We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pricey mistake”
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A pricey mistake”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hoping to have a nice hotel experience what we actually got was a really expensive 'budget youth hostel'.

We booked a family room online, a double and two singles. On arrival at our room we had a room with a double bed and a tiny sofa, not even made up. £125 for a room and we were expected to make up our own beds. After complaining we were moved to a room with the sofa made up but with a cracked sink, tiny bath and chipped mugs. Such shoddy housekeeping.

The hotel was filled with young groups who spent the whole night knocking on each other's doors and running about. If I had wanted to stay at a youth hostel I could have done so far more cheaply.

A total disappointment.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisF559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear sF559
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Firstly I apologise if the beds in your room were not made up to your requirements. Our room are advertised as a double bed and single bed or a double bed with a sofa bed. We don’t have and have never had rooms with a double bed and two single beds. Can I ask how did you book your room? I will of course speak to our Housekeeping manager in regards to the comments about the rooms maintenance as this is by no means the usual standards we keep as is evident from previous reviews. Can I ask did you air your comments on departure with our front desk? I take all my guests feedback very seriously and would have been made aware if comments like those in your post had been made.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    855
    334
    87
    53
See reviews for
556
555
110
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Was a bit peeved at having to pay £150 for a Jury's Inn room. We were a victim a dynamic pricing - booking late and then paying the price! Hey this is Brighton and there was nothing else available. Clean rooms and actually Jury's have really improved - at least in Brighton. Room small; and slightly disturbed by the notice saying not to leave valuables in the room (really? in a £150 room?); but nice staff and good reception area. Sanna is a particular hero and helped us print off our boarding passes. A few stag/hen nights causing a bit of noise but I suspect they are not paying £150 per room! Jury's actually kept them quite segregated from other guests. BOOK EARLY IF YOU NEED A ROOM IN BRIGHTON - this is only March so imagine the summer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Greg038
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your nice comments. The notification in regards to valuables is fairly standard in Hotels across the world. We take our security very seriously and you will have noticed that access to bedrooms and their respective floors is only available to residents using a key card system. We always advise booking early to get the best possible deal and we are exceptionally priced in comparison to other Hotels in the city.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went to the Jury's Inn Brighton so we could have a nice day out go to a show and then move on to a nearby event the next day.

The hotel is modern, spacious, clean and the staff were courteous, polite and helpful.

We paid extra for the superior room and for the breakfast. The room was also spacious and comfy.
The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice.

The hotel is directly outside the main Brighton railway station, which as with all things is good and bad. Good for station access and if you do go to the town by train there are no costly bus or taxi fairs to get to the a hotel. Bad; I could hear the station announcements quite clearly when lying in bed, especially early in the morning.

It also seems to be used on Friday nights by boys/girls nights out and we were woken at about 0330 by noisy revellers coming back to their rooms.

Having said that the hotel is ideal for going to the Lanes, the Theatre Royal and other attractions, although a good 15 minute walk to the sea front.

The biggest disappointment for me was having to park in the station car park opposite the hotel. As it is under the control of Southern Rail it is expensive and complicated to pay. If you stay over night it is necessary to pay for a days parking which lasts until 0400 and then again in the morning for another 4 hours. All at premium rate call numbers, unless you go to the kiosk in the car park. Total cost was £18 plus the cost of calls.which is why I recommend go by train or walk!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the station, you might face the main road but better than listening to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Paul M


Thank you for your recent review and the positive things you had to say about the hotel and the staff, and for voicing your dissatisfaction relating to the southern railway car park opposite the hotel.
I appreciate the system operated by Southern is not the simplest and user friendly and on numerous occasion we have not only tried to negotiate a simpler system but also special rates for our guests, the car park is set up primarily for the use by train users and as such the timings relate to the business day the train operators have in place which resets at 4 am. We also regularly check the tariff of the car park against other car parks here in the city centre and have found it to be one of the cheapest.
That being said we always strive to improve our guest experience and as such will continue to work with Southern to this end.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Second time my friend and I have stayed here, have previously stayed at the Exeter and Sheffield hotels. Very good service and friendly staff. Room clean and beds comfortable.
Would definitely choose a Jury's again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archer209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Archer209


Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review and for the kind words. I am very please that you where happy with you stay here at Jurys Inn Brighton, and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk south west
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

First time in a jurys and I'm suitably impressed that I would stay again
The hotel is clean and modern and the staff could not be more helpful
My one complaint is that I have with most Brighton hotels is there is no onside parking for guests!
Yes there is the station car park directly opposite but 24 hour parking cost me 25 quid!!!! If you take that in to account that's a very expensive hotel room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Fatdad

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review us and for your positvie words reagrding the staff here at Jurys inn Brighton.

The car park opposite is opperated by southern rail, we have on numerous occasions engaged with them to negotiate a better rate for our guests but to no avail, we also have done numerous price compariosons and have found that this is in fact on of the cheaper ones in the city centre.

Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A group of 11 of us stayed here for a hen party. Lovely modern, welcoming hotel.
Friendly staff, large comfy rooms, nice bar area and best of all.... comfy beds, especially after a day and night trekking all around Brighton.
The location is great, minutes from the train station and about a 10/15 minute walk to the sea front. Perfect!
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo181985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear JoJo181985
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words about the Hotel. I hope you enjoyed the weekend and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Clean cut modern hotel - basically a Premier Inn with as little more spent on the decor and furnishings. Convenient for station and town centre.

Breakfast buffet is ok but they obviously have cooked things much earlier and kept warm in the kitchens for a long time. Not very efficient at filling up the trays either.

Parking, whilst convenient next door, is not explained at all by the hotel website nor do the reception staff particularly want to help or get involved - "look at Southern trains website" is their stock answer. What you need to watch (and neither the hotel nor train co make clear) is that if you stay overnight you have to pay for 2 days parking as the parking "day" ends at 4am in the morning - it is not a 24 hour from arrival deal.

As parking is the number one issue in Brighton it would (I would have thought) be a good move if the hotel mgmt helped guests more (or even at all) than they seem to want to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB&SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear PB&SK
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry that you felt our breakfast wasn’t to your standard. We cook everything fresh in the morning and obviously; we have an amount of preparation completed to serve the 200 + guest per day. If everything was cooked to order; service would be exceptionally slow and our guests would be kept waiting.
All our staff are aware of the parking procedures. I appreciate that the ANPR system in place is not the simplest to use but we have made numerous attempts to work with Southern Trains (The car park owners) to find a simpler method of payment for our guests but to no avail. The reason the ‘Day’ parking ticket expires at 4am is that all train tickets expire at that time. The Car Park is for the primary use of commuters so all charges and expiry times are based on this. We have tried! You will notice various posts from me in previous reviews in this regards.
That said, it is one of the cheapest car parks in the city.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Property: Jurys Inn Brighton
Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing