We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bannings at Number 14

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #11 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for our first weekend in Brighton and was lucky enough to have booked in with Chris and Terry. They made us feel very welcome right from the start and were very informative about the area and what it had to offer, and by the time we were leaving we felt we'd known them forever. The room was spotlessly clean, airy and comfortable with good tea making facilities. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it, with lots of other choices if the full English wasn't your cup of tea. We had a wonderful weekend and will most definitely stay there again. Rock on Chris and Terry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    59
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
400
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lots of mixed reviews on TA but this one was the most consistent so we chose this for two nights recently. Chris and Terry are great hosts ..... genuine, friendly, helpful but not intrusive. Room was clean and provided all that was needed including Tea & Coffee, TV and a window onto the street for a view and fresh air. Breakfast was generous and cooked to order. Suggestions for dinner and sightseeing very dependable. Like many in Brighton (and throughout the UK) this will mean a series of stairs but there is help with the bags when needed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable weekend in Brighton, made better by staying at number 14. The location was excellent, breakfast amazing and hospitality first class.

Greeted at the door with a welcoming smile and suggestions on what to see.

Room Tip: Only seen one room but it was clean, roomy and had everything you need for a weekend away. Could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We can not fault our stay one bit, we had a wonderful week away. Everywhere was immaculate and beautifully presented. Chris and Terry are the most genuinely wonderful hosts that we have ever met and definitely go the extra mile. Our room had a very personal feel that helped us relax and feel at home. The breakfast…..what can we say other than “totally amazing“! Chris’s "cress" is not to be missed. We will definitely be going back and staying here again….such a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatandDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at Number 14 on a weekend visit to Brighton and were very impressed by the high quality of the room, the renowned breakfast and the friendliness of the owners Chris and Terry.

The location is very convenient, the guesthouse is just off the sea front and walking into the town centre takes around 10 to 15 minutes. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable, also you could just about see the sea from the window which was nice. The hype surrounding the full English breakfast is also well founded! It was genuinely excellent and really hit the spot, especially having had a few drinks the night before.

Overall the trip was made by Terry and Chris who made us feel very welcome and were happy to help with anything we needed, thanks guys! In future we will never again stay at any of the large hotels in the city centre, when we are next in Brighton it would be a pleasure to return to No.14 again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RotherhitheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Not having stayed in Brighton before we booked No 14 due to the rave reviews given. We were staying for 2 nights and from the moment you arrived to the time of saying goodbye you are made to feel most welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The location is perfect for the sights of Brighton whether its the shopping, the beach or the restaurants and bars that have brought you here, even the racecourse is just a little drive away. The accommodation is spotless and very comfortable, cooked brekkie is a must have!!!!! Will defo be going back and Thank - you Chris & Terry for making our weekend one to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Chris and Terry were the perfect host as always,this is a little gem of a place, we would not ever consider staying anywhere else. The rooms are spotless the who place is spotless the breakfast- well. what ever you want,they will try to provide it, cooked perfectly, a fantastic couple that go that extra to make your stay special. BIG BIG thank you to you both. see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#9 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Property: Bannings at Number 14
Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing