We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Griffin Guest House
Ranked #22 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Firstly, apologies guys for the lateness of the review, but I guess better late..etc...Stayed here end of May 2014 and have to say it was a top choice. Great location, nice, clean, comfortable room and has been mentioned many many times fabulous breakfast. The complimentary coffee and biscuits was a great touch too. Will be back I'm sure. Many thanks chaps.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for The Griffin Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from 5 fabulous nights in Brighton staying at the Griffin. We had the top floor room (lots of stairs so not for the unfit) with the bath in the bedroom which was a quirky touch. The bed was fabulous too! The weather was amazing which made our stay all the better and our hosts were very welcoming, offering us a nice bottle of wine on one occasion where we had to wait 5 minutes for breakfast, which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was a great experience with a good menu to choose from, all meals are served with an interesting twist! There is free tea, coffee, fruit and biscuits at any time, which is nice, served in a little lounge area on the first floor and which leads to an outdoor terrace. The terrace itself could be tidied up a little as it is a bit overgrown and whilst not particularly offering a good outlook, which is not the Griffins fault due to other surrounding properties, the terrace itself could be more inviting rather than just being a place for smokers to use. The location is great! We spent most of the week in Brighton, but took the train to Arundel and a local bus to Lewes, both well worth a visit. Overall a great stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend at the end of May for 3 nights. We were delighted to find that the guest house exceeded our expectations, which were high in the first place after reading previous reviews! The owners were very helpful and welcoming from the moment we arrived to when we left, letting us leave our bags in the dining area on our last day before we had to catch the train home. The bed was extremely comfortable and was well presented and decorated, as was the rest of the room. The breakfasts were our favorite part as we often said how people would pay a lot of money for such delicious and interesting combinations. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone considering staying in Brighton

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 on the top floor, we loved it but if you're not happy to walk up a lot of stair...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack_R_R94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

excellent location. beautiful room. wonderful breakfast!! the hotel is not licenced but your room has a fridge so take your own!! we will be back!! we could not fault the service and the owners are very helpful!! a very nice little balcony to sit an dhave a drink too!!

Room Tip: not top floor its a long walk up those stairs!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my sister and we really loved it. The owners are so friendly and helpful and endeared themselves to us by referring to us (over 60 yr olds) as 'girls'.
The room was smallish but very comfortable and our only complaint was that it was far too hot. If we opened the window it was rather noisy (people, pigeons and seagulls) and if we used the fan that too was noisy. But it was well equiped, clean and modern. We were on the first floor (room 5) which was right by the coffee making machine (coffee/tea/ biscuits, fruit all available freely 24/7) which led to a lovely balcony with seating for about 6 and lots of wonderful plants.
But THE most amazing thing is the breakfast - there is everything on the menu and they will adjust anything to your requirements. You won't be needing any lunch!
We both hope to return asap.

Room Tip: First floor if you like sitting out on the balcony. Higher floors - beware - no lift.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teens_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My daughter and I spent three nights at the Griffin Guest house. We had the "suite" on the ground floor at the back of the property. This suited us very well as the suite had two bedrooms, each with a double bed (one room larger than the other but both comfortable) , and a shower room to share. The rooms were very clean with good bed linen and pleasant furnishings. We were at the back of the property were not disturbed by any noise even though it was a holiday weekend. As others have already said the owners were helpful and friendly at all times. It was helpful to leave our luggage there on our last day and we were welcome to make ourselves hot drinks and to use the conservatory before our return home. Breakfasts were very good - especially for those who enjoy a cooked breakfast. This is not usually my choice but I particularly enjoyed the mushrooms and tomatoes on toast - this was really delicious, and so much better than it sounds. Excellent location. We shall return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diannuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the matson this week, there is no cell service there which adds to the experience! A great getaway for couples! For breakfast we had amazing coffee and amazing eggs bacon and fresh fruit. The view was astounding! Much nicer then any other bed and breakfast I have been to.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Guest House

Address: 14 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £81 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griffin is a Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Brighton. The Griffin Guest House is a few yards from St. James Street, and also just off the seafront, you can be on the Pier in less than two minutes. The Griffin has undergone a thorough renovation in recent times and offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1760, the hotel has nine rooms, each with its own en suite Whirlpool bath or shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Griffin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing