We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place, great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Regency Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Bathroom
Bathroom
View
Fire place
Dining Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
Trail6884...
1 review
“great place, great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location is perfect, with a view on the sea front, and 5 min walking from the center and shopping places in Brighton.
The appartment is suitable for two, very confortable, well decorated and fully equipped.
A great place to spend a perfect break in Brighton and south Sussex.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you Jean-Claude! I'm really glad you enjoyed the place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay in Brighton.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We have since replaced the bin and regarding the escutcheons which didn't fully cover the keyholes; we spent three days cutting out squares in both sides of the door around the two locks, then making wooden pieces to fit into the new square holes perfectly, gluing those in, then drilling new circular holes for the keys to fit through, then sanding, priming and painting it all. The escutcheons fit perfectly now.

Thank you

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lynn G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good Brighton apartment.”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The apartment was in a good position close to all the main attractions.
The apartment was clean and well equipped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Brighton.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelC1
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small for 4 people”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautifully presented flat with inviting kitchen and lovely strong shower. Great location, however 4 adults would not be comfortable here. Would also benefit from extra towels.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: unsuitable for 4 adults as stated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thanks for the review Isabel. Extra towels are in a plastic box under the bed - if only you'd contacted me whilst you were in the property I could have directed you there (or popped down and got them out for you).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious lounge and view from lovely window.
Liked least: Uncomfortable bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Hi Julia

I'm sorry to hear that the mattress isn't to your taste. This is a very expensive top spec Hypnos hotel standard mattress (the same one used in Premier Inn nationwide). All of the other reviews we've had about the mattress have said how good it is.

When myself and my family have stayed there we've always slept very well.

Re-decoration of the hall and stairs including carpets is all paid for and is due to begin shortly. (Persuading and then getting the money out of 8 flats has taken ages but it's now paid for an due to start).

I have asked the maintenance company to increase the strength of the spring on the front door. It should close automatically. This will be fixed this week.

Thank you

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claribell...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“All things Brighton Beautiful - or very nearly...”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely holiday based in this apartment. By far the best feature was the gorgeous sitting room with a view to the sea. A large, light and airy room which was a pleasure to sit in.

The bathroom (excellent shower!) and kitchen were ok and one thing the bedroom had in its favour is that it's at the back of the building, so relatively quiet.

What lets it down is the truly awful communal entrance hall and stairs with a dirty carpet and walls with peeling paint and a sticky hand rail. I know it's not the responsibility of just one owner, but even so it needs sorting! At the moment, I wouldn't recommend staying here just because of the entrance.

It wouldn't take much to make this an amazing apartment - all it needs is a few minor tweaks: like more than 3 forks for 4 people, enough pillows, more than one loo roll, a bathroom cabinet with a door that doesn't stick, cupboard doors that don't bang and drawer handles which don't come off in your hand...
...Flaky wi-fi; I could go on. They are small inconveniences, but they do add up over a week and it does make the experience feel a bit ungenerous.

I'd like to give 3.5 stars as a rating, but the position near the seafront and the beautiful sitting room incline me to be generous, so 4 it is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sitting room
Liked least: Communal hallway, stairs & landing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you for your feedback.

The pillows are very thick and most people didn't like having two each so we put the two extra pillows in the storage compartment in the sofa. I will add that information to the guide and re-print for the next changeover.

The inventory (the document prepared for you to sign when you arrived) shows 6 forks. If there are some missing this will be rectified at the next changeover. I'm sorry about that.

Re: the wifi. We use a top of the line Draytek router because they are utlra reliable. My colleagues and I use these on 19 sites around Brighton and Hove because of their reliability. We also had another Trip Advisor review a month or so ago where a guest commented on how good the internet connection was and we've never had negative feedback about the Internet before. However if there are problems here we will replace the router at the next changeover.

I'm not sure what you mean about the bathroom cabinet. Perhaps you mean the magnetic catch on the small unit above the toilet? Or are you referring to the unit under the sink? I will check this out at the next changeover and resolve.

I'll add locktite to the handles for the drawers in the bedroom. These can work loose despite me tightening them every month or so.

I'm also not sure what you mean about "cupboard doors that bang"? Do you mean they hit each other when you open them?

It's unfortunate that you didn't let us know about these things that you were unhappy with whilst you were in the property. Most of them we could have resolved for you instantly. (When you did have a problem when you first arrived I was there within 10 minutes).

Thank you again for your feedback. We will resolve all of the issues that you mentioned at next changeover.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing