We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid market hotels at their worst”
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mid market hotels at their worst”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice in December whilst on business in Brighton.
After long days working you want to come back to a hotel where things are easy- this place is anything but.
Firstly their is the tiedious and protracted way you have to pay for car parking on arrival. And god help you if you fail to pay the 1hr charge on arrival- you will be charged a £90 fine by the car park company (or so they say- I have still not received a fine). However once paid the 1 hr charge, you then have to find the booth (hidden from view) and pay best part of £15 quid for overnight parking.
Arrive late and the bar/restuarant is almost impossible to get any service.
I ordered pizza for myself and 15 fellow staff- this was the hotels recomendation when we arrived after a 15hr day!!
Eating in the restaurant is not reccomended even when it is open- mass produced/microwave/boil in bag type fayre.
Breakfast is the usual self service/greasy buffet affair- they dont even put cutlery on the tables.
Had a good nights sleep in a clean room/Free WIFI are about the only positive I can take away from my stays. I need more from a hotel when away on businesss.
As a business traveller I would avoid this hotel at all costs.
I now stay at Seattle Hotel on the seafront- a totally relaxing/fresh- customer comes first boutique feel venue at the marina.

Room Tip: Stay in a better hotel- there are lots in Brighton
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Mathew N
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was disappointed to read your negative comments. Whilst I can appreciate your frustrations in regards to the local car parking arrangements/ payments system, this is outside of our control as it is not part of the Hotels property. I have been informed that the car park will be moving back to a standard pay on departure system as opposed to the ANPR system currently in place.
In regards to your dining experience, I have no records of any dissatisfaction or negative comments in this regards. The quality of our breakfast has also been well noted in previous reviews.
If you wish to discuss this further, please contact me at damien_doyle@jurysinns.com.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    976
    356
    106
    63
See reviews for
638
683
128
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 day conference here.

Positives
Conference room equipment
Hotel location
Food in restaurant

Negatives
Conference room was cold and staff did not seem able/willing to assist. Provided with a small heater for a v large room which was pointless
Basic hotel rooms
No parking at the hotel, so cost myself and colleagues 12GBP per day to park in the station car park opposite

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bored-Commuter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here for just the one night for a weekend break. The hotel is really convenient if you are getting the train to Brighton and is also only about a 10 minute walk to the centre. The room was nice and clean, but very cold. We just assumed that the room hadn't been used for a while so hadn't heated up. However, it didn't actually warm up until we got a fan heater from reception. They were very helpful and offered us late checkout as compensation. Breakfast was pretty decent - good selection and decent quality. Service was good though - staff asked if all was ok with our breakfast, which hasn't happened to me before. All in all, this is a good hotel for a short break as its in a v handy location and the friendly, helpful staff help differentiate this from your average chain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Nice hotel. great rooms, very comfortable. good rates. the house bar is a bit poor and expensive but closeness to the town means you wont need to use it. a good decently priced hotel for a few days by the sea.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NumberWanPyoorNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Was in Brighton for 2 weeks for work. WAs at a different property the 1st week, wish I had stayed there for the 2nd. While nothing really wrong with this property, it is a basic place with minimal amenities. Lobby and restaurant nice and functional. Rooms are laid out as expected, but have an 'open closet' build. The area is so narrow and the closet rod is so close the wall, the hangars hang at an angle and clang against the wall when you use them. Never could figure out how to turn the heat on, which resulted in calling the front desk daily. They could not tell me how to set, and worked it remotely. The room was never at a comfortable temperature. Option of calling other rooms is limited to certain hours, resulting in having to call the front desk and requesting the other room. Challenge is a couple times the clerk did not know how to transfer the call. Definite education opportunity for front desk staff. WIFI is pay only, room or lobby and is rather expensive to use, even in the lobby. Best point was the breakfast. Plenty of room to sit and good selection. The woman inthe restaraunt was always nice and welcoming. Others should learn from her. Although the base price was lower than previous hotel, once you add costs for the wifi and then the gym (a couple blocks away), this property is the same price as others-which provide a higher level of experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

First impressions were good and we were excited at the prospect that we'd 'landed on our feet' with a deal from a comparison site taking a nightly stay down from £250 to just £75. The hotel was located conveniently (tucked away behind the train station). Check in was easy and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room however was comparable to a Premier Inn room, the bed was rock hard and the shower wasn't great. This left us feeling slightly disappointed.

We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and although there was only one member of staff working a Saturday night (at 7.30pm) this didn't seem to be a problem as it wasn't too busy. On returning to the room after our meal there was a considerable amount of noise being created by about 8 of the other guests who had outstayed there welcome in the bar. Despite informing the reception desk of this noise, it continued on into the small hours (approx 3.30am) when they had obviously had enough.

I would have felt extremely hard done by if I'd paid the full rate for this hotel and would probably only return if I HAD to go back to Brighton and there were no other hotels available. Not the best.

(I've rated the Value according to it's Full Price per night of £250+.)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Weedy2302,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was disappointed to read that your sleep was disturbed by inconsiderate guest returning late at night. I do apologise as the comfort of all my guests is paramount. I will address this with my night’s team to ensure any future disturbances are dealt with in a timely manor. In regards to your Value assessment, can I ask that you reconsider your grading based on the price you actually paid as this would be a more accurate assessment?
Should you wish to visit us again in the future, please feel free to contact me and I will facilitate the booking for you with discount as a gesture of goodwill.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over the new year period. We arrived early due to our flight, the room wasnt available which we expected, we were so tired we just sat in the lounge area, first impressions of the hotel was modern, very clean staff were very pleasent too.

3 hrs later we accepted family room as this was available, even though people were checking out all the time i suppose rooms have to be cleaned. The room i would say was like a travel lodge standard, clean comfortable & basic, bathroom could have had 2 large bath towels which i would have thought was standard with 2 people sharing, also thought shower curtains are a bit dated now .... maybe a shower screen would be far better, othewise it was ok, tv good, tea & coffee facilities too.

Breakfast was good, although there could have been more staff to clear the tables & replenish food?

Good central location at the side of the station, walking distance to the lanes & other shops, sea front a short stroll down the road 10 - 15 mins approx.

I would certainly stay here again due to value for money, cleanliness & location, excellent!
Just hope the hotel keeps the standard up as it would be such a shame to let this slip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Property: Jurys Inn Brighton
Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing