We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #10 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife and found Terry & Chris to be great hosts, from the minute we booked to the second we left they were accommodating to our every need. Room was nice and clean and a decent size and bed was super comfy. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for a day of exploring. The guest house is in a wonderful location, and I would certainly go with the recommendations of Terry and Chris when deciding on nearby restaurants.
would definitely visit again and we will be recommending to all our friends for sure!

Room Tip: We were in room 2, which although faced the main road was quiet once the curtains had been drawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    59
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
417
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I Travelled to Brighton Again for the 2nd time and this time stayed at Number 14. It was easy to get around Brighton as usual and the B&B wasn't far from the beach, the hosts were very helpful and the breakfast was nice. The only down side was the room. The room was very small which made it difficult to walk around and the shower wasn't very powerful. :( as I like a shower to wake me up in the morning. I have stayed at a few B&B's around the UK but find when you go up North a 4 star is a 4 star hotel/B&B, when you go down south I think the ratings are way to high for the standard. Not worth £90 a night I thought especially in the Spring....but overall not a horrible stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sexyfox30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent a magical three night stay at Number 14 while on a visit to the UK. We enjoyed a lovely room with every small detail catered for,freshly cooked breakfast to order,herbal tea in our room, wonderful charm and banter which made my wife and I feel so much at home. We will certainly be back. Thank you Chris and Terry for a memorable stay in Brighton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 796Noel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Enjoyed a fabulous weekend break at Number 14. Terry and Chris were great hosts: friendly, kind and one step ahead every time. The room was very well presented and maintained. We would recommend Number 14 without reservation - sumptuous full English breakfast was a particular highlight. We will definitely book again for our next stay in Brighton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 108Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here when we visited friends in Hove. Really well situated 2 mins from the seafront and a 5 min walk from shops and restaurants. Terry and Chris were great, very friendly and helpful. We had our own key so could come and go as we pleased. we were in room 4 with a superking bed that was sooo comfortable! Meant to ask what make the mattress was as we had 2 great nights sleep. En suite shower, iron and board, kettle with plenty of tea and coffee.
We had the best breakfast on the 1st morning, very tasty and excellent quality (and I'm a food snob!) Didn't make it to breakfast on the 2nd day as we had a late night!
There are several very reasonably priced restaurants/bistros within a 2 min walk and many more within 5-10 mins. We would definitely stay here again.
You've definitely got it right boys!

Room Tip: Room 4 faced the street with super king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. Room was lovely and clean the bed very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Would defiantly recommend staying here and I hope to visit again soon. Brighton is a lively and interesting place to visit

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We travelled down to check out Sussex Uni. for my son. From the first communication for booking to the wave off at the door the experience has been the nicest hotel stay I have ever had. Terry called us on the day to remind us they had parking permits for us, and there was no problem with us arriving later than we had anticipated. First impressions were of a well cared for B&B, Terry helped carry the bags up to our rooms, which were very clean, airy, tidy and nicely decorated. What made it for us were all the lovely touches: biscuits, bottles of water, hot chocolate sachets as well as the usual tea and coffee - and plentiful supplies of them, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, tissues, iron and ironing board, fan, rugs by the side of the bed for your feet in the morning, and even in our kids room a set of scales so I could check how much weight I'd put on with the great breakfast. All these as well as hairdryer, radio, tv, plenty of hanging space with wooden hangers and lovely soft white towels. The bed was lovely and comfortable, and the room nice and warm. Take ear plugs if you like to sleep with the window open as it was a tad lively on the street side, kids in a back facing room had no problem 'though. Great location for Brighton, The Laines, and Lanes, Pavilion, Sea front, everything just a short walk away. We all love Brighton and I know where we will be staying when we next visit. Ooh the breakfast - plenty of choice, full cooked, toast, lots of yoghurts, fruit, cheese, juices, water. All in all these guys have ticked all the boxes. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesJYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Property: Bannings at Number 14
Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing