We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of George IV

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George IV
Ranked #68 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Very good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Placed between Brightons food, culture areas and city center, the George offered good value for money rooms. Good maps available, the only neg being no full breakfast, but this was reflected in the price. Various continental breakfast were available, I would use the George again, very clean.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmc1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
81
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Having read other people's reviews we were expecting something special, and sadly were underwhelmed at first - our room was tiny, and whilst there were two trendy lampshades it was otherwise very utilitarian. We'd expected something edgy and "different". Perhaps if we'd paid £115 for a balcony room with a sea view (instead of £72 for a room overlooking the back yard) we may have felt differently. However, we'd only come for one night, and just needed a crash pad, for which it was perfect. Excellent location, incredibly clean, pleasant hosts, cool free jukebox in the reception area. It's good, I'd recommend it, and would go again - but it isn't "extraordinary".

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda66611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed 1 night with my daughter in the basic double room, small but very comfortably furnished and cosy. Very friendly hosts and one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in! Bathroom looked as new. Breakfast in the room on an old fashioned wooden trolley was a nice touch and delicious. . Great location being just off the seafront and a short walk from the pier. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed in balcony room 1 night. Lovely, clean and spacious with very comfy bed. Car park across the street. Easy walk to Brighton Pier, restaurants, shopping and the Royal Pavilion.
Friendly hosts. We had to leave early so didn't sample the breakfasts, but they sounded very good.

Room Tip: Loved the balcony room and the view is great--down the sloping Regency Square to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our room was very clean and the bed really comfortable. We also enjoyed the special shower gel and body lotion provided in the bathroom, as well as the tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the Wifi access.
Particularly however, we were pleased with the friendliness of the owners, for example with the assistance with our luggage. We had lots of bags to accommodate for our one-night stay due to a move and were offered to store it in a safe place to give us more space in our room. They even helped us carrying! Thank you for a great stay, we will recommend you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed 1 night in the Balcony room, wish it could have been longer! Lovely clean room, very comfy bed. Great spot & very friendly & accommodating hosts. Would definitely recommend & hope to return again some time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Made to feel welcome by owners Sue and Steve immediately on arrival, Steve insisting on helping with luggage and golf clubs.
Room was very clean with an incredibly comfortable bed, which enabled me to sleep very soundly indeed.
Hotel is set in a peaceful square with an underground car park close by, as is the excellent Regency fish restaurant.
Centre of Brighton is an easy ten minute stroll away along the seafront.
The George 1V will be my hotel of choice when visiting Brighton in the future and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Topps
Topps
#28 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,892 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Adelaide House
Adelaide House
#80 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV

Property: George IV
Address: 34 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Period townhouse offering fantastic sea views across one of Brighton's finest squares. The atmosphere is friendly and informal and we are perfectly located in central Brighton. There are wonderful sea-view rooms, all beautifully decorated and extremely spacious, including a balcony room which takes everyone's breath away. The AA made a point of complimenting our housekeeping recently so the rooms are pretty spotless, and we're a smoke-free zone. Underground car park across the road. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing