We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brighton at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #9 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2010

My partner and I plus several family members stayed at No 14 for 2 nights The experience was wonderful from start to finish, Terry and Chris were great hosts and their guest house was beautiful the breakfast was hearty and I'm sure calorie free? The rooms and bathrooms were sumptuous and spotlessly clean. We would have stayed longer if possible and will definately return asap and would recommend no 14 to anyone.
Allan & Michael

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

We had been trawling the internet for days trying to find a decent guest house / hotel in Brigton that was not overpriced / over the top and to our tatses, just about given up when I found the website for NO14, which gave a good insight into the property, luckily we managed to make a booking for three days between 10th and 13h May to relax and celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday - So glad we did, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very at home by Chris and Terry.
The house is nicely stylish and decorated with out being overbearing or flouncy. Our room (no:2) was on the first floor and was spotlessly clean and nicely furbished, with a huge superking size bed, with lovely crisp white sheets and loads of pilows, the ensuite shower room was superb, very clean and with plenty of towels, which were changed every day. Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate was supplied along with some great biscuits, the small table & chairs in the window was great to relax in and was a great place to sit & watch over the main street.
Breakfast was a real treat, with plenty of cereal, tea, coffee, toast & juice etc, we had a full english everyday, all cooked as we waited by Terry, very scrummy - Other breafast options are available. There is a help yourself fridge with bottled water and fizzy drinks, which was handy in the late evening.
Terry and Chris were great hosts, easy going and talkative, wihout being over intrusive nor too aloof, they had plenty of local knowledge and recommendations to pass on.
The location is near to all the main attractions of Brighton, all within easy walking distance., with its mirriad of shops and restaurants etc. Terry recommended a superb Kurdish / Turkish restaurant called Pomegranete, only a short walk away, which was excellent.
On the whole we had a superb break and it would be very hard to find fault in anything without sounding too picky, only possible criticism is that the parking is restricted in the area and sometimes hard to get near the building, also it is a noisy road, but then we are from a quiet area, soon got used to it though - but then hey, this is a vibrant city.
We both had a great time, thanks Terry & Chris, we will certainly recommend you to family & friends - Hope to come back again soon.

Andy & Jane
Colchester

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SubzeroHeroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This is our second stay at Number 14 and once again we were made very welcome by our host Chris, we had asked for room No 2 as we stayed in it previously and were not disappointed. Fab room massive bed and very tidy.
After our excellent breakfast of full english (lots of choice by the way) we spent most of our time in the town in "The Lanes" looking at antiques, having coffee at the various chic roadside cafe`s. The pier was our next stop and as the weather was hot hot hot we ventured on to the stoney beach, great fun, took me back. We had fish and chips on the sea front ..wonderful.
The town itself offers lots of different restuarants to visit and places to see, I can recommend The Pomigranit which offers a wide variety of choice and cost and cannot finish until I thank Terry and Chris for looking after us at Number 14, thanks guys and you will def see us again.

Bob and Deb, London

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We were visiting Brighton to visit friends and family - had a fantastic weekend and Chris and Terry made it a really comfortable and happy stay. Great location, superb breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for Chris and Terry we felt that they would cater for all our needs if requested. We will definitely stay with them again when we return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monmothma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We have just returned from a lovely two night stay at No. 14. We were in Brighton to visit the Art Open Houses. Chris and Terry were extremely welcoming, and friendly, the whole time we were there, and the room we had (no 4) was perfect. There was plenty of room, a huge bed, a great dressing table with lots of space for bottles, makeup etc, a small table in the window, chairs to sit in and put things on and lots of storage, hangers etc. We wanted for nothing and everything had been thought of. The bathroom was new, contemporary and spotless, the shower was lovely and hot and the water pressure was great too, There was a generous selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, plus delicious biscuits and water. There was also a help-yourself fridge in the dining room where you could have a cold drink and a biscuit whenever you felt like it. Breakfast was delicious, piping hot and cooked to perfection, all served with quiet and calm professionalism that was not invasive or aloof. We felt that we were in very good hands and it was an absolute pleasure to be there. I would recommend a stay at No. 14 without any hesitation and we will definately be returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Stayed at Number 14 for 3 nights and could not have asked for a more comfortable stay.
Bannings is situated just a few minutes from the seafront and is only a 10 minute walk to the heart of Brighton.
The room was immaculate and spacious.
Breakfast was excellent-you can really have whatever you wanted!.
Bannings knocks spots off the various travelodges and premier inns we have stayed in around Brighton.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gav12710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Had a wonderful Easter break at No.14 and stayed for 3 nights. The place is welcoming, pleasantly furnished, lovingly decorated and spotlessly clean. Chris and Terry were friendly and helpful, supplying us with local information and customising our breakfast according to our wishes. They even gave each guest a big chocolate Easter bunny on Easter Sunday! Great location within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, Pavilion, The Lanes, North Laine, seafront... Looking forward to staying again next time we're visiting Brighton!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squarepeg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,260 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#6 of 95 in Brighton
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £98 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing