea. The breakfast basket was a little disappointing, however met the needs. I would maybe recommend mini cereal boxes and a small milk in the fridge as I we did run out or individual wrapped croissant. The bathroom was also a good size, clean and complete with towels, mini shampoo and shower gel. However there was no hocks or shelves to put clothes on. At the end of the stay we were even given a free copy of the owners book, which was a nice gesture.

I would definitely stop here again and recommend to couples, small groups of family and friends that visiting Brighton for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
The Griffin Guest House
The Griffin Guest House
#21 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Pier Guest House
Grand Pier Guest House
#36 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#3 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#53 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#57 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium Guest House

Property: Aquarium Guest House
Address: 13 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquarium Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Attractive property, appealing en-suite rooms. Furniture and fittings are of very good quality, with cleanliness remaining a keynote throughout, all looks pristine" - AA Inspection Report 2008. Contemporary and stylish Wi-Fi enabled Guest House located in fashionable 'Kemp Town' close to seafront and city centre. Fully en suite with 6ft wide beds and oblique sea views from some bedrooms. Flat screen TVs with digital freeview. Complimentary tea and coffee. Non-Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquarium Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing