We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Weekend in Brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #10 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunny Weekend in Brighton”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We travelled down to check out Sussex Uni. for my son. From the first communication for booking to the wave off at the door the experience has been the nicest hotel stay I have ever had. Terry called us on the day to remind us they had parking permits for us, and there was no problem with us arriving later than we had anticipated. First impressions were of a well cared for B&B, Terry helped carry the bags up to our rooms, which were very clean, airy, tidy and nicely decorated. What made it for us were all the lovely touches: biscuits, bottles of water, hot chocolate sachets as well as the usual tea and coffee - and plentiful supplies of them, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, tissues, iron and ironing board, fan, rugs by the side of the bed for your feet in the morning, and even in our kids room a set of scales so I could check how much weight I'd put on with the great breakfast. All these as well as hairdryer, radio, tv, plenty of hanging space with wooden hangers and lovely soft white towels. The bed was lovely and comfortable, and the room nice and warm. Take ear plugs if you like to sleep with the window open as it was a tad lively on the street side, kids in a back facing room had no problem 'though. Great location for Brighton, The Laines, and Lanes, Pavilion, Sea front, everything just a short walk away. We all love Brighton and I know where we will be staying when we next visit. Ooh the breakfast - plenty of choice, full cooked, toast, lots of yoghurts, fruit, cheese, juices, water. All in all these guys have ticked all the boxes. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesJYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    59
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
411
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Arriving in the pouring rain more than an hour after we had told our hosts we would turn up might set the tone for a couple of days of raised eyebrows, knowing looks and barely concealed disdain, but not at Number 14.

Not only did they immediately offer us a choice of rooms, they carried my bag up the stairs, sorted out the parking and were just generally fabulous.

Our room was spotlessly clean, decorated in a way that showed some real thought had gone into it, and equipped with everything we needed.

Breakfast was perfectly and individually cooked, with toast in a rack (heaven for a cold toaster like me), eggs just right and so enormous I didn't eat again until dinner.

I was thoroughly impressed with the gentle way requests for the weird and wonderful were managed, and how genuinely helpful Chris and Terry were.

This is the perfect place to stay if you need accommodation in Brighton; it's a very easy flat walk to the town, the seafront and even (although not so flat) up to Queens Park if you fancy. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookworm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Friendly and welcoming with all the comfort of a 4 star hotel.Could not fault the hotel, very willing to answer questions and put you at your ease. Place is spotless, our room was fantastic(superking size).Great location, you can see the sea and walk down in about 5 minutes.Area has a lot of character with interesting bars and restaurants. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneM1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The place is run by Chris and Terry who were both great hosts, answering any questions and queries, cooking a fantastic full English in the morning! It is in a great location being only 10mins walk from the center where you can go for food and drink.

This was the first time I stayed in Brighton and if I return I will definitely be checking for availability at this place before looking else where.

On top of it all, it was great value for a 4* at new years, a good start to 2014 :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Second time here and fantastic and warm welcome from Chris and Terry yet again. We stayed here as a perfect location for the Brighton Centre and The Lanes and Seafront. Excellent accommodation and superb breakfast.

We will definitely return on our next trip to Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Such a lovely place. I would never stay anywhere else in Brighton now. We are regular visitors to
Brighton and this place made it even better.

The rooms were super clean and had everything we could have wanted. They even supplied us with Glasses when we arrived clutching a bottle of Champagne. Personal touches like this set this place apart from the very mixed accommodation in Brighton.

I cannot fault our stay with Chris and Terry. They are lovely chaps and the breakfast was fab. Rooms are bright and warm, decent bathooms and beds are made up with high quality linens.

Highly recommended. We look forward to staying again :)

Alex and Mike

Room Tip: Room 6 has a huge bed and is high away from the street (even though it is fairly quiet anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

These guys know how to run a B&B, warm welcome and a lovely room (2) and probably the best full English I have had for some time. Great location with the shops about 50 yards from the door, the sea and beach about 5 mins walk away. Lots to do in the lanes, market stalls and restaurants within easy reach and a small shopping centre to stroll around. We were there last week for the weekend and will be booking again when we visit Brighton.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for the BIG queen size bed, bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Property: Bannings at Number 14
Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing