We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Griffin Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Una(Brighton)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Granville Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Blanch House(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pelirocco(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$198
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
392
31
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
31
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhirlpool bathbiscuitskieran chrisb bfour poster bedtea and coffeelovely hostsconservatory areamince piesmy partneron arrivallovely guesthouseshort walkfresh fruitwouldn't stay anywhere elseeach morninglovely touch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Dearest Kieran and Chris, I cannot thank you enough for what you did for mum and of course me. You treated my mum just like your mammy and your very generous nature allowed her to feel like she was at home. You welcomed other family members as well. I just loved your breakfasts( including the fruit) as did mum love Chris's Special Reserve marmalade. Thanks for the help with info re hire car, Stonehenge and my quick jaunt to the Ace Café in London. All hours access to the sunroom for snacks and drinks was excellent.Just remember you are in Brighton, so alarm clock unnecessary as the seagulls will make noise on cue. But Kieran and Chris have a remedy for that to!! Different coloured ear plugs. Well done boys Lots of hugs Jesse and Kathleen

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent stay in this little boutique hotel.
Clean rooms clean linen tea and coffee and an excellent location.Breakfast was extremely good.
And its almost next to a really good pub so the lack of a licence is no problem!.
I have paid double what we paid here and been satisfied. For the money this is an excellent place to stay...rooms are small but excellently equiped.

Room Tip: no lift so top floor is quite a walk, but they are quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dollysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Arrived early evening after a long day. Received a warm welcome and help with my luggage up to room 6. En route was shown the lovely seating area where you could help yourself to hot drinks, biscuits and fresh fruit. A very nice touch. My room was number 6 and had a comfortable four poster bed. There was chocolate on the bed to greet me, which is never a bad thing in my opinion! The room was clean, but I do agree with another review I have read that it could do with a deep clean and better attention to detail in the cleaning department. The shower had long hairs in - definitely not mine! There is a pub opposite The Griffin which appears to be popular all week round. I settled down to sleep by 1030 but couldn't because of the noise in the street from the pub. I realise that many people visiting Brighton will be very happy to be part of the noise, so this won't be an issue at all. I always travel with ear plugs (just in case) and they came in handy. Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice, freshly cooked and served quickly and with a smile. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Chris and Kieran are warm, welcoming and friendly hosts and from the moment we arrived we felt like a part of the family. My husband and I were celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary and booked room 8 at the very top. We were greeted with a wonderful room with beautiful paintings and fabric wall hangings all done by local artists. The heart shaped towels and chocolate on the bed were a lovely touch and just added to making us feel special. We were given a front door key so we could come and go as we pleased which is nice as there's no curfew to worry about! When we got in after visiting friends at a local pub we climbed into the most luxurious bed, all fresh cotton sheets and soft downy duvet and fell fast asleep completely forgetting to put in our earplugs (they're in the refreshment room next to the tea and coffee making facilities, btw) The seagulls reminded us that we had forgotten at about 4am! Breakfast was stunning! Cooked to perfection with a lovely twist and wonderfully presented. Mark was a very attentive waiter and extremely charming. After breakfast we were able to spend the rest of the morning in the room before 12 noon book out and made use of the jacuzzi bath watching episodes of kojak on the tv, utter bliss and very decadent. All in all, I can't rate the Griffin highly enough. The atmosphere, sophisticated decor and classy surroundings make you feel like your a part of something very special. Well done guys and a massive thank you to you all for an incredibly and absolutely,. wonderful stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berol33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. Chris & Keiran were great, going out of their way to settle us in, even helping us find parking which can b challenging in this busy, seaside town. Bed was so comfortable. We slept great. Breakfast was really good and i was surprised there were several choices. Location is terrific. Short walk to beach, The Lanes. We loved staying here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews