We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moshimo

Moshimo
Ranked #145 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$15 - US$31
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Took my veggie daughter and pigged out.... great variety, great service and with a loyalty card Monday and Tuesday 50% discount can't be missed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sargentsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Glad you liked our vegetarian food!

We're the ONLY fish restaurant to have ever won the PETA award for our work to promote vegetarian and vegan food, so it's something we're very proud of! In fact, every year, we do a vegetarian-only night where we invite the best chefs in Brighton to come and compete in inventing the best vegetarian maki, so maybe you could come to that? I hope so.

All the best,
Nicky
co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    176
    84
    66
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Really sad this place has such bad ranking as to me is such a great place.
Maybe there are better places that are niched somewhere that I need to visit but this is such a good restaurant in a great location with helpful staff.
Also who doesn't heaps of fresh food rolling by your table ha?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Yes, Lola, you're right about our ranking... I think the reason is that Moshimo is predominantly frequented by local Brightonians, who come back week after week, and so regularly that they don't even think of reviewing us here.

But you found us in spite of everything - and you enjoyed yourself, and we enjoyed having you - so that's the important thing!

Take care,
Nicky

PS Pleased to see you're from Monaco - I was there this summer, meeting with Prince Albert II's Foundation to talk about our Fishlove campaign to end destructive fishing practices...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My fiancee and I were enjoying a trip down to brighton for an unwind and were staying at the cristal suite in the hotel du vin (fantastic hotel).

We had dropped our cases off early prior check in and while at the hotel bar we were considering eating options for lunch, we got talking to the bar man and asked for his recommendation we fancied something japanese and I had oki-nami in mind as we had never been there before. He said he would if he was us try moshi as a different experience so we did.
I checked it out (on here lol) then he gave us directions to it which was literally a couple of minutes walk away and were delighted to see almost a mirage of japan in the middle of a large built up courtyard.

It had a large covered part of a restaurant with the typical conveyor belts but we opted to sit outside in a very nice decked seating area that seemed like it folded away very ingenious.

The menu was large but very clear but as we tend to do in japanese restaurants and others to be fair we opted for the tasting menu.

We realised it was going to be a lot of food but oh my god. They brought out our trio of sake, and a two tiered bento box with 6 compartments in total each which was then explained to us what was in each, every one was tasty and different from the last to keep it interesting, by the end of these we were full, the waiter came and took them away and we were very satisfied only to find out that we had another set of boxes to come!!!
These were all delicious also but i had hit the wall, i tried to finish it off but couldn't I have a decent sized appetite but it was too much.

I left a couple of small pieces in two of the compartments and my fiancee faired about the same, it was amazing value for money and for an authentic but modern dining experience couldn't recommend it enough.

Can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frankyp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
...and we can't wait to have you back. It was a pleasure to have you here.
All the best,
Nicky
co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited Moshimo on a little family break away with 2 young children. They had never experienced Japanese food before & I was very excited, we also had a 25% off voucher cloud code making it excellent value.

We ordered fillet beef, sushi platter & a tempura platter with some little dishes off the revolving tray & it was AWESOME!

The only thing that is stopping me giving this a 5 star would be that the service was not great & I felt they were a bit off with us, maybe because we had children I don't know.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funkyfish5867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.

Every year, Moshimo invites a local primary school to send each of their classes into the restaurant to learn how to make sushi, to learn why eating fish is good for them, and also to learn about our groundbreaking global "Fishlove" campaign to end destructive fishing practices: we LOVE children, so I hate the idea that you got the impression that we don't!

Maybe we were a little busy when you came in, but I've spoken to the team and they remember you and really enjoyed serving you.

Hope to see you again soon,
Nicky
co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish I could afford it more often ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Such nice sushi and atmosphere and staff! It's a shame the prices are not student-friendly because it's the best sushi in Brighton!

Helpful?
Thank GabiSargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Just think how our Omega-3 rich fresh fish will help to make you brainier: if you eat regularly at Moshimo, you'll get a better degree which will help you earn more in the future, which will allow you to eat more often at Moshimo. A virtuous circle!

BUT REMEMBER!!!!! - You can enjoy 50% off our delicious food every Monday and Tuesday - and every year we do this offer throughout the months of January and February too. Moshimo membership costs 12 quid a year - but you make that back the first time you use it!

Hope to see you soon!
Best
Nicky
co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing