We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable price with pleasant rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable price with pleasant rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Car park - Check
Clean - Check
Affordable - Check
A walk into town - Check

Nice place, much better than the Holiday inn I stopped in the beginning of the month.

Well equipped room with digital tv meaning I could watch top gear and traffic cops on Dave.

Shame its a little way out. Ideal if you are on the train though.

I'd stop there again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrymkbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear hungrymkbloke
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst we are directly behind the train station and a mere 12 minutes walk to the main shopping area, a lot of our guest have commented that our location is far quieter that other Hotels on the seafront. Weather permitting, it’s a pleasant stroll. If not, a taxi is around £6 so its there’s more that one travelling, it’s very affordable. Add that to our exceptionally competitive rates, it all make sense.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    936
    343
    101
    58
See reviews for
611
642
122
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The location is ideal as it is a short walk from Brighton rail station. Check in was quick and easy and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was basic but clean, and extras such as the internet are available if you pay a little more. It was great value for money.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had tickets for the opera at Glyndebourne and had booked a hotel in the nearby countryside months before. When this fell through at the last minute, we had a real problem to find two ensuite double rooms near Lewes at short notice on a Saturday night and in the school holidays. We had to accept that we were not going to find a nice country hotel and would have to be further away, but Jurys Inn in Brighton proved a good solution to our problem.
We had a standard room, which is not large, but you can move around the bed and there is a picture window, through which we could see the sea (and the railway station). The room contains dressing table/desk and chair, armchair, TV, all the necessary for making tea and coffee ( take your own biscuits) bedside shelves, small table, luggage rack, hanging space with a few hangers and shelves.Wall mirrors in bedroom and bathroom, hairdryer (and bible) in desk drawer. No fridge/minibar, but ice is available down the hall and there is a bar downstairs where you can buy drinks to take to your room.The bed is definitely on the firm side and narrow for those used to kingsize, but we slept well, and although you can't open the window for air (which means you don't hear the trains either) the heating/air con maintains your chosen temperature.
Shower room is compact but not restrictive, shower works well, and there are dispensers for shower gel, shampoo, handwash and tissues.A set of towels and a shower mat are provided with spare towels in the wardrobe. Nothing over-generous or luxurious but all you need is there and in good order. Rooms and public areas all clean and bright.
The breakfast buffet was well-stocked, a good choice of fruits including pineapple and fruits of the forest, cereals, different breads, pastries, two juices, butter or spread and jam/marmalade. The cooked items -bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, eggs all looked freshly-cooked and inviting, although it was a busy Sunday morning, so plenty of demand for a full breakfast. Given the demand for tables, clearing them for the next guests was on the slow side.
The front-desk staff were friendly and helpful.
A good experience in the circumstances and quality of facilities/service compares well with other mid-priced hotel groups.
Hard to find by satnav - neither the street name nor the post code were recognised by either our or our friends' satnavs -follow the signs for the railway station drop-off point.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhallcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our first stay at a Jury's Inn and we were very pleased with the accommodation and facilities. We usually stay at Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn but Jury's Inn is well on a par with these and would choose Jury's Inn if the price is right.
Jury's Inn Brighton is adjacent to the Railway Station and convenient for buses or walking into the Centre. There is a bar and restaurant although we did not use either of these.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipper084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Pros: This hotel is well appointed, very attractive, in good location within 3-5 minute walk from RR station, walking distance to downtown and their employees are very cherrful and pleasant.
Cons #1: Shortly after making our 2 night, one room reservation, I noticed my AMEX account had been doubled billed. I sent two e-mails stating the problem and was assured both times that I had only one reservation and would be billed one time. Upon arrival around 11:00 pm, I discovered I had two rooms and the desk clerk assured me there was nothing i could do since they were advanced, prepaid reservations. The next moring I met with the manager with evidence of my e-mails and the hotel's responses stating I had only one reservation and a copy of my AMEX statement with the two charges. Within 2 hours, the problem was corrected and I had an e-mail from the corporate office stating my account would be fully credited. In addition, the hotel compted our 2 breakfasts.
Con #2: We arrived late by car to find the hotel has no parking facilities and we should use the RR's lot across the street. After unloading and checking in, we discovered it we didn't pay that night, we would have a big fat penalty in the morning and we needed to walk to the station to make payment. We did to find the parking office closed at 10:00. After a second trip to the station we discovered, thanks to a nice policeman, that there was a phone number that could be called to make payment. The front desk people said they knew this and there was a posting at the end of the counter with the instructions but never told us.
Con #3: The hotel charges for wireless internet service - 5GBP for 1 hour; 10GBP for 24 hour and only two devices can use the connection. A bummer!
Bottom Line: There should be instructions that accompany the hotel confirmation of where to park and how to pay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

i have stayed at jurys inns before, though not in britain, and i was less than impressed, especially with the quality of the meals - we even ended up eating out although dinner was included in our package.
but as soon as i entered the hotel in brighton, i began to revise my shaky opinion of the chain. the young lady at the reception was not only very friendly but also very competent - something you don't always find in britain - and the group i was leading was checked in quickly.
the rooms - on different floors and with different views - were clean and comfortable and quite spacious; the bar on the ground floor was okay, the breakfast abundant and well done. we did not have dinner at the hotel, though ...
all in all, a very pleasant one night stay with nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: rooms facing south have a view of the cranes of an adjacent building site (another hotel!). rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atticus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear atticus47
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and further, that your pervious reservations in regards to Jurys Inns have been dispelled.
I look forwarded to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egham, surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed overnight in a family room , a double bed and sofa bed. our view consisted of some cranes as building going on behind but saying this could still see the sea in the distance and no noise disturbed us. The sofa bed was a bit flimsy but fine for my two young daughters.room clean and tidy. nice to have tea/coffee faclities maybe would have nice to have a few biscuit with this but none provided ! asked for extra pillow and housekeeping provided promptly for us. breakfast was all self service, although I asked for poached eggs and this was provided fairly quickly and were very tasty. only thing i thought was odd was no tomatoes with the hot food only baked beans .. surely not that difficult to cook and provide some halves of tomatoes. something I think should be part of good cooked breakfast! any how we had a good stay at this hotel .We walked to the front and pier and back and meandered through Brighton's famous lanes.. these are all within a twenty minute stroll .. although that depends on how fast you walk ! with the children took a little longer. staff all very friendly. we got into Brighton by train so this hotel being next to station was great and were able to leave our luggage when we checked out until we left Brighton . would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claret76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear claret76
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do serve tomatoes with our breakfast; they were possibly being replenished when you visited the buffet. I do apologise for this.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Jurys Inn Brighton in the near future
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Property: Jurys Inn Brighton
Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing