We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on Valentines Day”
Review of Whitburn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitburn Lodge
Ranked #26 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wonderful girlfriend and I stayed at the Whitburn Lodge for Valentines 2014, and it was nothing short of perfection.
Phil & Louise are the nicest couple, both very kind natured folk and owners of a beautiful house. Set back just a hundred metres or so from the beach and in a lovely quiet neighborhood it is also just 10 minutes walk from the Lanes and even closer to Brighton's centre.
The breakfast was ten on ten, with locally sourced sausages that not only tasted great but also satisfied until well after lunch time!
Our bedroom was a cute and cosey number at the top of the house with a beautiful legged bath at the foot of the bed.
Couldn't recommend the Whitburn Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Whitburn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed here on two occasions so far - June 2013 and September 2013 - both times were an absolute pleasure. From the warm friendly greeting, to being remembered the second time round. The knowledge of the area is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble - they are happy to recommend local restaurants and so on if you ask.

The breakfast is fantastic and I believe the lovely bread is homemade.

The rooms are spotless and well stocked with tea/coffee and the wecome addition of hot chocolate which most hotels/b&bs seem to miss plus nice biscuits.

We stayed in room 5 the first time which is small and quirky with the bath in the bedroom (the toilet is en-suite). The second time we had room 1 which is the first floor king size bed and lovely. The pillows and duvet and proper cotton sheets just feel heavenly.

My only complaint and it is very minor is that the second time we went the bowl of sweet by the door in the hall held foxes mints in place of the cadbury's eclairs you had the first time - I am not a lover of mints so was a little sad.

Loved this place and cannot recommend it highly enough... I am currently hinting to my husband that I would like to stay there for my birthday in a few weeks time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A great welcome from the hosts on arrival. A convenient location near the sea and the shopping area. Its only a short walk to the heart of Brighton. A lovely small hotel that is an oasis of calm. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless with all the required amenities. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My girlfriend and I found Whitburn Lodge online and we are so happy that we did! Phil and Louise run a beautiful place in a perfectly situated quiet road just a short stroll away from the centre of Brighton. We stayed for two nights in a very welcoming environment in a lovely room (with a very comfy bed!) and enjoyed their hospitality, local advice and beautiful breakfasts. Thank you both for everything and we will be back for certain.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeason06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Really nice B&B in central Brighton. Louise and Phil made me a perfect vegan breakfast. Super friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend to others.

I got vegan snacks in the room, really appreciated :D

Good venetian blinds to block out sunlight and really comfortable big beds!

Only drawbacks: The wifi only worked in one half of the room, and the room wasn't large (which was totally fine, didn't expect it either).

Room Tip: Don't expect large rooms :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sletmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We could only manage a stay for one night as were visiting friends in the area but wish we could have stayed longer. We had room 1 and it was very clean and comfortable with lovely furnishings.

The breakfast was just delicious too and we were made to feel very welcome.

Would definitely return :-)

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The dictionary definition of "Bijou" is "Small, elegant and tasteful" which is a spot on when describing Whitburn Lodge. Louise and Phil are to be congratulated on their lovely B and B, every detail is perfect. Such was the warmth of welcome and help offered we almost felt as if we were staying with friends even though it was our first visit. Anyone who can cook perfect poached eggs always gets my vote! Stylish decor too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triciatravel930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.0 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#24 of 94 in Brighton
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.9 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Snooze
Snooze
#10 of 94 in Brighton
432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#16 of 94 in Brighton
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#43 of 94 in Brighton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitburn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitburn Lodge

Address: 12 Montpelier Road, Brighton BN1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitburn Lodge Guesthouse, promises to give you a warm welcome and personal service. We have created a warm, friendly and relaxed environment for our guests to enjoy. Whitburn Lodge has light, stylish bedrooms, with modern, architect designed en-suite facilities. Come to relax and unwind in one of our individually designed bedrooms. Located within an easy stroll of all that Brighton and Hove has to offer, we are minutes from the sea front, Brighton's main Conference Centre, boutique shops, restaurants and bars. We look forward to seeing you at Whitburn Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Whitburn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing