We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only go by train or walk”
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Only go by train or walk”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went to the Jury's Inn Brighton so we could have a nice day out go to a show and then move on to a nearby event the next day.

The hotel is modern, spacious, clean and the staff were courteous, polite and helpful.

We paid extra for the superior room and for the breakfast. The room was also spacious and comfy.
The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice.

The hotel is directly outside the main Brighton railway station, which as with all things is good and bad. Good for station access and if you do go to the town by train there are no costly bus or taxi fairs to get to the a hotel. Bad; I could hear the station announcements quite clearly when lying in bed, especially early in the morning.

It also seems to be used on Friday nights by boys/girls nights out and we were woken at about 0330 by noisy revellers coming back to their rooms.

Having said that the hotel is ideal for going to the Lanes, the Theatre Royal and other attractions, although a good 15 minute walk to the sea front.

The biggest disappointment for me was having to park in the station car park opposite the hotel. As it is under the control of Southern Rail it is expensive and complicated to pay. If you stay over night it is necessary to pay for a days parking which lasts until 0400 and then again in the morning for another 4 hours. All at premium rate call numbers, unless you go to the kiosk in the car park. Total cost was £18 plus the cost of calls.which is why I recommend go by train or walk!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the station, you might face the main road but better than listening to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Paul M


Thank you for your recent review and the positive things you had to say about the hotel and the staff, and for voicing your dissatisfaction relating to the southern railway car park opposite the hotel.
I appreciate the system operated by Southern is not the simplest and user friendly and on numerous occasion we have not only tried to negotiate a simpler system but also special rates for our guests, the car park is set up primarily for the use by train users and as such the timings relate to the business day the train operators have in place which resets at 4 am. We also regularly check the tariff of the car park against other car parks here in the city centre and have found it to be one of the cheapest.
That being said we always strive to improve our guest experience and as such will continue to work with Southern to this end.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    950
    346
    101
    60
See reviews for
614
653
127
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Second time my friend and I have stayed here, have previously stayed at the Exeter and Sheffield hotels. Very good service and friendly staff. Room clean and beds comfortable.
Would definitely choose a Jury's again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archer209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Archer209


Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review and for the kind words. I am very please that you where happy with you stay here at Jurys Inn Brighton, and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk south west
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

First time in a jurys and I'm suitably impressed that I would stay again
The hotel is clean and modern and the staff could not be more helpful
My one complaint is that I have with most Brighton hotels is there is no onside parking for guests!
Yes there is the station car park directly opposite but 24 hour parking cost me 25 quid!!!! If you take that in to account that's a very expensive hotel room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Fatdad

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review us and for your positvie words reagrding the staff here at Jurys inn Brighton.

The car park opposite is opperated by southern rail, we have on numerous occasions engaged with them to negotiate a better rate for our guests but to no avail, we also have done numerous price compariosons and have found that this is in fact on of the cheaper ones in the city centre.

Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A group of 11 of us stayed here for a hen party. Lovely modern, welcoming hotel.
Friendly staff, large comfy rooms, nice bar area and best of all.... comfy beds, especially after a day and night trekking all around Brighton.
The location is great, minutes from the train station and about a 10/15 minute walk to the sea front. Perfect!
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo181985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear JoJo181985
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words about the Hotel. I hope you enjoyed the weekend and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Clean cut modern hotel - basically a Premier Inn with as little more spent on the decor and furnishings. Convenient for station and town centre.

Breakfast buffet is ok but they obviously have cooked things much earlier and kept warm in the kitchens for a long time. Not very efficient at filling up the trays either.

Parking, whilst convenient next door, is not explained at all by the hotel website nor do the reception staff particularly want to help or get involved - "look at Southern trains website" is their stock answer. What you need to watch (and neither the hotel nor train co make clear) is that if you stay overnight you have to pay for 2 days parking as the parking "day" ends at 4am in the morning - it is not a 24 hour from arrival deal.

As parking is the number one issue in Brighton it would (I would have thought) be a good move if the hotel mgmt helped guests more (or even at all) than they seem to want to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB&SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear PB&SK
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry that you felt our breakfast wasn’t to your standard. We cook everything fresh in the morning and obviously; we have an amount of preparation completed to serve the 200 + guest per day. If everything was cooked to order; service would be exceptionally slow and our guests would be kept waiting.
All our staff are aware of the parking procedures. I appreciate that the ANPR system in place is not the simplest to use but we have made numerous attempts to work with Southern Trains (The car park owners) to find a simpler method of payment for our guests but to no avail. The reason the ‘Day’ parking ticket expires at 4am is that all train tickets expire at that time. The Car Park is for the primary use of commuters so all charges and expiry times are based on this. We have tried! You will notice various posts from me in previous reviews in this regards.
That said, it is one of the cheapest car parks in the city.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great, central location and the rooms are clean. However, the hotel employs the most bizarre security men imaginable. On arrival our party was informed that there would be a £100 deposit per a room which would be deductible due to noise complaints or smoking in bedrooms. At first this seemed to be reasonable and losing the deposit seemed easily avoidable simply through not smoking and not making excess noise at unsociable hours. However, this unfortunately was not the case as it became apparent the first night in the hotel.

One security began patrolling the hall way just after 9pm stating his presence was to 'avoid the possibility of noise complaints'. His manner was bizarre to say the least, the power of supplying security to a hotel may have gone to his head or he may simply have watched minority report a few too many times. At times he would stand outside the room waiting for talking to begin or someone to laugh and then he would knock and begin threatening to call the police and take the deposit.
Likening the hotel to a north Korean prison camp may be an excessive use of hyperbole but a overtly strict boarding school would be a fair description. Although, the strange security guard on a power trip was at times amusing due to the fact it felt as though we were part of a 1970s sitcom; the constant threatening to take our deposit and nagging despite not one noise complaint being made by any other resident of the hotel, nor hotel staff to security or ourselves, began to put a but if a dark cloud over the weekend away.
Another party on our hotel became so fed up with the attitude and odd behaviour of the hotel security that they left one night early.
As the weekend continued it became apparent that there may be some financial gain to the hotel involved with their security approach to deposits and the keeping of.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Kirsty D
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was made aware of your group on Monday morning. We have an active security presence on the floors who will proactively address any noise issue from rooms that could cause a disturbance to other residents. To clarify, if noise is detected from a number of doors away, the security team will knock the door and remind the residents of our Hotel policy. We do not allow large gatherings (parties) in our rooms as each room is specifically booked for a number of residents. Nor are we attempting to make any financial gain; quite the contrary. I would much prefer that all our residents respect other guests desire to sleep in the early hours and we will continue to police our corridors for noise pollution which could disturb other residents. I can also state that we had no early departures on the night you speak of.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

What a great place to stay for my 2 night trip, rooms clean and adequate facilities.
Staff attentive and always polite and helpful at all times.
Great evening menu and Unlimited Breakfast.
Hotel is spotlessly clean
Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear baggers58
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. We serve as a great base due to our location to the city center and we are constantly working to improve our service offering. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Property: Jurys Inn Brighton
Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing