We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely laid back place for a beer and a meal”
Review of Alcampo Lounge

Alcampo Lounge
Ranked #451 of 1,196 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Alcampo Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Went to Alcampo with my daughter and her boyfriend, first experience of a Lounge though I gather there's one near where I live, so I'll give that a go sometime! Immediately loved the decor, looks like all the things we see at auctions, very eclectic - I even commented on Facebook that I wondered if the Circus sign behind the bar had come from Drew Pritchards salvage place, and then saw on the website that it had!

We had a meal and drinks, drinks were fine and not ridiculously priced, food was very good. My burger was one of the best I've ever had, obviously homemade, very beefy, pink in the middle, tasty accompaniments. Good size portion of chips. The special pork belly was said to be good too, two big hunks of tender pork.

Atmosphere was good, music not too intrusive, and loved having the board games to play!

Service was good, friendly, food took a little time to come but was worth the wait. I would be a bit worried about coming here if it was really busy, though, as the tiny bar doesn't look like it would cope with a full house!

I'm not local to Brighton but will definitely come here again next time I'm in town, and will check out the Witney one too as it's closer to home!

Thank chelseagirl_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Chelseagirl_bc,
Thanks so much for your review. Really happy to hear that you really enjoyed your first Lounge experience and that my team looked after you. Sounds like what we offer is what you're after so please do go check out our brand new sister lounge in Witney as I'm sure you'll be as equally looked after there.
Make sure you come back in to see us next time you venture down to the coast and thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited here with a friend Friday night, London road (the street this is on) is on the up but still a bit grim so wasn't expecting much. First expressions, really interesting cool, décor, light and airy not over stuffed with tables. Greeted by friendly bar staff, delicious sherbet lemonade (was driving). We chose to sit at the sofas which were comfortable. Ordered some 6 Tapas plates which arrived in good time along with a glass of wine and beer each. Cutlery delivered, food served in good time and it was really tasty and service with a smile. The atmosphere was welcoming and we will certainly be returning and making this a definite regular visit as our office is a 10 minute walk away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foooooood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi LucieJuicy,
Thank you so much for your great review! Very happy to hear that your maiden visit to us was an enjoyable one (as it should be!) and that you will be back to see us again soon. If you need to reserve any tables for you and your work colleagues in the future then please give us a ring. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The refit and the use of the space is brilliant. Great decor and it is HUGE inside.
The service - bit rubbish. Smiley at the bar just about but get orders wrong and spill coffees, don't give cutlery, etc. Need some training.
The food - this is a chain remember and I guess they replicate what they make elsewhere but there's just a bit too much. Gordon Ramsay would cull half the stuff. Reasonable steak sandwich. Breakfast - very average... Smallish portions.
I'm worried it's not going to do so well because it's a definite plus for London Road. Needs to raise it's game somehow and I don't think there's enough individuality in a chain bar to do that. At present the World's End opposite and the Hare and Hounds down the road smashes it for atmosphere, food and drinks. Which is a shame as the space is SO good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank worthyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi Worthyness,
Thanks for taking the time in leaving us such an indepth review. Your valid points have been taken on board and we will look to address the area's that we can. As for the menu it offers a large variety to try and cater for every type of appetite and dietary requirements which is a plus for most of our customers. We are also a family friendly venue, not a late night "party" venue so we have to be considerate to all of our customers needs and wants in terms of music levels and we are happy to share the London Road vistors with our neighbours so we can all benefit. Hope we will be seeing you again in the near future as the more you visit, hopefully the more you will believe in what our lounge is all about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Loved this place and ate there twice. The staff were very friendly and no complaints at all. The decor inside is so interesting, something to see at every point. The venue is quite large and could easily accommodate larger parties. Drinks -alcoholic and non. Fairly broad menu, teas, coffees. Tasty breakfasts.

Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi ScottD,
Sounds like we have a new lounge regular on our hands?? Really happy to hear you enjoyed your visits and love what we've done with the place. Look out for our sister lounges down in your neck of the woods and we look forward to seeing you again here at Alcampo.
Thanks for taking the time in leaving us your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We came here today for a late lunch are are local to the area.

It was a 45 minute wait for food and the bar staff seemed really rushed having to take orders, pour drinks and make elaborate cocktails which added to the queue.

Queue was worth it though burgers were great (we had the hero and rib burger) although chips a bit on the stingy side.

Atmosphere is great really relaxing, nice chilled music and great decor.

Wine choice is nice and good beers on tap. Will come again and glad this is brightening up the old blockbuster on London Road!

Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi AuditMunki,
Thanks for taking the time in leaving us your review. So happy to read you enjoyed your visit and will be returning to see us again. Sorry about the wait that you had on this particular visit. It was down to some last minute staffing issues on the day. We have worked very hard on reducing wait times both at the bar and for food but some days in this business we work in it doesn't happen!
We look forward to seeing you again.
P.S next time ask for a few more chips we'll be happy to oblige!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcampo Lounge also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Alcampo Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing