We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful traditional fittings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful traditional fittings
Gorgeous Alice in Wonderland themed character cottage in The Lanes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Beautiful traditional fittings
Gorgeous Alice in Wonderland themed character cottage in The Lanes
Glittering micro kitchen, roaring fireplace & vintage crockery
Superior comfort beds in quirky themed rooms
The Looking Glass Bedroom
Wallpapered ceilings and luxury touches
White Rose Boudoir
Flamingo Dreams Bedroom
All bedrooms have their own basins
Quality towels and linen provided
Double luxury shower in victorian wetroom
References to Lewis Carroll's tales
Ideal base for an intimate hen weekend
All the attractions of Brighton are on your doorstep
Ideally situated for shopping trips to The Lanes and Churchill Square
Ideal for a romantic city break
Quirky features everywhere you turn
Explore the history of Brighton Lanes
Best area of town for dining and nightlife
Great Lanes location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
laineybug...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely little cottage. Although it is quite small it is very quirky and if you like Alice in wonderland it is perfect for you! The location is very central right in the lanes and by the seafront. It was very convenient for us as we wanted to walk places rather than drive while we stayed. The only thing is I would recommend ear plugs as it is right next to a pub garden that did play music quite loudly into the night. It was perfect for us and we had a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
The pub garden is open until midnight so we have installed secondary glazing to help keep out the noise and we provide fans in the bedrooms so that it's comfortable for sleeping with the windows closed. We also provide complimentary earplugs in all the bedrooms for light sleepers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiepeep...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Brighton”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A group of 7 friends and I booked this cottage to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had such a fabulous time.

The cottage is right in the heart of the city centre, very close to the pier and beach. It's surrounded by great places to eat, quirky little shops and a cocktail bar literally footsteps away.

The decor in the cottage was amazing with some really interesting lamps, lights and sinks. The cottage backs onto a pub and the beer garden can be quite noisy but the owner of the cottage even thinks of this and provides ear plugs if the noise gets too much.

We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend staying there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great central location, compact theme cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Looking glass cottage is in the Center of buzzing vibrant Brighton. Don't bring your car you don't need it, when I visit again, next year I hope, I will catch the train. Parking is a problem especially in peak season. Public transport is great and most things are in easy walking into distance. The cottage is in a narrow lane way, at the biggining of The Lanes area. The cottage is compact and contains all you would need for a short stay, ours was 3 nights. Beds are comfy and linen & towels very nice quality. Bathroom was clean with nice fittings. Stair narrow & steep as expected in an old building. Windows are double glazed to help with the evening noises and ear plugs are provided. Great time was had by all - age ranges 60 - 91, Lovely cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Early morning noises
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccah0...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent the first 10 minutes of our arrival admiring all the little details of the cottage and deciding who was sleeping where! The accommodation was no more than a 3 minute walk to the seafront and on top of all the action in Brighton. The location was fantastic.
We were warned about the potential noise of the pub that has a garden that is very close to the property and given ear plugs in case there was any problems (in addition to the landlord's number in case the noise was excessive) but with the windows closed there was virtually no noise to be heard and we slept well.
We had a wonderful time in this beautiful property and hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was amazing, but the decoration of the house (even the smallest details) was a close second.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing