We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a week's stay here in June, the hotel was very good, clean and with very helpful staff. The location is a stones throw from the train station but far enough so you don't hear the trains! It is a bit of a step to the beach front and there is quite a bit of development in the area, but don't let that put you off! They do a mean breakfast as well, loads of choice and tasty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Rhys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear John Rhys J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your nice comments in regards to the Hotel and staff.

I do hope you choose to visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    966
    351
    105
    62
See reviews for
631
668
128
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Mixed feelings about this hotel...ultimately our stay was worthy of more than 2 stars....however I have to rate this based on how it could have turned out purely to warn other similar familes as the rooms are totally unsuitable for familys of 4.

We booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children....aged 11 and 6. The web site states:

"Our hotel rooms can accommodate...two adults and two children under twelve...."

Sadly this is not true. The rooms have a double bed and a SINGLE sofa bed. The sofa bed was where our 2 kids were meant to sleep...it was no where near big enough for 2.

Upon complaining the staff acknowledged the sofa beds were too small for 2 kids and all their rooms were the same size.

We were offered a mattresse on the floor for our other child to sleep on, however there wouldn't have been enough room to walk past it to get out the door! Not what we expected for the price we paid.

The staff were brilliant and luckily found us 2 adjoining rooms linked via an internal door...gave us free breakfast for both days...the manager checked in the morning how things were...and our stay was great. Well done to them all.

Other hotels in Brighton warn you their rooms are too small for 4 people, Jurys Inn should do the same rather than actually encourage you.

5 stars for the staff and the way they helped us out....0 for the unsuitable family rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank murrayrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear murrayrr

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I do apologise about the bed issue. We are currently in the process of changing our sofa beds to a larger version and these will be in place within the coming weeks. In addition to this, we will be undertaking a full refurbishment of all our bedrooms.

I do appreciate your comments and im happy that the team made all efforts to resolve the situation however I am disappointed that you took a decision to rate us on what could have happened rather than what did happen.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Jury's Inn Brighton is a terrific place - it ticks all the boxes. The service however is exceptional. Lauren on the reception could not be more helpful, efficient and polite.... Thank you for all of your time Lauren!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sarah W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your lovely comments about Lauren. She is indeed a credit to the Hotel and I will ensure she sees your review.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here in July and was generally pleased with the room that I got. The room, on the fourth floor, was spacious and cool with it's own air con circuit which I always consider a great thing. The bed was very comfortable and the linen good quality. The bathroom was nothing special but perfectly functional. Generally it was a perfectly pleasant room which for a short stay traveller would suit fine, although the holidaymaker might want something a little more homely.

I thought the service could have been better. A hen party (dressed in those appalling hen party t-shirts and sashes) checked in right before me and were clearly out for a night of partying. The receptionist checked me in right in the middle of their rooms which I think could have been done a little more sensitively and perhaps somewhere a little quieter. Of course I only found this out at 3am by which time it was a bit late to change. I guess the computer just assigns rooms numerically but I think, as I said, with a bit of forethought this could have been avoided. They were also utterly uninterested in changing money for me even though the sign on the wall advertises the service.

Finally in the morning I bought the breakfast for the sake of convenience, subsequently I would advise you steer well clear and hit one of the cafes the other side of the station. The food was pretty low quality - the sausages and bacon being very very salty and the egg definitely tasting strongly of plastic. I had 3 of each and didn't feel remotely full... just ill. The orange juice all ran out as did the butter and sorry but when you've paid £10 for breakfast you think you could have butter on your toast!! There were no restaurant staff around to ask for more, the whole thing was totally unattended which is fine if stocks are maintained of everything but they clearly weren't. It was a sad contrast to a very comfortable room that breakfast turned out to be reheated cheap rubbish despite the price tag suggesting you should get something reasonable wholesome.

On the whole I would recommend others to this hotel, for £115 a night (or £100 on the day) you get a generally very comfortable room, extremely close to the train station, with good air con in the rooms, 3 big lifts, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms and free Wi-Fi too. But definitely steer clear of that breakfast and grab it in town from a place which actually serves food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 535dizzle535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear 535dizzle535

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was very disappointed to read your comments about our breakfast offering. I do apologise if we didn’t meet your expectations in regards to our breakfast. This usually has great comments as is evident from previous and post your review.

I’m 100% confident we can do better for you on your next visit.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hi, Jurys was suggested to us by friends. And very vice decision too. We had to arrange our journey plans for our daughters graduation in Sussex Uni. We arrived at Brighton by train the afternoon before the event. Walked around the town and couple of rest at different places and had dinner at our usual Italian Restaurant . Watched the worldcup at one of the Pubs.
The hotel was smart & clean and amazingly quite inspite the location very close to the trains.
It even had iron & ironing board & coffe maker in the room ( and biscuits too)
The restaurant downstairs was Costa serving all sorts of very nice food.
It takes 10 minutes to walk down to the Pier.
Don't forget to take an umbrella when you go to Brighton

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Banu57

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you enjoyed your daughter’s graduation.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice hotel but however its very basic . I enjoyed my stay quite a lot the rooms were very clean and very comfortable beds my dad me and my btother chose the double room and it had quite a nice bathroom I had a wash and it was very therapeutic the rooms also are quite luxury

Room Tip: Its more a family hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 372hannahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Hannah r

thank you very much for reviewing our hotel, it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Brighton especially our rooms and bed setup, I was disappointed to hear that you the hotel quite basic, we are currently in the initial stages of updating our the hotel with a full refurbishment which will start later this year.

I do hope that you will chose to stay with us again in the near future

Best regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager

damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel close to the station. Helpful friendly staff by telephone during booking and in person when checking in and out. They accommodated our room requirements well, adding a cot into a triple family room. A suitably sized blanket/duvet for the cot would have been helpful. No blinds on the window meant we didnt have all the privacy we would have liked (the rooms are arranged in U-shape meaning we were quite close to rooms on the other side of the U), but other than that, the room was clean and well presented.

Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection. Eggs overcooked but sausages were yum.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LondonLadyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Londonlady T


Thank you very much for taking the time out to post a review.

It was very pleasing to read that both the staff and the breakfast offer where to your liking. We are currently looking at our cots and the bedding provided so your feedback is very useful for this process.

I do hope that you chose to stay with us again

Kindest regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager

damien_ doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Property: Jurys Inn Brighton
Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing