We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #10 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
“Best B&B in Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Couldn't be more impressed by this guesthouse and the owners Terry and Chris, Very welcoming on arrival and we're extremely helpful when it came to recommending restaurants, bars, shops...... etc. Breakfast is without a doubt the best I've come accross for a long time, excellent portion, will keep you going till dinner, easily. Room is very tastefully decorated with several classic posters, paintings and misc artwork. Also the room is spaciuos with a very comftable bed and an ensuite bathroom with a powerful shower. Great location, 3 - 5 minute walk to the lanes and the pier, will definatly be coming back. Recommend to anybody, top guesthouse!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyboy260288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    59
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
403
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Great weekend away, the staff were amazing and the room was spacious but cosy and with some great art work. Great location in walking distance from all of the big attractions of Brighton. It made a change to stay somewhere so welcoming, i would definitely go back even just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx123xxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

My partner and I spent a night in Brighton to see Mika at the Brighton Centre on Wed 3rd March 2010, and decided to stay over before travelling back. Based on reviews and photos of Bannings at No14 we booked for a 1 night stay. The guest house is run by Terry and Chris who are really welcoming. We had room No2. The room was excellent. The super king size bed was excellent to sleep on. The on-suite bathroom was very nice with a good shower that would give just the temperature required. The breakfast? well, I still cant eat anything 2 days later! Its as good as anything I have had in a hotel anywhere. My partner has to have gluten free bread which we took along and Terry toasted for her. We had a bottle of wine for our room for after the Mika concert, and Terry put it in the fridge for us in the kitchen and provided us with a corkscrew. He also organised a 24 hour parking permit for £5 and we were able to park right outside the front door. Nothing was too much trouble. You can see the sea as you walk out the front door to the right, and there is an eclectic mix of restaurants virtually on the doorstep. We highly recommend No14, and are sure you would not be disappointed, especially given the cost of staying.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-the-sax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We decided at the last minuete we would go down to Brighton, for my 30th birthday. Checked out a few b & b's on the web, then came across Bannings at No 14. Noticed it had really good reviews on trip advisor, so we decided to book. From the moment we got there we felt very welcome. We phoned them the day before to ask them to put bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. Very clean rooms, nice hot shower. We were upgraded to a super king room. Fab full english breakfast! Would def stay again. R Edmonds

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbexinsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

myself boyfriend and friends of ours have just returned from a weekend break in brighton staying at number 14 . what can i say this is a lovely welcoming guest house we were all made to feel very welcome from when we arrived to when we left. the rooms are cosy clean and the beds are soooo comfy you wont want to get up . the breakfast was so nice just what you needed for a day of shopping and sight seeing we will definately stay here again. its is situated in a great location as every thing is in walking distance .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stump79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Myself and my boyfriend were celebrating our year anniversary and decided to pick Brighton as a long weekend destination. We weren't disappointment! We choose Number 14 as it already had good reviews and the location was near to the seafront (5 min walk). We arrived at 1pm and were greeted by welcoming and friendly Chris and Terry and were upgraded from king sized room to super king size, on the first floor which was fab! No climbing loads of the stairs after a few wines/shopping! The room was an adequate size, all newly refurbed including the ensuite bathroom. There wasn't a bath in our room but the shower was a good size and was powerful. The bed was very comfy and the room had all you needed (small, flat screen TV, hairdryer, iron/ironing board and coffee/tea making facilities). The breakfast were great on both Saturday and Sunday morning - we had slightly more on the Sunday! Both Chris and Terry catered well for veggies as well as meat eaters when it comes to a full English breakfast! They even catered for people who prefer decaf/fruit teas too. Myself and my boyfriend were very impressed by this. It only took about ten mins to walk into town from the B&B which was great. As Feb was out of season, there was only one other couple staying at the B&B and only on the Saturday night. I found this quite nice, to have the B&B to ourselves.

The only slight negative was the noise from the main road but even this was interspered with seagull call! I would definitely recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbarry8
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We booked at short notice for a Sat night in Brighton. After seeing the fantastic reviews Banning's at Number 14 got, we were eager to see what all the fuss was about.
On arriving we were greeted by Terry, he was extremely helpful, advising us on where to go, what to do and where to eat!
Got to our room.......decorated beautifully, yet still with the cosy home feeling. Our en-suite was gleaming and new , with a lovely shower (loads of room). Oh, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, especially with those soft sheets!!!
Met Chris the following morning, who was bright and cheerful for a Sunday morning, us after a night out in Brighton. Full English breakfast was just what the doctor ordered.
All in all, I didn't want to leave and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbarry8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,881 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Property: Bannings at Number 14
Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing