We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab roast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sidewinder

The Sidewinder
Ranked #380 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sidewinder is a fantastic pub, situated in the heart of Brighton's bohemian Kemptown. Independent Mexican street food wizards Smokin' Gringos work from the kitchen to produce fresh food jam packed with flavour, and Sundays see us relaxing with a traditional roast and a 'build your own bloody mary' bar. Evenings are friendly and lively, with some of the best DJs in town joining us at the weekends. The pub is also home to two huge beer gardens for when the sun puts his hat on -and they're heated for the days he's not playing ball
1 review
“Fab roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great roast and friendly staff! Used to come here a while ago but went down hill. Now it's changed hands again it's a lot better, good atmosphere, nice food and friendly staff. We will be coming back especially for the roasts

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    13
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nick's 40th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was at Nick's 40th last Saturday and will have to agree with him that it was a most excellent night had by all.Great service and really happy staff all night thank you so much SIDEWINDER. Also I lost my glasses ( yes bit too much drink ) and went in next day and they had them neatly stored away waiting for me....cheers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best in Brighton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing Sunday roast, can't believe gorgeous the good was, and such good value. Lovely staff and a brilliant afternoon all round. Highly recommended for a long Sunday afternoon of eating and drinking in a really friendly atmosphere. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Living locally to the Sidewinder I've been on a number of occasions before, however last weekend myself and 2 friends were lucky enough to host a 'significant' birthday with the fantastic team who took over the reins earlier this year.
The delivery was faultless, as it always has been in the past, however with a large, expectant turnout it was more impressive than ever. Matt served up some Smokin' Gringo classics (best Mexican in Brighton, believe!) whilst Jess and all the team behind the bar (not forgetting Spencer on the door!) were nothing short of otherworldly! Big thanks to you all for making such a tricky celebration (turning 20 ain't easy you know - it's just the beard that makes me look 40, honest) such a fantastic experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nick-selective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I really love Mexican and the place this pub gets its food from in the lanes is great so I was looking forward to having on our doorstep. Unfortunately, despite us all enjoying the food this pub is still as terrible as ever. It still so dated, the service is bad and my drink tasted mouldy (I did not finish it. We won't bother again for a while - we just wish there were more options locally!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworldnback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishrose85, General Manager at The Sidewinder, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi,
I'm so sorry to hear you found the service and drinks on your visit not up to standard. We are continually training and refreshing staff on all aspects of the job, and when we fall short it's great to know what we can do to improve. If you'd care to drop us an email to sidewinder@drinkinbrighton.co.uk we'd love to have some more details about your visit, and send you out a voucher to return for another visit where we can provide friendly service we pride ourselves on.
Thanks,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sidewinder also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Sidewinder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing