We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced”
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

An adaquate room with adaquate facilities. But to pay £189 for a small double with no bath, breakfast not included, expensive parking, no mini bar, and nothing to endear us, is outrageous. I booked almost three months in advance so it wasn't expensive for lack of planning. I feel completely ripped off.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JoCotterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear JoCotterall
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry you feel we didn’t provide value for money. As you will have noticed when booking a number of months ago; we are one of the best value Hotel in the city. Weekends are peak in Brighton and so prices will be reflective of this. We clearly advertise what is included in the rate at the point of booking. A similar standard of room would have cost well in excess of £220 closer to the seafront however; you will have probably noticed that most seafront Hotels impose a 2 night minimum booking policy. We are one of the few Brighton Hotels that does not always apply this policy.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,820 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent proximity to railway station as advertised and only 15 mins from restaurants etc
Accommodation is new and clean, bathroom was very good, clean towels, sheets etc
I stayed on a b&b basis - breakfast the next morning was very good - all the normal stuff that you would expect ; cereal, continental , freshly cooked English etc
Only negative comment is that a colleague had a room near the lifts and he said it was a bit noisy and it was only a Monday night

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkinnyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear SkinnyAndy
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for you kind words. We are in fact almost 6 years old but we take great pride in maintaining the Hotel to the highest standards. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast – I truly feel we offer a great selection. I hope you choose to visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have spent one night for business reasons during a conference.
Position is very convenient to the train station, just an easy 3 minutes walk.
The hotel looks brand new and shining clean anywhere, including rooms and bathrooms. Comfy beds, clean towels and good soundproofing in rooms.
The complete team from reception to breakfast room is really nice, smiling and proactive and seems to care genuinely for guests.
The breakfast buffet was more than adequate in variety and quality.
Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariastuarda-Burson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Mariastuarda-Burson
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do hope the conference you were attending was a success. Thank you for your nice comments about the staff and hotel. I will ensure they see your review. I do hope you choose to visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of package with rail tickets. Bit apprehensive after reading some reviews. Three of us went so I asked for a double bed and single bed as we were three adults, when we arrived the reception staff were friendly and efficient, our room was ready and keys were given to us even though we were checking in early. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and bedding clean. We stayed for one night as we were going to the Brighton Centre for a show and the location of hotel is only a ten minute walk away. Breakfast was a self service buffet of everything one could want and more. Staff again polite and helpful, we were the last ones down for breakfast, and fresh fried eggs were offered to us straight away. This hotel was a delight and I will definitely book again, and I also have to mention we left our suitcases at hotel after checking out whilst we went shopping, and collected them before boarding our train, lovely receptionist so helpful. It made a pleasant change to encounter helpful and efficient staff with smiles on their faces. Well done Jury's Inn you are great value for money ! Lots of praise to the staff.

Room Tip: We had room 101at back .nice quiet room . No view but who cares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Jo H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will ensure all the team read your comments. They really do appreciate reading comments such as yours. They are all genuinely focused on ensuring all our customers have a great stay and reviews like your reinforces their obviously commitment. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed one night with my Brother who came over from Cyprus to watch the football. The staff at the front desk on arrival were very helpful, efficient and friendly and greeted use with a smile. The room had one double and one single bed, very clean. Paid extra for the breakfast in the morning and i am glad we did....well prepared and buffet style and again staff friendly and efficient. In general good location for station, clean rooms, and friendly and efficient staff......
Only one tiny gripe ....room 406 the batteries in the tv remote need replacing and could you provide more milk in the rooms ...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagulls1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear seagulls1955
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast – we do have a great selection on offer. I am sorry the batteries had expired in your TV remote and we will happily provide additional in room supplies if the amount in not initially sufficient.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a mini break using rail travel to get to Brighton. Its location was very convenient being only about 100m from the side entrance of Brighton rail station.It is also situated on the northern edge of the North Laine area with all of its interesting independent shops,boutiques and cafes. We opted for room only as this was £12 per person per night cheaper than the B&B tarif . The cost we paid was £78 per night for a double room and seemed reasonable for a mid week stay. The room was a good size and clean. The staff were courteous and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel as it was rather pricey and why bother when there are over 400 restaurants in the central Brighton area with a wide range of cuisines and prices. The hotel is part of a chain and therefore rather bland and uninteresting,although modern and in good order but you don't come to Brighton for the hotel. This hotel is in a quiet side street with little traffic noise (a contrast to the grand hotels on the sea front where traffic seems to thunder by continuously) The only thing which disturbed us was the slamming of doors as other guest left or entered their rooms.This is a problem with most large hotes as nobody seems to have invented a soft close hotel door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Norman K
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of reviewing our entire Hotel in terms of a full refurbishment which will commence in the first quarter of 2015. I believe all out patrons will be very happy with the new specification.
I hope you choose to visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked this hoping to have a nice hotel experience what we actually got was a really expensive 'budget youth hostel'.

We booked a family room online, a double and two singles. On arrival at our room we had a room with a double bed and a tiny sofa, not even made up. £125 for a room and we were expected to make up our own beds. After complaining we were moved to a room with the sofa made up but with a cracked sink, tiny bath and chipped mugs. Such shoddy housekeeping.

The hotel was filled with young groups who spent the whole night knocking on each other's doors and running about. If I had wanted to stay at a youth hostel I could have done so far more cheaply.

A total disappointment.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ChrisF559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear sF559
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Firstly I apologise if the beds in your room were not made up to your requirements. Our room are advertised as a double bed and single bed or a double bed with a sofa bed. We don’t have and have never had rooms with a double bed and two single beds. Can I ask how did you book your room? I will of course speak to our Housekeeping manager in regards to the comments about the rooms maintenance as this is by no means the usual standards we keep as is evident from previous reviews. Can I ask did you air your comments on departure with our front desk? I take all my guests feedback very seriously and would have been made aware if comments like those in your post had been made.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#5 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £66 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing