We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such lovely Guys - home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #10 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Such lovely Guys - home from home”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in May whilst visiting our daughter in Brighton.
Terry soon sorted us out with parking vouchers ( now 8 pounds for 24 hours) and adivsed us where to park our car.We were able to unload outside and had no difficulties finding spaces on nearby streets within the zone.
Terry and Chris were both lovely guys - making you feel right at home without being intrusive.
Good room size with everything you needed, including bottles or water. Lovely big shower cubicle and kept sparkling clean by Chris. Not disturbed by the sound of seagulls as in previous locations. Only a short walk to the sea front and local shops plus lovely places to eat - and the guys were happy to make helpful suggestions to suit our tastes.
Greeted by a lovely smell of bacon cooking in a morning and not disappointed by the superb, tasty and generous sized breakfast - but you could choose as much or as little as you wished.
We will definately stay here again. Thankyou !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltesered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    59
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
408
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freudenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

What can I say? This is a fantastic place: well located, friendly owners, terrific breakfast, safe, clean, comfortable & you feel like home immediately. A good review doesn't take too many words. Staying at Number 14 is a pleasure. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noctuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I love visiting Brighton, but seem to find it hard to find a decent B&B, maybe I'm fussy - after staying here I won't even bother looking elsewhere as it really made our weekend.

Great Kemptown location, with enough to do in the immediate area (pubs, restaurants, beach at the end of the road), and just a short stroll to the town centre. The hosts made us feel so welcome and they gave us advice on good shopping locations.

Very generous and quality breakfasts, a huge comfortable bed and the house was spotless.

Chris & Terry are great at what they do, we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoPosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Every year for the last 11 we take part in the Mini run and we normally stay at a hotel just outside Brighton but it is now getting a bit tired so this year we fancied a change and booked this B&B for the Sunday night. We arrived on Sunday afternoon to be met by Terry who couldnt be more helpful and friendly, he showed us to our lovely room which was really clean and comfortable with lots of selection of drinks to chose from. The bed was a lovely big, firm kingsize and was the next best nights sleep to my own bed. We purchased a parking voucher for £8 and managed to find a space in the next street but Monday morning we were able to park up right outstide the house and have a morning in town. The Breakfast was fab and even me being picky about what I did and didnt want as part of the full english was no trouble for our hosts. All in all a great find and somewhere we would most definitely recommend and no doubt return to.

Room Tip: We had room 2, if the others were as nice as this one you really wont mind which room you are in. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumpandwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We haven't stayed in a B&B for years but needs must and all that! However I have to say we were pleasantly surprised - these boys could certainly teach some of the big hotel chains a thing or two! We booked 2 nights after reading the reviews online - even booking was a pleasant experience. In easy walking distance of the train station - about 10/15 minutes - and a view of the sea from the front door so perfect location. The day we arrived the weather was a bit miserable but the house was as warm as the welcome. We chose Room 3 from the pictures on the website - yes it was compact but it had everything we needed. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I particularly liked the fact bottled water was included on the refreshment tray. The room was at the back of the house so was really quiet - we heard a little bit of the noise on the Friday night I presume from the pub a little way down the road but it didn't keep us awake. The bathroom had a huge shower and everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom door stuck a bit - sorry forgot to mention at the time guys! but just added to the character of the room. Breakfast was huge - vegetarian option available for us which was great. We managed the full english the first morning but had to downsize the next after a big meal the night before but it still set us up for the day - certainly didn't need lunch! If I was going to be really picky the only negative I can find is that because the downstairs is almost open plan the entrance does hold the cooking smells of the kitchen which is a bit off putting when you first arrive but you soon get used to it and it just feels homely. We had a great couple of days in Brighton and if we were ever to come back would definitely stay again and have already recommended it to friends and family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powell1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We went to Brighton for our first wedding anniversary & found this b&b online 0 after looking at the great reviews on here we decided to go - and were not dissapointed. The b&b was easy to find, and there is on street parking. Chirs & Terry were very lovely to us, explaining about all the parking options & where we could go. We had a room on the first floor & it was very clean. There were nice extra touches like bottles of water in the room to take out with us. We had a lovely day & night out, and the breakfast was wonderful - we decided we couldn't eat a full English after a large meal the night before, so we had scrambled eggs on toast. It felt like nothing was too much trouble for them & they really wanted us to enjoy our stay. I would definately go back if we are in Brighton again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We picked the Bannings at Number 14 in Brighton by chance off the internet. I have to say they could not have made us fell more welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable with eveything you could need. Our hosts could not do enough to help they advised us on parking and even noticed we had brought a bottle of wine to have in our room and offered us wine glasses. The breakfast was also excellent and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#7 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Property: Bannings at Number 14
Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing